SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1015 (Riviera T-Shirt)

8 more reviews
Viewed 599 times 
Reviewed by:Byrdie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Byrdiestarstar
NM USA
Member since: 2/1/09
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 111
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/12/09 11:58 AM
Last Updated:2/12/09 12:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Wentz said...
Actually, I think that the fit does not look too bad, and that the neck is pretty much like it is supposed to be. jw
2/13/09 2:01 PM
Olivia Sews said...
I agree, they have great designs on their drawings but the patterns don't match the expectation. It's very disappointing. Especially for the price. BWOF is the way to go!!
2/12/09 9:49 PM
Patti B said...
How very annoying! And, no, you shouldn't have to redraft the pattern, especially at this price. Jalie has a boatneck on the old 2805 (I think that's the number) if you want to give it a shot.
2/12/09 3:08 PM
katlew03 said...
Sorry your top didn't turn out right. Perhaps you could redraft the neck opening by sewing up the shoulder little more and scooping out the neck a little and add a self-fabric band. I would try it on a fabric scrap or muslin first (Just cut out the top of the pattern front and back down about to the bottom of the sleeve opening). Or, use another pattern that you like as a template. Personally, I don't care for this type of neckline and find it awkward to wear but a lot of people do like it. I think your top looks nice and like the color.
2/12/09 2:01 PM
Byrdie said...
You guys are right. I don't mind making minor adjustments but it shouldn't be this much work to get the desired look. I think I'm done with HotPatterns. BWOF here I come!
2/12/09 1:06 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
This is so unfortunate, I really love their designs too but haven't hade much luck either. Poo. I guess I'll just stick to Jalie and Ottobre!
2/12/09 12:11 PM
cabinbaby said...
I've read several reviews of things like this. It's too bad because I love their line drawings and outfits but I don't think I'll buy a pattern. I've just decided to take the details I really like and put them on a BWOF pattern. Those seem to fit me well. Sorry you had this kind of experiences, it's frustrating.
2/12/09 12:09 PM
piffle said...
I have sworn off Hot Patterns. Between the vague construction directions, the lack of matching marks, and the vast difference between my shape and their shape -- I'm done.
2/12/09 12:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Tessuti Fave top

photo
by: rivergum

Review
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Stella Coat

photo
by: clothingen...

Review