SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4055 

27 more reviews
Viewed 697 times 
Reviewed by:timetravelcostumes
photo

 
 
About timetravelcostumesstar
FL USA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/09 1:15 PM
Last Updated:4/28/10 3:24 PM


Review Rating: Needs More Info by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
Seems unlikely it was that straightforward, since Simplicity patterns rarely fit the size advertised?
1/28/09 1:51 PM
Frosty772 said...
I made this pattern and have to say that if you are a high B bust or higher you may have to lower the bodice. I made this and the bodice was too high on me. Your dress is very pretty.
1/28/09 2:37 PM
AliciaNoel said...
Lovely dress! Also you've got some beautiful gowns on your website!!
1/28/09 2:54 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely, but I don't think you're allowed to advertise here.
1/28/09 3:15 PM
marec said...
yep, have to agree with cindyann. Please don't use our site for advertising.
1/28/09 5:03 PM
timetravelcostumes said...
fuzzygalore: I didn't have any trouble with this pattern fitting the size advertised... I think it might be because it was not drafted by the normal simplicity drafters but rather by the a gal who does patterns from this era as her main job... it was definitely easier to use than the average simplicity pattern!

frosty772: yes the bust ran a bit tight!

cindyann/marec: my apologies, I had forgotten that page still had a "for sale" link. I removed the link since I didn't intend it as advertising but rather to show off the gown I made. Thanks for the heads up!
1/28/09 7:24 PM

AnneMarie60 said...
The gown is beautiful. I love Jane Austen's characters, and I enjoyed seeing your lovely creation. You look beautiful in it.
1/28/09 7:27 PM
Catbird said...
Unfortunately, the 'for sale' link is still active.
1/28/09 9:04 PM
Deepika said...
Would love it if you could provide more information in your review.
2/8/09 6:16 PM
SewSewFunny said...
I never go by Simplicity/McCalls pattern sizes. I go by the wearing ease sizes. A corset should not have a wearing ease of 2" (Beware! That was actually on one of the corset patterns I purchased!) If you take ease into mind and have a good idea about your own measurements, this dress is really easy to do. I "eyeballed" the back pleating and basically half-did this dress and it turned out really pretty. I also used the same pattern, altered it and turned it into a great long-sleeved overdress with no problem.
10/24/11 4:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Abacadabra 131

photo
by: aaltje

Review