SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> PR Member's Pattern> WC-2 (Reversible Welding Cap)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2604 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 134
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:1/25/09 4:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 43 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kindnessrules said...
Found instructions with pictures (finally!) :) since this is the first place I ended up, thought I'd share; http://welcomehomefarm-tj.blogspot.com/2012/09/welders-cap.html#.UWOosaN5mSN
4/9/13 0:36 AM
grandmabw said...
Thanks so much. My son is a welder with a rather large head.......he can not buy a cap so I have made some for him. The fun part is all the fabric choice we have. I made him one with wolves and another with wiener dogs wearing sweaters:)
5/3/12 10:04 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Glynna, the measurements for the band are printed right above the Side piece.
4/9/12 10:48 PM
Glynna said...
Where are the pattern piece/measurements for the band etc? Step 3 is far too confusing without a photo to go by. I just stitched the front/back sections to the side sections right side together. Do I have to use a "Band"? or will it work if after I sew on the bill I just sew the 2 crown pieces together leaving a space to turn it inside out?
3/12/12 12:46 PM
icantsew said...
Pictures would be great for those of us who aren't good at visualizing written directions. The directions are good, but i need something to look at while following along. I am a brand new sewer, so maybe that's a lot of the problem. Thanks anyway!
2/12/12 10:20 PM
daffyduck said...
Thank you for the pattern I have enjoyed making the caps for my son. He has been welding for only 2yrs. He really likes the caps. Your instructions were easy to follow. Thank you again.
9/30/11 9:56 AM
jbcrochet said...

