SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3789 

14 more reviews
Viewed 928 times 
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo

 
 
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/09 9:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Coastal Connie said...
Gorgeous blouse and I love your additions. Thanks for detailing the changes you needed to the pattern so that it fit better. I'm motivated to try this one. thanks!
6/13/10 5:48 PM
JamieLiz said...
I've had my eye on this pattern and I'm so glad to see your review. I too am loving the 3/4 sleeve that we see more of these days and really like how you worked it in here. Thanks for a great review, and for your excellent blog!
2/7/09 1:20 PM
kiddo said...
Brilliant! Your fitting and sewing are effortless beautiful. Your review lead me to your blog and you are an amazing sewist!
2/5/09 11:21 AM
Athene said...
Such beautiful detailing and lovely fit.
2/5/09 1:06 AM
Darla in PA said...
What a beautiful blouse! Love the extra details in the hemstitching. This pattern is on my list of patterns. Thank you for the review.
2/4/09 10:29 PM
nancy2001 said...
What a chic and stunning blouse. It looks beautiful on you.
2/4/09 7:59 PM
FurGal said...
The special stitching really sets the blouse off. Great looking garment and expertly made. Barb
2/4/09 5:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Very beautiful work. Your blouse is something that I would hope to find in a very expensive boutique. Great job.
2/4/09 5:43 PM
nglalala said...
I love the stitching and details! It looks amazing!
2/4/09 3:38 PM
Braemar said...
Beautiful blouse, with very fine details! Very elegant! Mary Anne
2/4/09 3:14 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! A very fine effort, and a really exquisite blouse.
2/4/09 3:01 PM
Catbird said...
You've made a wonderful blouse! The details are exquisite and just right for the style. I really love it. Imagine it in white linen for summer!
2/4/09 1:39 PM
Diane333 said...
nice job
2/4/09 1:06 PM
Kellie R. said...
Just beautiful! Your detailing is always impeccable!
2/4/09 12:57 PM
Beek said...
Very nice! I love the fabric, the color and the pattern. Makes me want to run out and buy it!
2/4/09 12:16 PM
RottenTots said...
I love this blouse, especially your detailing on the sleeve and collar. Wonderful!
2/4/09 11:59 AM
Irene Q said...
Oh Oh Oh!! I LOVE your hemstitching - thanks so much for including all the detail shots! Beautiful blouse!
2/4/09 11:01 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Your blouse is so pretty - yet classic and elegant at the same time. Just exquisite! The hemstitching details really make this stand out... hmm, I know I have a wing needle somewhere....
2/4/09 10:37 AM
Barbara V said...
I love your blouse with all the lovely detailed work. Thanks for your very helpful tutorials. I'm going to find and use my wing needle!
2/4/09 10:11 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful blouse and thanks for the just in time helpful review - have this pattern sitting on my cutting table and have been hemming and hawing about using it - no more of that now with yours to inspire!!
2/4/09 9:54 AM
bebrown said...
Beautiful detail work!
2/4/09 9:48 AM
Christas said...
This blouse is so beautiful! Your hemstitching adds such a nice detail. I LOVE it!
2/4/09 9:40 AM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty blouse!
2/4/09 9:38 AM
cindyann said...
Gorgeous work!
2/4/09 8:47 AM
solosmocker said...
Marsha, I am very narrow in the upper chest/upper back/ neckline area so I cut my patterns based on the upper chest measurement, including this one, but used the C cup front pieces. Morzel, a wing needle is one that looks like more of an arrow than a straight shaft. It cuts holes into the fabric as you stitch. The "Parisian stitch" looks like a ladder with one side missing. Actually it looks like the blanket stitch on the machine, but the Parisian stitch repeats the side of the ladder three times, making the holes larger. For great information on this type of stitching and needles, check out Carol Ahles "Fine Machine Sewing", my bible for this sort of work. Thanks all for the lovely compliments. Now if only I had the weather to wear my new blouse!
2/4/09 8:07 AM
HeyJane said...
Elegant blouse, I can't wait to try this pattern. Beautiful topstitching.
2/4/09 7:41 AM
Twinset said...
Exquisitely beautiful blouse! I love your attention to details and love this olive linen too!
2/4/09 2:40 AM
Natasha B said...
Your blouse is just exquisite. The fabric is perfect and your stitching is wonderful. Thank you for sharing.
2/4/09 2:08 AM
Karen8320 said...
This is a beautiful piece of work, Ms Smocker and your smile in your photo says it all. This is such a stylish blouse with exquisite workmanship. I love everything you've done here. Very impressive!
2/4/09 1:36 AM
morzel said...
You added a beautiful blouse to your wardrobe! But I am not familiar with the terms "wing needle" and "parisian hemstitch". What is it?
2/4/09 1:26 AM
marec said...
Thanks for a detailed and thoughtful review. I've admired your work and hope to become as accomplished as you some day :-) Your blouse is beautiful-much more so than shown on the envelope.
2/4/09 1:03 AM
persevering said...
Your sewing is awesome! What a beautiful blouse. Thank you for your review.
2/3/09 11:32 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful blouse. I like all the added little details including the wing needle stitching. It always looks so nice on linen.
2/3/09 10:50 PM
MarshaG. said...
Your blouse is beautiful! I really like the addition of the hem-stitching on the collar. as well as your decision to make the vertical tucking "permanent". I have a question about the sizing. Did you choose your bust size/circumference based on your high bust of full bust for the BCD sizing? I have one of the BCD patterns myself, but am completely unsure what pattern size to choose/which measurement to use. I'm OK with the cup size! Lovely blouse........I'll have to add that to my pattern stash! Marsha *<*
2/3/09 10:34 PM
Riordan said...
Beautiful, beautiful blouse!! I agree so much about linen as a "hard" fabric. You do lovely work!
2/3/09 10:14 PM
CypGrl said...
Wow! No wonder you are smiling in your photo. Fantastic result!
2/3/09 10:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Burda 5362

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6025

photo
by: slmstyle

Review