Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3789 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 921 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 81
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/09 9:40 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CypGrl said...
Wow! No wonder you are smiling in your photo. Fantastic result!
2/3/09 10:01 PM
Riordan said...
Beautiful, beautiful blouse!! I agree so much about linen as a "hard" fabric. You do lovely work!
2/3/09 10:14 PM
MarshaG. said...
Your blouse is beautiful! I really like the addition of the hem-stitching on the collar. as well as your decision to make the vertical tucking "permanent". I have a question about the sizing. Did you choose your bust size/circumference based on your high bust of full bust for the BCD sizing? I have one of the BCD patterns myself, but am completely unsure what pattern size to choose/which measurement to use. I'm OK with the cup size! Lovely blouse........I'll have to add that to my pattern stash! Marsha *<*
2/3/09 10:34 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful blouse. I like all the added little details including the wing needle stitching. It always looks so nice on linen.
2/3/09 10:50 PM
persevering said...
Your sewing is awesome! What a beautiful blouse. Thank you for your review.
2/3/09 11:32 PM
marec said...
Thanks for a detailed and thoughtful review. I've admired your work and hope to become as accomplished as you some day :-) Your blouse is beautiful-much more so than shown on the envelope.
2/4/09 1:03 AM
morzel said...
You added a beautiful blouse to your wardrobe! But I am not familiar with the terms "wing needle" and "parisian hemstitch". What is it?
2/4/09 1:26 AM
Karen8320 said...
This is a beautiful piece of work, Ms Smocker and your smile in your photo says it all. This is such a stylish blouse with exquisite workmanship. I love everything you've done here. Very impressive!
2/4/09 1:36 AM
Natasha B said...
Your blouse is just exquisite. The fabric is perfect and your stitching is wonderful. Thank you for sharing.
2/4/09 2:08 AM
Twinset said...
Exquisitely beautiful blouse! I love your attention to details and love this olive linen too!
2/4/09 2:40 AM
HeyJane said...
Elegant blouse, I can't wait to try this pattern. Beautiful topstitching.
2/4/09 7:41 AM
solosmocker said...
Marsha, I am very narrow in the upper chest/upper back/ neckline area so I cut my patterns based on the upper chest measurement, including this one, but used the C cup front pieces. Morzel, a wing needle is one that looks like more of an arrow than a straight shaft. It cuts holes into the fabric as you stitch. The "Parisian stitch" looks like a ladder with one side missing. Actually it looks like the blanket stitch on the machine, but the Parisian stitch repeats the side of the ladder three times, making the holes larger. For great information on this type of stitching and needles, check out Carol Ahles "Fine Machine Sewing", my bible for this sort of work. Thanks all for the lovely compliments. Now if only I had the weather to wear my new blouse!
2/4/09 8:07 AM
cindyann said...
Gorgeous work!
2/4/09 8:47 AM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty blouse!
2/4/09 9:38 AM
Christas said...
This blouse is so beautiful! Your hemstitching adds such a nice detail. I LOVE it!
2/4/09 9:40 AM
bebrown said...
Beautiful detail work!
2/4/09 9:48 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful blouse and thanks for the just in time helpful review - have this pattern sitting on my cutting table and have been hemming and hawing about using it - no more of that now with yours to inspire!!
2/4/09 9:54 AM
Barbara V said...
I love your blouse with all the lovely detailed work. Thanks for your very helpful tutorials. I'm going to find and use my wing needle!
2/4/09 10:11 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Your blouse is so pretty - yet classic and elegant at the same time. Just exquisite! The hemstitching details really make this stand out... hmm, I know I have a wing needle somewhere....
2/4/09 10:37 AM
Irene Q said...
Oh Oh Oh!! I LOVE your hemstitching - thanks so much for including all the detail shots! Beautiful blouse!
2/4/09 11:01 AM
RottenTots said...
I love this blouse, especially your detailing on the sleeve and collar. Wonderful!
2/4/09 11:59 AM
Beek said...
Very nice! I love the fabric, the color and the pattern. Makes me want to run out and buy it!
2/4/09 12:16 PM
Kellie R. said...
Just beautiful! Your detailing is always impeccable!
2/4/09 12:57 PM
Diane333 said...
nice job
2/4/09 1:06 PM
Catbird said...
You've made a wonderful blouse! The details are exquisite and just right for the style. I really love it. Imagine it in white linen for summer!
2/4/09 1:39 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! A very fine effort, and a really exquisite blouse.
2/4/09 3:01 PM
Braemar said...
Beautiful blouse, with very fine details! Very elegant! Mary Anne
2/4/09 3:14 PM
nglalala said...
I love the stitching and details! It looks amazing!
2/4/09 3:38 PM
sewbehind said...
Very beautiful work. Your blouse is something that I would hope to find in a very expensive boutique. Great job.
2/4/09 5:43 PM
FurGal said...
The special stitching really sets the blouse off. Great looking garment and expertly made. Barb
2/4/09 5:52 PM
nancy2001 said...
What a chic and stunning blouse. It looks beautiful on you.
2/4/09 7:59 PM
Darla in PA said...
What a beautiful blouse! Love the extra details in the hemstitching. This pattern is on my list of patterns. Thank you for the review.
2/4/09 10:29 PM
Athene said...
Such beautiful detailing and lovely fit.
2/5/09 1:06 AM
kiddo said...
Brilliant! Your fitting and sewing are effortless beautiful. Your review lead me to your blog and you are an amazing sewist!
2/5/09 11:21 AM
JamieLiz said...
I've had my eye on this pattern and I'm so glad to see your review. I too am loving the 3/4 sleeve that we see more of these days and really like how you worked it in here. Thanks for a great review, and for your excellent blog!
2/7/09 1:20 PM
Coastal Connie said...
Gorgeous blouse and I love your additions. Thanks for detailing the changes you needed to the pattern so that it fit better. I'm motivated to try this one. thanks!
6/13/10 5:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Butterick 4290 T Shirt tops
photo
Review by Sandi S on 2/27/09
Read Review

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )
Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3095 jacket
photo
Review by shard on 4/24/04
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us