Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-108 (Knit Top with Bateau Neckline) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 740 times 45 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:2/5/09 8:54 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen6790 said...
Looks great on you. I'm about half done this one, had to take a break, glad to know it turns out this well. I love it when BWOF throws us a great basic shape we can use over and over.
2/5/09 8:57 AM
Re Becca said...
That looks maahvelous! Meeoow. When are they going to realize that that is the hard way to put in knit sleeves?
2/5/09 9:30 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Very stylish. I like that you added the tie belt and dressed up this basic tee. Thanks for heads-up on noting that the neckline may be a little wide. For someone like me who has narrow shoulders, this is great info to have prior to tracing the pattern.
2/5/09 10:01 AM
pterion said...
Great style for you! I just started subscribing and thought this top would be a good 'first BWOF'. Thanks for the review!
2/5/09 10:22 AM
Michelle L said...
Adorable! I lovelovelove the fabric! Thanks for the hint on the neckline, I am forever forgetting to stabilize or staystitch.
2/5/09 10:35 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful, thanks for the info on the neckline. This is one of the (many) items I wish to make from the February issue.
2/5/09 10:59 AM
crisford said...
Wow! Very sleek and flattering. Looks fabulous on you!
2/5/09 11:02 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I like it!
2/5/09 11:04 AM
Lauri Jean said...
Your top looks so much better than the one in the magazine. Lovely!
2/5/09 11:25 AM
2BSewing said...
Your version looks great on you. I saw this, but wasn't sure how the neckline would look on me. You've confirmed that I need to try it. Thanks for the tip on how the neckline behaves.
2/5/09 11:58 AM
nellc said...
Very nice top, the neckline is a lovely flattering shape.
2/5/09 12:36 PM
Izzie said...
Nice top! I like that neckline on you.
2/5/09 12:42 PM
squirrellypoo said...
This looks great! I totally missed this pattern in the preview, so I'm hoping my issue arrives soon!
2/5/09 12:49 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Cute top. I am finishing up another top and planned to start with that top from the Feb issue too. I love this issue, there are so many great things in it!
2/5/09 1:19 PM
Karendee said...
Great top; I love this pattern.
2/5/09 1:59 PM
Annette1 said...
Great review, clear and concise. LOVE your new top, especially the bateau neck and your fun print! :o) It's especially nice that you can whip this one up so quickly (even WITHOUT a serger or coverstitch, of which I have neither). :o)
2/5/09 2:04 PM
JamieLiz said...
Very nice. Love the print!
2/5/09 2:36 PM
persevering said...
Can you tell me how you stabilized the neckline? (I haven't done a knit yet.) The style is quite becoming on you. Thanks for your review.
2/5/09 2:53 PM
CynthiaSue said...
great print on you. thank you for the always so complete sewing instructions!
2/5/09 3:44 PM
figtree said...
WOW, so quick, I just got this magazine yesterday! I do like this top, nice basic, thanks for the tips!
2/5/09 3:56 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for another great review :)))
2/5/09 5:07 PM
TanyaMT said...
So nice to see this made up. I have a post-it note in my copy on this top and was just getting ready to trace it. :)
2/5/09 5:09 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
THis is first on the list from that issue - thanks for the review!
2/5/09 5:17 PM
nicegirl said...
Great top! The fabric is so fun and the neckline is flattering.
2/5/09 5:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks everyone for the kind words! You are tempting me to make more! To Persevering, I edited the section on "other features" to include the method I use to finish a knit neckline. Using invisible elastic is popular. You can also search the database for other ingenious ways.
2/5/09 6:17 PM
Catbird said...
Great top! Wasn't the February issue just loaded with good things? This one caught my eye too -- classic and simple design that we can't get enough of. Thanks for the review!
2/5/09 8:02 PM
Karla Kizer said...
That's the one I traced first from this issue. Yours is lovely. Very encouraging!
2/5/09 8:21 PM
Dinosauarwoman said...
I love your top....it looks wonderful! I also really like all of your items you have sewn! VERY inspiring!
2/5/09 8:25 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Your top is very cute. You are quick! I just got my issue yesterday and haven't even finished drooling over all the cute styles in it and you've already got something made!! I like the top a lot and was thinking I'd make it myself...very very becoming and a great print too!
2/5/09 9:06 PM
persevering said...
Thank you for answer - I feel more confident now about making a knit top. Also, about the slippage feeling on the shoulders:- If you haven't already, making & attaching 'bra strap holders" (or whatever they are called) could alleviate a potential slippage and keep this top wearable - it is a real winner! Thanks again!
2/6/09 0:29 AM
Karen8320 said...
Now this is one top that definitely belongs in a Duran Duran video clip! (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lv6Cr5LZStE comes to mind) Louella, this is one very sleek and smart top and you look really fabulous in it! I love the fabric. Simon Le Bon would notice you straight away! Great work!
2/6/09 0:53 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Gosh, my February issue hasn't even arrived yet, and you have completed a garment from it! The neckline is really flattering and draws attention to your lovely face.
2/6/09 7:40 AM
jkaori said...
Looks great! I've had my eye on this pattern, so thank you for your review!
2/6/09 9:14 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
This top looks SOOOO NICE on you!! I LOVE the fabric you picked!!
2/7/09 6:02 PM
Kellie R. said...
You make absolutely THE funnest, cutest and best stuff! I love this top and it looks FABULOUS on you!!
2/9/09 3:24 PM
marjenann said...
OOH! LA! LA! What a smashing top!! You look divine!!
2/10/09 7:54 AM
kerrynw said...
Lovely top, great print.
2/14/09 9:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by hme75 on 5/22/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Burrito Pillow Case Patte
photo
Review by Mary Stief... on 2/6/12
Read Review

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1587 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1587 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6095 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6095 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us