SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5105 (Easy Endless Options Tops)

24 more reviews
Viewed 338 times 
Reviewed by:knitlitcamper
photo

 
 
About knitlitcamperstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/2/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/09 4:38 AM
Last Updated:1/26/09 6:22 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
knitlitcamper said...
Katie Lynn, believe me, the picture flatters the workmanship on this top, but I am pleased w/how the neckband turned out. I will post a review of top no. 2 after finished. I had more technical difficulties, but I think I made a pattern front that is way better fitting in the shoulder neck area. Having said that, this top no. 1 looks better fitting compared to top no.2. Hopefully, 3rd time will be the charm..
1/28/09 1:26 AM
katie lynne said...
Test muslin HECK! Give it to me, I'll wear it in public! :o) This is one cute Tee. Thanks for such an enlightening review--I've learned from your comments. Can't wait to see it in purple.
1/27/09 5:45 PM
knitlitcamper said...
I found a purple cotton jersey in the red tag bargain bin today at JA's. I have enough leftover from this floral print to make the neck band & sleeve edges for contrasting edges. I am also experimenting w/the non-fusible interfacing w/the grids printed as a permanent pattern piece front from this pattern. If it works out, I will also cut a permanent back piece from the grid non-fusible. I will write another review w/the results of this experiment
1/26/09 7:32 PM
knitlitcamper said...
bananaoil, thanks for the measuring tips. I measured my neck to shoulder just now, it is 5.5" & I also just verified my upper bust measurement 36", so I should have sewn a size Medium going by my upper bust measurement. Thank you everyone else for the kind comments. Danger alert! I am going to go to JA's today to see if I can find more similar knits in their red tag area today. I'm even going to look for more of this print, it has kinda grown on me.
1/26/09 2:20 PM
JamieLiz said...
Wow! I love that fabric. It's great with this pattern.
1/26/09 2:06 PM
Mufffet said...
Great pattern on you! I think it looks very nice and that fabric is TREMENDOUS! I like that sleeve length. Your neckline band looks very well done.
1/26/09 12:59 PM
Vintage Joan said...
I love your fabric, too!! And the fit seems great. Hey, I just realized I have this pattern -- yay, thanks! :)
1/26/09 12:01 PM
AngieC said...
I love your fabric! And I think the top came out beautifully~ great review.
1/26/09 9:15 AM
Renren said...
The fabric is vibrant and astonishing--my colors exactly! And have you noticed this pattern has been reviewed 3 times in the last couple of days? Great job (and great save by mom, eh?)!!!
1/26/09 7:43 AM
Peggy L said...
Sounds like you learned a lot on this project - always a good thing. I like your fabric! Sounds like you are on your way to a TNT t-shirt pattern.
1/26/09 6:50 AM
bananaoil said...
I LIKE that print. I've had the same thing happen to me when I choose the pattern size from my bust measurement. I tried comparing the upper chest measurement with the corresponding measurement on the pattern and making them match better. Some ease is needed here. It's a good idea to measure the pattern at the chest and try that measurement on with a tape measure. I hope is clear. The shirt has to hang from the shoulders so you don't want as much ease here as at the actual bust line. Also check your actual shoulder length (neck to shoulder joint) and compare with the pattern. Sometimes the pattern with a 40 inch bust has a 5-6 in shoulder length. I've read that most women's shoulder length is around 4.5 inches.
1/26/09 6:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Butterick 4827

photo
by: FreckleHea...

Review

Pattern

Papercut Patterns Coppelia

photo
by: LizzieInBr...

Review
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

More Info