SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Patrones Magazine> 272-37 (Inauguration Coat)

Viewed 433 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/09 11:49 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VtMartha said...
Great coat which is definitely worthy of the occasion! I've been following along on your blog.
2/5/09 12:05 PM
marec said...
This is really nice. I love the lines of the coat-it has a flirty quality that matches you perfectly. The colors are quite striking too. Thanks for a great review.
2/5/09 12:09 PM
kathi s said...
Amazing coat and skills- I bow down to you!
2/5/09 12:16 PM
Diana M said...
I gulped as I read "cut it off one inch above the pockets" . . . great courage and creativity resulted in a wonderful coat!!
2/5/09 12:41 PM
Karen6790 said...
I agree, the line drawing was much more interesting than the photo. I think you set a record here, not only for speed of coat-making, but for speed of use of fabric purchased in November, and used together. I loved it then, and I like it even better now. The lining is gorgeous. Good save on the re-drafting after you'd made the shell, it looks perfectly sized for you now.
2/5/09 12:45 PM
JEF said...
Beautiful!
2/5/09 1:10 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful coat. The redesign of the bottom makes it extra special.
2/5/09 1:30 PM
Karendee said...
This is a very thorough review; I also love your purple coat. Glad it kept you warm on the big day!
2/5/09 1:47 PM
amy in mpls said...
I love what you did with the jacket. It still has those great lines at the neck, but with a fun and flirty swing! Looks Fantastic!
2/5/09 2:09 PM
SueV said...
BEE-U-TI-FUL great review; I wish I needed a coat
2/5/09 2:21 PM
Mufffet said...
GREAT coat and great blog entry of the inauguration day!
2/5/09 2:22 PM
FreyaStark said...
Well done. I'm full of admiration for your skill and creativity.
2/5/09 6:20 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your time and efforts produced an elegant, chic and superbly fitting coat!
2/5/09 10:59 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW! What a transformation from the "shapeless" photos to FINISHED and FABULOUS! This is a beautiful coat, made all the more so by all of your special details. I'm so jealous that you got to go to the inauguration. As in, AND I DIDN'T. :o)
2/6/09 0:45 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful coat so quickly sewn. All of your creative changes and additions are interesting and clever. Hope you got a picture of yourself at the Inauguration wearing your coat! Lucky you...sure wish I could have gone to such an historic event.
2/6/09 11:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 5927

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-110

photo
by: mkruszewsk...

Review