9/25/11 7:25 PM
jbcrochet said...
Thanks for the pattern! Like the others said, I am beyond confused with the "sandwiching" and such. Even when I tried to sew it side a all together and then side b all together I am still lost! Are you able to take the pattern drawing and make a diagram for this step? Sorry if this is a lot to ask, I just think it might be easier for me to understand. Thanks so much!
9/25/11 7:25 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Sorry; curved piecing does not photograph well. The convex pieces get puckered along the concave ones and won't lie flat until turned to the right side. The camera can't focus on the puckered area and it really isn't clear to the viewer what's what until it's turned right-side out.
6/29/11 11:04 AM
Kinama said...
Is there any way that you can put step by step photographs up? I am new to sewing and want to make this for my Husband and and a few friends and have spent more time staring at the instructions then actually getting anything done :) The pieces just don't want to work for me....
2/9/11 4:29 PM
drozy said...
Thank you for such a wonderful pattern. This is brilliant! Thank you for being so generous and posting it for free. You are an angel! Made my first cap today and it turned out great! Thanks again!
11/30/10 7:59 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
The 1.5" to 2" gap is the crown seam where the left and right side pieces meet down the centre of the wearer's head.
7/14/10 12:16 PM
Beckyannokeefe said...
I figured it out and the hat was perfect! The only clarification I still need- should there be a 1.5-2 inch gap at the crown of the hat between the side pieces? Would you be able to post a picture of the top of a hat you have made so I can see how you have done it? Thanks!
7/7/10 2:10 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
The two side pieces meet in a seam at the top of the hat. At one end of this seam is a dot where the front pieces meet and at the other end of the seam is the dot where the back pieces meet.
7/4/10 11:34 AM
Beckyannokeefe said...
Thank you so much!! I am a little confused with the assembly. When you say in the 'making the crown' section under number 3- 'stitch the other side seam in the same manner, lockstitching at the same dot' do you mean that I should make a dot in the center of SIDE fabric and join both front/back seams there? Or do you mean I pull the front/back fabric across the side fabric to join the same dot? Or does each front/back piece meet the dot on whichever side is being sewn? There seems to be a large amount of fabric in the middle of the side pieces. Is that correct, or do all pieces meet in the center? Thank you for your help, I really appreciate it!!
6/29/10 6:26 PM
lesliefavela said...
I just used your pattern to make a welding cap for my cousin. He loved it and it fit like a dream! I used the bowl method and I like it better than the bit of bulk I saw in his old hat seams. I also used his old cotton western shirts to make it out of, so it was a great way to recycle that fabric. Appreciate the pattern!!
5/23/10 9:31 PM
Beth Walker said...
Thank you so much for posting this. I have a friend who was recently diagnosed with cancer and this is the only type of "doo rag" that doesn't irritate his head. He is WAY grateful.
5/7/10 11:20 PM
sewinglikeamadwoman said...
great pattern , thank you so much.
3/28/10 6:21 PM
lischae said...
I've actually made my husband a couple of hats, and some of them have fit, some haven't. But I always felt like I wasn't quite piecing all the pieces together properly. I see now that I wasn't. haha. I like your way muuuuuch better!! Thanks! Lisa
3/24/10 8:38 PM
plmbrmn09 said...
I wish I had seen this review about 3 weeks ago. I was sadly disappointed when I received Kelly's pattern and haven't even attempted to sew this hat. I will be printing your pattern and instructions and hoping it proves to be a better experiance.
2/25/10 10:41 PM
johnniemac5 said...
you are quite generous and amazing. Thank you for the pattern and instructions, I will now try to learn to sew! ( sidenote... the bill is actually worn to the side to keep sparks from entering your ear canal ,so it should completely cover the entire ear. A cool variation is a cap with right, and left bills, so that both ears are protected!
2/22/10 10:23 PM
Axsoy said...
I "found" the instructions!!!! THANKS A MILLON!!!!!!!
2/20/10 11:37 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Thank you, ChromeIndustry. I was so cheezed at paying $18 for a pattern that didn't work and getting a nasty response from the seller. My goal is to offer a free alternative. Thanks for promoting this pattern. People who sew need decent patterns that actually work.
1/20/10 11:29 AM
ChromeIndustry said...
Thank you so much for posting the directions and pattern. This answered a lot of my questions. I modified the pattern by pinning the 2 sides along with the bill of the cap together and sewing it inside out, then pulling it through a small gap in the back, which I hand sew closed. Also I took the liberty of updating the message board @ http://www.thriftyfun.com/tf21250851.tip.html with your directions, I am sure people will be psyched that they have another option other than to pay for patterns.
1/16/10 7:31 PM
clynndel said...
I'm a welder and I've been looking for this pattern
12/15/09 5:32 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
If you know the wearer's hat size, you can look up the corresponding inches on a size chart such as this one. HTH
11/17/09 10:45 AM
pebbs said...
I read the pattern and it seems easy to make. I need different sizes and I am not sure how you determen the different sizes. looking for sizes 61/2 to 10.please email me. teddieburr_1@yahoo.com
11/14/09 8:00 PM
terri.lynn said...
I am so grateful to find a free pattern! I have been wanting to start making them for my boyfriend without having to tear one of his apart. thanks again.
10/20/09 4:52 PM
mackimom said...
Thank you for posting this pattern. I have been looking for a welding cap pattern for a long time. I took apart one of my husband's old ones and tried to make a pattern but it didn't turn out that great. The fabric was so distorted the pattern pieces were all wonky. Can't wait to make this one of yours. Thanks again!!
9/17/09 3:17 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Tonda: I added some dots to the pattern piece for the side of the hat: this should make it clearer how the front/back pieces attach (align the dots). Unfortunately this step does not photograph well because the seam is curved and bunches up. Just put the two side pieces wrong-sides-together and sandwich this unit between two front units wrong-sides-out, stitch from the bottom to the dot, backstitch, then stitch the other side from the bottom to the dot. Repeat for the back of the hat. Or go with the recommended beginners' instructions and sew the hat as two "bowls." HTH
9/14/09 10:57 AM
Tonda said...
Outstanding effort!!! Being a rookie at sewing I looked up a couple terms. Press means iron, right-side in means pattern face in, backstitch and lockstitch. I sat with cutouts for half an hour on the "making the crown" and cannot for the life of me figure out what edge gets stitched to what other edge. Please post a couple of step-by-step pictures so I can hide the stitching.
9/6/09 3:54 PM
Denise G said...
I am so happy to finally find this pattern, I have looked for days for a free pattern for a welding hat. Hopefully it will go together as well as I have planned.
8/11/09 10:55 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
LadyZ, I suggest for your first hat that you assemble the inner and outer crowns as two separate "bowls," and join them wrong-sides-together when you add the band. This is easier. If you don't like the crowns sliding around, you can tack them at the top with a few stitches.
7/4/09 4:07 PM
LadyZ said...
First, thank you for the free pattern. My Grandson found this pattern, he is a welder, and ask that I make this for him. My problem is in the crown area, I can put it together as per your directions but what do I do with the extra fabric at the top. The front/back piece is much longer than the side piece and doesn't even come up to the dot that I am suppose to sew to. Can you help me? I would appreciate a hand. Could you explain how to handle the top, or do you have some pictures to show it? Thank you for your assistance. LadyZ
6/30/09 11:05 AM
Haneymae said...
making the crown instructions a little confusing but I will figure it out Im so glad I found a pattern thank you very much
6/1/09 7:49 PM
kordoodle said...
Finally!!! A welders cap pattern...and for free!! I took one apart also, when I was working at a fabric shop. However, I have since lost the pattern. So, thanks so much!
5/24/09 2:57 PM
melissabeene08 said...
I bought a weldong cap pattern off of ebay and my caps are turning out great but my husband is asking for the band that you have on yours... I am a begining sewer and do not fuly understand how the band is constructed. I do not see the cand piece on your pattern.If you could please email me for some help I would be so grateful. My email is melissabeene08@yahoo.com Thanks! By the way your hats look great!
5/16/09 9:23 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
The method described in the review joins and encases the crown seams as they are sewn. A simpler approach is assembling one crown of fabric A and one crown of fabric B. When you put them wrong sides together the crown seams will be inside, but A and B will not be attached along the crown seams. Try this approach if the instructions in the review are hard to follow. Having made one up in this manner you might find it easier to leap to the method of joining A and B together as you sew. HTH
4/7/09 11:06 AM
eeghost said...
Hi. Thank you for posting this pattern. I am trying to make it but have run into difficulties following the steps in making the crown. Are there step by step photos anywhere?
4/5/09 12:51 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Thanks for the fabulous review and generous sharing of your pattern for your rendition of the 'welder's cap'. You not only conquered the challenge but enhanced the effect by making it reversible. Do I see a new career in your future?
1/26/09 9:50 AM
Peggy L said...
Wow! The hat looks great and I bet you have made some welder happy. Thanks for the info on the "why" they wear them.
1/25/09 5:08 PM
crystalwoods said...
I am very impressed with the hat you created! Fabulous looking and doubly impressed at it being reversible! Great job and thanks for such a detailed review.
1/25/09 4:53 PM
SewFar said...
Brilliant. Bravo!
1/25/09 4:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1179

photo
by: Kayseri

Review
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

More Info
New Look 6120

photo
by: sewrose

Review