SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8497 (MISSES' TOP)

30 more reviews
Viewed 1220 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/09 9:11 PM
Last Updated:1/28/09 9:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Grammy Gin said...
This outfit looks fantastic on you. The color is wonderful with your complexion. Another gorgeous outfit!
2/24/09 11:58 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking top.
2/5/09 10:51 AM
Ann Smith said...
I can't seem to get rid of these extra posts. Sorry.
2/1/09 4:31 PM
Ann Smith said...

2/1/09 4:31 PM
Ann Smith said...
Luckylibbet, the clothing show was a display I put up at the regional quilt show held here last weekend. It occurs every other year. They have invited it me three times to display my garments. This year I invited my friend Barbara to share the space. Together we put up 20 outfits, complete with jewelry on mannequins and dressforms. Lots of fun and a great honor. Sew more photos at my blog http://annsthreads.blogspot.com/
2/1/09 4:30 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very interesting! I have this pattern and made the gathered V-neck tee - but had decided to ditch the other options until I saw this review. And may I inquire, where were your photos taken? I know I live not THAT far away from you, and if there's a fashion exhibit out there that I have not heard of, please let me know!
1/31/09 0:55 AM
Nancy K said...
Love this on you! I especially like it with the skirt, which I hated in the catalog but absolutely love on you!
1/30/09 11:16 AM
Athene said...
A great look - I really like this top made up to be closer fitting.
1/29/09 10:16 PM
DorothyK said...
This top is fantastic on you. Now I'm itching to make it myself. I love the deconstructed look but have never tried it. Looks like fun.
1/29/09 5:54 PM
Karine said...
What a great top on you. It's fun to see something different and little edgy (pun intended)! I hope you try the modification that Marcy has on her website for this. I think she calls it "Fall Rendition of V8497." (Sorry, but I can't figure out how to do a clickable link in these comments). I love the added contrast edges but haven't had a chance to try it myself.
1/29/09 10:19 AM
Barbara V said...
Making this top with a deconstructed look was a great choice. I agree with the connection to the skirt and you certainly created a "happy accident."
1/28/09 11:10 PM
Ody said...
Wonderful top and looks fantastic on you alone or with the French skirt. I have this pattern and I need to take it out and give it a second look. Great review, thank you.
1/28/09 10:09 PM
Mahler said...
I always love the clothes you make. They are so perfectly choice for you. Beautiful colour. Fantastic outfit.
1/28/09 9:41 PM
Peggy L said...
Your two pieces look great together. Love the color. I really have enjoyed the top I made like this and am going for the deconstructed look in the next one.
1/28/09 9:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3343

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
McCall's 6540

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

More Info
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

More Info