SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4055 

29 more reviews
Viewed 706 times 
Reviewed by:timetravelcostumes
photo

 
 
About timetravelcostumesstar
FL USA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews: 27 (patterns: 27)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/09 1:15 PM
Last Updated:4/28/10 3:24 PM


Review Rating: Needs More Info by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewSewFunny said... (10/24/11 4:36 PM) Reply
I never go by Simplicity/McCalls pattern sizes. I go by the wearing ease sizes. A corset should not have a wearing ease of 2" (Beware! That was actually on one of the corset patterns I purchased!) If you take ease into mind and have a good idea about your own measurements, this dress is really easy to do. I "eyeballed" the back pleating and basically half-did this dress and it turned out really pretty. I also used the same pattern, altered it and turned it into a great long-sleeved overdress with no problem.
Deepika said... (2/8/09 6:16 PM) Reply
Would love it if you could provide more information in your review.
Catbird said... (1/28/09 9:04 PM) Reply
Unfortunately, the 'for sale' link is still active.
AnneMarie60 said... (1/28/09 7:27 PM) Reply
The gown is beautiful. I love Jane Austen's characters, and I enjoyed seeing your lovely creation. You look beautiful in it.
timetravelcostumes said... (1/28/09 7:24 PM) Reply
fuzzygalore: I didn't have any trouble with this pattern fitting the size advertised... I think it might be because it was not drafted by the normal simplicity drafters but rather by the a gal who does patterns from this era as her main job... it was definitely easier to use than the average simplicity pattern!

frosty772: yes the bust ran a bit tight!

cindyann/marec: my apologies, I had forgotten that page still had a "for sale" link. I removed the link since I didn't intend it as advertising but rather to show off the gown I made. Thanks for the heads up!

marec said... (1/28/09 5:03 PM) Reply
yep, have to agree with cindyann. Please don't use our site for advertising.
cindyann said... (1/28/09 3:15 PM) Reply
Lovely, but I don't think you're allowed to advertise here.
AliciaNoel said... (1/28/09 2:54 PM) Reply
Lovely dress! Also you've got some beautiful gowns on your website!!
Frosty772 said... (1/28/09 2:37 PM) Reply
I made this pattern and have to say that if you are a high B bust or higher you may have to lower the bodice. I made this and the bodice was too high on me. Your dress is very pretty.
fuzzygalore said... (1/28/09 1:51 PM) Reply
Seems unlikely it was that straightforward, since Simplicity patterns rarely fit the size advertised?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2015-126

photo
by: technophob...

Review
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Pattern Details
Katy Bags Paper Pattern

Katy Bags Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2010-113

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review