Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5105 (Easy Endless Options Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 336 times 24 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:knitlitcamper
photo
About knitlitcamperstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/2/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/09 4:38 AM
Last Updated:1/26/09 6:22 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bananaoil said...
I LIKE that print. I've had the same thing happen to me when I choose the pattern size from my bust measurement. I tried comparing the upper chest measurement with the corresponding measurement on the pattern and making them match better. Some ease is needed here. It's a good idea to measure the pattern at the chest and try that measurement on with a tape measure. I hope is clear. The shirt has to hang from the shoulders so you don't want as much ease here as at the actual bust line. Also check your actual shoulder length (neck to shoulder joint) and compare with the pattern. Sometimes the pattern with a 40 inch bust has a 5-6 in shoulder length. I've read that most women's shoulder length is around 4.5 inches.
1/26/09 6:40 AM
Peggy L said...
Sounds like you learned a lot on this project - always a good thing. I like your fabric! Sounds like you are on your way to a TNT t-shirt pattern.
1/26/09 6:50 AM
Renren said...
The fabric is vibrant and astonishing--my colors exactly! And have you noticed this pattern has been reviewed 3 times in the last couple of days? Great job (and great save by mom, eh?)!!!
1/26/09 7:43 AM
AngieC said...
I love your fabric! And I think the top came out beautifully~ great review.
1/26/09 9:15 AM
Vintage Joan said...
I love your fabric, too!! And the fit seems great. Hey, I just realized I have this pattern -- yay, thanks! :)
1/26/09 12:01 PM
Mufffet said...
Great pattern on you! I think it looks very nice and that fabric is TREMENDOUS! I like that sleeve length. Your neckline band looks very well done.
1/26/09 12:59 PM
JamieLiz said...
Wow! I love that fabric. It's great with this pattern.
1/26/09 2:06 PM
knitlitcamper said...
bananaoil, thanks for the measuring tips. I measured my neck to shoulder just now, it is 5.5" & I also just verified my upper bust measurement 36", so I should have sewn a size Medium going by my upper bust measurement. Thank you everyone else for the kind comments. Danger alert! I am going to go to JA's today to see if I can find more similar knits in their red tag area today. I'm even going to look for more of this print, it has kinda grown on me.
1/26/09 2:20 PM
knitlitcamper said...
I found a purple cotton jersey in the red tag bargain bin today at JA's. I have enough leftover from this floral print to make the neck band & sleeve edges for contrasting edges. I am also experimenting w/the non-fusible interfacing w/the grids printed as a permanent pattern piece front from this pattern. If it works out, I will also cut a permanent back piece from the grid non-fusible. I will write another review w/the results of this experiment
1/26/09 7:32 PM
katie lynne said...
Test muslin HECK! Give it to me, I'll wear it in public! :o) This is one cute Tee. Thanks for such an enlightening review--I've learned from your comments. Can't wait to see it in purple.
1/27/09 5:45 PM
knitlitcamper said...
Katie Lynn, believe me, the picture flatters the workmanship on this top, but I am pleased w/how the neckband turned out. I will post a review of top no. 2 after finished. I had more technical difficulties, but I think I made a pattern front that is way better fitting in the shoulder neck area. Having said that, this top no. 1 looks better fitting compared to top no.2. Hopefully, 3rd time will be the charm..
1/28/09 1:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Farbenmix Insa Insa
photo
Review by dakotasews on 7/30/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ruffle Bum Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Ruffle Bum Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PR Member's Pattern Savage Coco
photo
Review by meggipeg on 2/26/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1763 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1763 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us