Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1015 (Riviera T-Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 590 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Byrdie
photo
Friend of PR
About Byrdiestarstar
NM USA
Member since: 2/1/09
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/12/09 11:58 AM
Last Updated:2/12/09 12:00 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
piffle said...
I have sworn off Hot Patterns. Between the vague construction directions, the lack of matching marks, and the vast difference between my shape and their shape -- I'm done.
2/12/09 12:05 PM
cabinbaby said...
I've read several reviews of things like this. It's too bad because I love their line drawings and outfits but I don't think I'll buy a pattern. I've just decided to take the details I really like and put them on a BWOF pattern. Those seem to fit me well. Sorry you had this kind of experiences, it's frustrating.
2/12/09 12:09 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
This is so unfortunate, I really love their designs too but haven't hade much luck either. Poo. I guess I'll just stick to Jalie and Ottobre!
2/12/09 12:11 PM
Byrdie said...
You guys are right. I don't mind making minor adjustments but it shouldn't be this much work to get the desired look. I think I'm done with HotPatterns. BWOF here I come!
2/12/09 1:06 PM
katlew03 said...
Sorry your top didn't turn out right. Perhaps you could redraft the neck opening by sewing up the shoulder little more and scooping out the neck a little and add a self-fabric band. I would try it on a fabric scrap or muslin first (Just cut out the top of the pattern front and back down about to the bottom of the sleeve opening). Or, use another pattern that you like as a template. Personally, I don't care for this type of neckline and find it awkward to wear but a lot of people do like it. I think your top looks nice and like the color.
2/12/09 2:01 PM
Patti B said...
How very annoying! And, no, you shouldn't have to redraft the pattern, especially at this price. Jalie has a boatneck on the old 2805 (I think that's the number) if you want to give it a shot.
2/12/09 3:08 PM
Olivia Sews said...
I agree, they have great designs on their drawings but the patterns don't match the expectation. It's very disappointing. Especially for the price. BWOF is the way to go!!
2/12/09 9:49 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Actually, I think that the fit does not look too bad, and that the neck is pretty much like it is supposed to be. jw
2/13/09 2:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 1228 misses dress
photo
Review by Blooms on 7/9/11
Read Review

Vogue 8852 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8852 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2053 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2053 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3939 Bark Avenue
photo
Review by lauramae on 11/2/11
Read Review

Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The City Bag
The City Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us