SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2241 (1931 Vintage Vogue)

1 more reviews
Viewed 793 times 
Reviewed by:MCBurbage
photo

 
 
About MCBurbagestar
TX United States
Member since: 12/26/08
Reviews: 66 (patterns: 66)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/09 6:34 PM
Last Updated:6/28/09 9:37 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
hethsaunders said... (3/22/13 8:45 AM) Reply
I have made this dress. It is fabulous. You do need the correct fabric, crepe backed satin is to heavy. It is a 1930's dress, they do look best on a slim figure, no tum!!!! They show every lump or bump on your body. The thin waistband adds to the line of the dress, it should not look like a sack. I do think everyone needs to be realistic in hoping that a 30's style dress siuts everyone's shape..the picture is a good guide of that. Good luck in the future.
Athene said... (7/2/09 11:12 PM) Reply
Sorry you did not like the end results. I am really happy to see a review of this pattern. I really like it.
whirrclunk said... (6/29/09 4:27 PM) Reply
The pattern picture looked so promising, I hope it didn't take you long. If it's any consolation, the dress looks much better on you than on the hanger!
Kayseri said... (6/29/09 2:16 AM) Reply
It's a shame that is doesn't work after all your effort. The picture has the midriff blouson out over the belt, which seems odd given the rest is so slim line. But I think this is contributing to the "sack" behaviour. The skirt, however hangs beautifully, maybe you could ditch the bodice and get an evening skirt instead : - )
sewtime said... (2/5/09 8:12 PM) Reply
Looks like it would be beautiful. Sorry the finished dress was a disappointment.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

No Pattern Used self drafted

photo
by: Addierecoy

Review
J Stern Designs Ponte Knit Jeans (Size 6-16)

J Stern Designs Ponte Knit Jeans (Size 6-16)

Pattern Details
Pamela's Patterns T-Shirt Makeover Pattern

Pamela's Patterns T-Shirt Makeover Pattern

Pattern Details