Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5252 (MISSES/MEN'S UNLINED VEST AND) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 255 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Riesie
photo
Friend of PR
About Riesiestar
VA USA
Member since: 1/23/08
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/09 2:24 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Vests    
Available for sale on PR: $13.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.00  List Price: $16.25   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mssewcrazy said...
I like this project and the dog as well. Lol! It is good to know the pattern is available. I would like one of these in fleece ( moderate climate here) for dog walks with the ipod pocket. Thanks for showing your zipperless coat interpretation.
2/3/09 2:33 PM
RLL said...
The backdrop of your photo is stunning. The jacket looks great. He is out in the cold, sooooo, was it warm enough? I just made the same view for my DD's boyfriend using sweatshirt fleece. I too felt the sleeves were way to long. I cut off 3 inches and then did a elastic casing like you did. I DID do the IPOD pocket and like it and yes I also had to think a little on the front pocket instructions. Overall, I really like the pattern and will also make it again. My DH wants one now without the hood.
2/3/09 5:03 PM
Riesie said...
Yes, he says the jacket is very warm. We live in the Shenandoah Valley, in the northwest part of Virginia, and just got snow last night, so it was his first chance to try it out.
2/3/09 6:33 PM
Elona said...
I do not normally use any of the Big Four patterns for fleece wear, so thank you very much for the review of this McCall's. You got an awfully fine result for your labors!
2/3/09 7:22 PM
Catbird said...
This came out great and I love the picture!
2/3/09 8:10 PM
Christas said...
Very nice jacket. Love your photograph! Great review.
2/3/09 8:15 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very nice! It does indeed look super warm and comfortable. Thanks for a great review! (especially the humor, Dementors of Azkaban, LOL)
2/4/09 10:49 AM
Hilary said...
This looks great! I am trying to figure out how to line and underline a jacket for my son-can you give any hints as to how you did it? Do you just cut the pieces out again of the lining and underlining? Thanks for any help :o)
10/5/09 3:01 PM
Hilary said...
Thanks, Riesie, Yes-this answers my question perfectly! I, too, am trying to use stash for this project, so I will look for some flannel also. We don't live in a *really* cold area, but DS requested it lined, so I will do my best. Thanks again for taking the time to respond (and so quickly!). I will try and do a review when finished :o) (I would have sent a PM but I am not able too)
10/6/09 9:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8367
photo
Review by Knitters D... on 11/29/09
Read Review

Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4127 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 4127 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5523
photo
Review by aprilsweet... on 2/17/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Jasmine Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Jasmine Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern
Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us