SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-118 (Jersey Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 537 times 
Reviewed by:angie.a
photo

 
 
About angie.astarstar
OK USA
Member since: 1/18/03
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/09 8:01 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 24 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lorri said...
Angie, thanks for the detailed instructins. The top looks great. Those are unusual sleeeves, I think I like them
2/8/09 8:08 PM
cabinbaby said...
Hmmm, I have to have the fabric in my hands but I'll try your version next time. Usually I'm great with 3D things in my head but this one just baffles me. lol.
2/8/09 8:15 PM
Christas said...
THANK YOU for these WONDERFUL and detailed instructions! This is such a cute little top. Your version is very nice! The first time I made this one I have to admit I was stumped! The second time was much better! Thanks again for taking the time to explain the steps! I have updated my review to include a link to your wonderful tutorial.
2/8/09 8:20 PM
sewtime said...
Great review! Love the sleeves of this darling top!
2/8/09 9:13 PM
Gecko said...
Your top looks great! I love it with the denim skirt. If I decide to make this, I'm going to print out your instructions and use them as I sew!
2/8/09 11:21 PM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT review, Angie! I know there's been "trouble ahead, trouble behind" on those sleeves, but your review will help IMMENSELY in that regard. AND, might I add, your top is AWESOME! VERY cute!
2/8/09 11:29 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Excellent review (and top!) and it will come in very handy if I am brave enough to try this one. the line drawing looks so easy, but obviously it's not!
2/9/09 1:12 AM
Ody said...
Super review! I love the top on you and it is great with a denim skirt! Cute picture of you as well---you go girl!
2/9/09 1:16 AM
nicegirl said...
Very useful review! I appreciate all the details and photos. This is on my project list and I'll be referring back here when I get to it. Great top!
2/9/09 10:53 AM
avancleve said...
Thank you for the wonderful review. I plan to make this one up and your review has been most helpful. Your top looks great!
2/9/09 12:09 PM
pinemeadows said...
Looks like a perfect fit to me! Thanks for all the detail in this review.
2/10/09 8:34 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Thanks for the head shot! Don't use a fabric any stiffer or our sleeve puffs will make you look quite wide through the bust area. As is, it's a great top.
2/11/09 8:18 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Great detail shots on the construction. I'm just about brave enough to try to top. Hope it turns out as cute as yours!
2/11/09 8:23 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great tee and great review, Angie! Thanks for the sleeve how-to. I don't have any intention of sewing this pattern but I read your step by step instructions anyway, just for the fun of it. :) I always like when people go the extra mile to write a helpful review. Thanks.
2/12/09 3:45 AM
angie.a said...
Thanks everyone! Sherrill...if you use a limp fabric, you don't get the design feature of the cool "puff". I like the look, which is really all that matters.
2/12/09 6:10 AM
sky said...
I love it! Thanks for the tutorial--I've been wavering on this top, but this might push me over to making it.
2/12/09 10:25 AM
rsersh said...
This is such a great review filled with really helpful items! Thanks! Your top looks so great on you and I love the smile in the picture!
2/12/09 7:02 PM
barbcl said...
I'm going to make this, and thank you so much for the great tips. It looks lovely!
2/12/09 8:17 PM
pterion said...
I thought this top looked beyond weird in the magazine but it looks so stinking cute on everyone who has posted a review! Now that you've done the work of figuring it out, Angie, I want to make one myself. Thank you SO much!
2/13/09 1:01 PM
Sharon M said...
You look so cute in this top! Thanks for the instructions - now I won't pull my hair out when I sew this top.
2/15/09 3:32 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great instructions and cute top!
2/18/09 9:45 PM
GlobalMom said...
Thank you for great instructions! I got as far as gathering the sleeves today, and I bet by reading your review I just saved myself ruining the expensive Italian jersey I'm working with!
3/25/09 11:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now