Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Lutterloh: 2003-#250-02 (Princess Blouse/Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 429 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Mufffet
photo
Friend of PR
About Mufffetstarstarstarstar
VT USA
Member since: 8/14/05
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 57 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/09 10:23 PM
Last Updated:2/1/09 12:37 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Cute top, and I love the fabric that you used!!!
1/25/09 10:29 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Good thorough review with Lutterloh. Now I'm tempted to borrow Dsis's and give it a try myself. I'm looking forward to the next one. Glad you explained about the facing as I'm not a facing person and wondered about it.
1/25/09 10:46 PM
Diana M said...
great review -- and a nice looking shirt.
1/26/09 0:07 AM
Annette1 said...
Great review, and your top has turned out perfectly! I'd say there are definitely MORE of these in store. :o) (I think collars are a lot easier with facings, too. In fact, I think collars are a lot easier with collar stands too!) :o)
1/26/09 0:29 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Thanks for this review! I have some vintage Lutterloh pattern books, but I have yet to try them. I will check out the Lutterloh thread!
1/26/09 1:13 AM
bananaoil said...
Hi, I always want to shout-out to other Lutterloh users. I got a second hand kit and have toyed around with it with some success. You should know I was looking for perfect fit through the process so I was somewhat disappointed with the way some things fit around the shoulders. You make an excellent point. These patterns aren't different from other commercial patterns in respect that they need to be fitted to the individual. Have you ever tried to draft the shoulder area smaller, switching position on the tape measure as you work from there? I keep meaning to try that. Thanks for the review. The blouse looks good too!
1/26/09 6:57 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Thanks so much for the run-down on the Lutterloh process. You ended up with a great and well-fitted shirt!
1/26/09 7:16 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great review! And I've been eyeing this pattern too. I was wondering about the princess seams, thinking they ran over the bust. But now I know this is must be in the design as when I did my Lutterloh flounced skirt, the darts didn't go right over my tummy. This gave such a slimming effect! Your review has given me the ''umph'' to get back into my Lutterloh stuff again.
1/26/09 8:26 AM
sewme47 said...
Muffet, I love your blouse! Could the fabric be stretch poplin? I recently bought some and it fits the description you gave. Sorry if this is a dumb question, but what are sensor buttonholes? Thanks for such a thorough review...I've never considered using Lutterloh before, but now I'll take a serious look at it.
1/26/09 8:49 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Interesting to read about your working with the lutterloh. Not being home much these days I had missed the thread you referenced. That is a very nice blouse that looks good on you.
1/26/09 8:54 AM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for all the nice comments! To answer some questions - Annette1 - I always draft the stand in to the collar, not liking the two part process. :) bananaoil - some people HAVE tried drafting and moving points etc. and I did this on the last shirt I made. I wasn't all that happy, and I think that trying to draft and alter at the same time is too much futzing around. The draft is a fast process, and then you have the pattern to work with! At least that's my way, not everyone does that. sewme7 - Probably IS stretch poplin! It wasn't labeled for me and I didn't think to ask, so I am glad to have a name for it! Sensor buttonholes are made by the Viking sensor buttonhole foot. It produces identical buttonholes after the first one, and all you have to do is tell the machine on the first buttonhole how wide your button is. You key in say - 20mm - and the machine does the rest. I had had user trouble with it, but it was me and not the machine, so when ironed out all went well. Other brands also call the one step memorized buttonholes they make "sensor" buttonholes. Janome for instance, where you put the button in the foot and it measures and remembers.
1/26/09 10:14 AM
betsyross said...
Beautiful blouse! I love the fabric, but I wish I could see the princess lines more. Great review of the lutterloh system and encouraging for new users. You hadn't mentioned which pattern this is? I wonder if I have this one? I am worried about doing princess lines with this system. Thanks for the informative review.
1/28/09 10:26 AM
sewtime said...
Cute shirt, love the fabric!!! Great review!
2/1/09 4:12 PM
Robin Denning said...
Mufffett - it looks like you've got yourself a bona-fide TNT there! The fit is fantastic. Your shoulders look perfect and I love how the princess seams take away any excess fabric under the arms. The way you describe that fabric sounds just like something I used last spring to make a similar style (a "jacket-ish" shirt). It has turned out to wear really well and the lycra does add to the comfort. Great review and beautiful top!
2/1/09 6:22 PM
Annette1 said...
Thanks for the update! I LOVE this picture of you, by the way. :o)
2/1/09 6:35 PM
Mufffet said...
Thanks everyone. I am wearing this today. I was so surprised to get the fit to a happy state in this one. And this picture does capture me more than the frumpy one I had before...yipes...;)
2/2/09 10:26 AM
JamieLiz said...
I like it! This shirt looks very nice on you -- great fit! A very helpful review too. Now I want to take a look at Lutterloh patterns.
2/2/09 7:45 PM
knitlitcamper said...
The shirt looks comfy and a great fit. Love the print too. I had never heard of this pattern co. so I am really enjoying reading the reviews on PR and finding out about these different Pattern Co's.
2/2/09 9:32 PM
nicegirl said...
This came out adorable! I really love the colors and print of your fabric. Thank you for all the information and tips.
2/3/09 4:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Self Drafted Pattern 92116-1005 dust ruffle
photo
Review by halleyscom... on 6/26/11
Read Review

Oliver S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )
Oliver   S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-111 Top
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 12/29/06
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3764 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3764 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us