SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Brother
Brother

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5252 (MISSES/MEN'S UNLINED VEST AND)

23 more reviews
Viewed 276 times 
Reviewed by:Riesie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Riesiestar
United States
Member since: 1/23/08
Reviews: 45 (patterns: 45)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/09 2:24 PM
Review Rating:
Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Vests    
Available for sale on PR: $16.25 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.25 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Hilary said... (10/6/09 9:54 AM) Reply
Thanks, Riesie, Yes-this answers my question perfectly! I, too, am trying to use stash for this project, so I will look for some flannel also. We don't live in a *really* cold area, but DS requested it lined, so I will do my best. Thanks again for taking the time to respond (and so quickly!). I will try and do a review when finished :o) (I would have sent a PM but I am not able too)
Hilary said... (10/5/09 3:01 PM) Reply
This looks great! I am trying to figure out how to line and underline a jacket for my son-can you give any hints as to how you did it? Do you just cut the pieces out again of the lining and underlining? Thanks for any help :o)
Luckylibbet said... (2/4/09 10:49 AM) Reply
Very nice! It does indeed look super warm and comfortable. Thanks for a great review! (especially the humor, Dementors of Azkaban, LOL)
Christas said... (2/3/09 8:15 PM) Reply
Very nice jacket. Love your photograph! Great review.
Catbird said... (2/3/09 8:10 PM) Reply
This came out great and I love the picture!
Elona said... (2/3/09 7:22 PM) Reply
I do not normally use any of the Big Four patterns for fleece wear, so thank you very much for the review of this McCall's. You got an awfully fine result for your labors!
Riesie said... (2/3/09 6:33 PM) Reply
Yes, he says the jacket is very warm. We live in the Shenandoah Valley, in the northwest part of Virginia, and just got snow last night, so it was his first chance to try it out.
RLL said... (2/3/09 5:03 PM) Reply
The backdrop of your photo is stunning. The jacket looks great. He is out in the cold, sooooo, was it warm enough? I just made the same view for my DD's boyfriend using sweatshirt fleece. I too felt the sleeves were way to long. I cut off 3 inches and then did a elastic casing like you did. I DID do the IPOD pocket and like it and yes I also had to think a little on the front pocket instructions. Overall, I really like the pattern and will also make it again. My DH wants one now without the hood.
mssewcrazy said... (2/3/09 2:33 PM) Reply
I like this project and the dog as well. Lol! It is good to know the pattern is available. I would like one of these in fleece ( moderate climate here) for dog walks with the ipod pocket. Thanks for showing your zipperless coat interpretation.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Pattern Details
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details
My Image Magazine Spring/Summer M1412

photo
by: Timmithea

Review