Online Sewing Class: Altering Pants
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1025 (MISSES' DRESS)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1149 times 
Reviewed by:sewistObsessed
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sewistObsessedstar
GA USA
Member since: 12/8/04
Reviews: 24 (patterns: 12)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/09 6:36 PM
Last Updated:2/28/09 6:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Unityrobb said... (9/18/10 8:33 AM) Reply
I am curious about a couple points in your review. You mentioned 4 inches of ease, when I measure the pattern and subtract for the pleats and the stated body measurement for the size, I came up with six inches of ease. Did you use the size for your measurements? I would think six inches of ease would be sufficient. The client I am going to make this for is a 'D' cup, and patterns are generally sized for a 'B' cup. I appreciate knowing I will need to lower the waist. I intend to stitch the pleats at a bit of an angle, taking them 1/8 deeper at the waist all the way around to remove 2" at the waist. I also think I will treat the pleats as if I were UNDERLINING rather than lining and stitch them AFTER the lining is installed so they will lie flatter with less bulk after pressing. Yours was a very helpful review. I will do a muslin and use two layers to make sure of the pleats and post the photo(s)
nicegirl said... (3/3/09 5:59 PM) Reply
Wow, all your work really paid off because I adore this dress. The pattern is going on my wish list stat.
eljay said... (3/2/09 11:45 AM) Reply
I just bought this pattern, so review was very helpful. Thanks
BeeBeeSew said... (3/2/09 9:53 AM) Reply
I glad to see someone make this successfully. I tried it last year with disasterous results. And I also noticed the really high waist - I added 4 inches and it was still too high. And huge waist - I took it in 5 inches and it still hung on me. Mine became a total wadder, I rescued the zipper (the only thing that turned out well) and trashed the rest. Looking forward to seeing this really done. Good luck.
mchick said... (3/1/09 5:22 AM) Reply
I keep looking at this pattern, and wondering how it translates on to a real body, so your review is very helpful. Actually I think your version looks much better than the pattern envelope, and I shall add this to my wish list, thankyou!
Tez said... (3/1/09 4:00 AM) Reply
Those pleats are perfect. Gorgeous dress!
Kaitlinnegan said... (3/1/09 0:41 AM) Reply
Wow, that is fantastic! I'd love to see it on you, after the work you did to get the fit just right. I love the print of the fabric, and the hot pink lining!
Kaitlinnegan said... (2/11/09 9:36 PM) Reply
Can't wait to see the finished version! I bet you will be glad you took the time to make such careful adjustments to the muslin. :D
said... (2/11/09 7:07 PM) Reply
The muslin looks great, can't wait to see the dress. It really reminds me of a J-crew dress I saw recently. vcute
renren said... (2/11/09 8:27 AM) Reply
You took a lot of care getting the fit just right and I look forward to seeing the final dress!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS
Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 315148-1001

photo
by: Lori9999

Review
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Pattern Details
Lazy Girl Designs Bendy Bag Paper Pattern

Lazy Girl Designs Bendy Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details