SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3789 

14 more reviews
Viewed 926 times 
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo

 
 
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/09 9:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CypGrl said...
Wow! No wonder you are smiling in your photo. Fantastic result!
2/3/09 10:01 PM
Riordan said...
Beautiful, beautiful blouse!! I agree so much about linen as a "hard" fabric. You do lovely work!
2/3/09 10:14 PM
MarshaG. said...
Your blouse is beautiful! I really like the addition of the hem-stitching on the collar. as well as your decision to make the vertical tucking "permanent". I have a question about the sizing. Did you choose your bust size/circumference based on your high bust of full bust for the BCD sizing? I have one of the BCD patterns myself, but am completely unsure what pattern size to choose/which measurement to use. I'm OK with the cup size! Lovely blouse........I'll have to add that to my pattern stash! Marsha *<*
2/3/09 10:34 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful blouse. I like all the added little details including the wing needle stitching. It always looks so nice on linen.
2/3/09 10:50 PM
persevering said...
Your sewing is awesome! What a beautiful blouse. Thank you for your review.
2/3/09 11:32 PM
marec said...
Thanks for a detailed and thoughtful review. I've admired your work and hope to become as accomplished as you some day :-) Your blouse is beautiful-much more so than shown on the envelope.
2/4/09 1:03 AM
morzel said...
You added a beautiful blouse to your wardrobe! But I am not familiar with the terms "wing needle" and "parisian hemstitch". What is it?
2/4/09 1:26 AM
Karen8320 said...
This is a beautiful piece of work, Ms Smocker and your smile in your photo says it all. This is such a stylish blouse with exquisite workmanship. I love everything you've done here. Very impressive!
2/4/09 1:36 AM
Natasha B said...
Your blouse is just exquisite. The fabric is perfect and your stitching is wonderful. Thank you for sharing.
2/4/09 2:08 AM
Twinset said...
Exquisitely beautiful blouse! I love your attention to details and love this olive linen too!
2/4/09 2:40 AM
HeyJane said...
Elegant blouse, I can't wait to try this pattern. Beautiful topstitching.
2/4/09 7:41 AM
solosmocker said...
Marsha, I am very narrow in the upper chest/upper back/ neckline area so I cut my patterns based on the upper chest measurement, including this one, but used the C cup front pieces. Morzel, a wing needle is one that looks like more of an arrow than a straight shaft. It cuts holes into the fabric as you stitch. The "Parisian stitch" looks like a ladder with one side missing. Actually it looks like the blanket stitch on the machine, but the Parisian stitch repeats the side of the ladder three times, making the holes larger. For great information on this type of stitching and needles, check out Carol Ahles "Fine Machine Sewing", my bible for this sort of work. Thanks all for the lovely compliments. Now if only I had the weather to wear my new blouse!
2/4/09 8:07 AM
cindyann said...
Gorgeous work!
2/4/09 8:47 AM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty blouse!
2/4/09 9:38 AM
Christas said...
This blouse is so beautiful! Your hemstitching adds such a nice detail. I LOVE it!
2/4/09 9:40 AM
bebrown said...
Beautiful detail work!
2/4/09 9:48 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful blouse and thanks for the just in time helpful review - have this pattern sitting on my cutting table and have been hemming and hawing about using it - no more of that now with yours to inspire!!
2/4/09 9:54 AM
Barbara V said...
I love your blouse with all the lovely detailed work. Thanks for your very helpful tutorials. I'm going to find and use my wing needle!
2/4/09 10:11 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Your blouse is so pretty - yet classic and elegant at the same time. Just exquisite! The hemstitching details really make this stand out... hmm, I know I have a wing needle somewhere....
2/4/09 10:37 AM
Irene Q said...
Oh Oh Oh!! I LOVE your hemstitching - thanks so much for including all the detail shots! Beautiful blouse!
2/4/09 11:01 AM
RottenTots said...
I love this blouse, especially your detailing on the sleeve and collar. Wonderful!
2/4/09 11:59 AM
Beek said...
Very nice! I love the fabric, the color and the pattern. Makes me want to run out and buy it!
2/4/09 12:16 PM
Kellie R. said...
Just beautiful! Your detailing is always impeccable!
2/4/09 12:57 PM
Diane333 said...
nice job
2/4/09 1:06 PM
Catbird said...
You've made a wonderful blouse! The details are exquisite and just right for the style. I really love it. Imagine it in white linen for summer!
2/4/09 1:39 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! A very fine effort, and a really exquisite blouse.
2/4/09 3:01 PM
Braemar said...
Beautiful blouse, with very fine details! Very elegant! Mary Anne
2/4/09 3:14 PM
nglalala said...
I love the stitching and details! It looks amazing!
2/4/09 3:38 PM
sewbehind said...
Very beautiful work. Your blouse is something that I would hope to find in a very expensive boutique. Great job.
2/4/09 5:43 PM
FurGal said...
The special stitching really sets the blouse off. Great looking garment and expertly made. Barb
2/4/09 5:52 PM
nancy2001 said...
What a chic and stunning blouse. It looks beautiful on you.
2/4/09 7:59 PM
Darla in PA said...
What a beautiful blouse! Love the extra details in the hemstitching. This pattern is on my list of patterns. Thank you for the review.
2/4/09 10:29 PM
Athene said...
Such beautiful detailing and lovely fit.
2/5/09 1:06 AM
kiddo said...
Brilliant! Your fitting and sewing are effortless beautiful. Your review lead me to your blog and you are an amazing sewist!
2/5/09 11:21 AM
JamieLiz said...
I've had my eye on this pattern and I'm so glad to see your review. I too am loving the 3/4 sleeve that we see more of these days and really like how you worked it in here. Thanks for a great review, and for your excellent blog!
2/7/09 1:20 PM
Coastal Connie said...
Gorgeous blouse and I love your additions. Thanks for detailing the changes you needed to the pattern so that it fit better. I'm motivated to try this one. thanks!
6/13/10 5:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

HotPatterns 1142

photo
by: michellep7...

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now