SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4055 

27 more reviews
Viewed 697 times 
Reviewed by:timetravelcostumes
photo

 
 
About timetravelcostumesstar
FL USA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/09 1:15 PM
Last Updated:4/28/10 3:24 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Needs More Info by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewSewFunny said...
I never go by Simplicity/McCalls pattern sizes. I go by the wearing ease sizes. A corset should not have a wearing ease of 2" (Beware! That was actually on one of the corset patterns I purchased!) If you take ease into mind and have a good idea about your own measurements, this dress is really easy to do. I "eyeballed" the back pleating and basically half-did this dress and it turned out really pretty. I also used the same pattern, altered it and turned it into a great long-sleeved overdress with no problem.
10/24/11 4:36 PM
Deepika said...
Would love it if you could provide more information in your review.
2/8/09 6:16 PM
Catbird said...
Unfortunately, the 'for sale' link is still active.
1/28/09 9:04 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
The gown is beautiful. I love Jane Austen's characters, and I enjoyed seeing your lovely creation. You look beautiful in it.
1/28/09 7:27 PM
timetravelcostumes said...
fuzzygalore: I didn't have any trouble with this pattern fitting the size advertised... I think it might be because it was not drafted by the normal simplicity drafters but rather by the a gal who does patterns from this era as her main job... it was definitely easier to use than the average simplicity pattern!

frosty772: yes the bust ran a bit tight!

cindyann/marec: my apologies, I had forgotten that page still had a "for sale" link. I removed the link since I didn't intend it as advertising but rather to show off the gown I made. Thanks for the heads up!
1/28/09 7:24 PM

marec said...
yep, have to agree with cindyann. Please don't use our site for advertising.
1/28/09 5:03 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely, but I don't think you're allowed to advertise here.
1/28/09 3:15 PM
AliciaNoel said...
Lovely dress! Also you've got some beautiful gowns on your website!!
1/28/09 2:54 PM
Frosty772 said...
I made this pattern and have to say that if you are a high B bust or higher you may have to lower the bodice. I made this and the bodice was too high on me. Your dress is very pretty.
1/28/09 2:37 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Seems unlikely it was that straightforward, since Simplicity patterns rarely fit the size advertised?
1/28/09 1:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Simplicity 3803 (circa 1965)

photo
by: sugarduck

Review
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

More Info
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

More Info