SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8499 (MISSES' SKIRT AND PANTS)

32 more reviews
Viewed 972 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/15/09 5:06 PM
Last Updated:5/24/09 7:18 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
blue mooney said...
Love the combination of casual style with luxe fabric! They look super - and black will go with all the great shirts you've been making!
5/29/09 10:08 PM
Renren said...
Very nice and the fabric sounds delicious. If I ever go to Berkeley, I'm taking an empty suitcase to bring home fabric from Stone Mountain and Daughter.
5/25/09 3:28 AM
Annette1 said...
Very nice! I think you've got the fit JUST RIGHT on there. As for topstitching down the side seams and regretting it later: Been there, done that. :o(
5/25/09 0:46 AM
Re Becca said...
I like them with just a bit shaved off the sides, and the fabric does look fabulous.
5/24/09 9:11 PM
blue mooney said...
Ultra-casual vibe with these pants, and sometimes that's just what's called for! Very clam-digger-y. I like the way the black sobers them up just a little bit.
2/19/09 6:45 PM
janetbrooke82 said...
Mom - I like how you used the stripes, but I don't think they are very flattering. Capris make short people look shorter. I think you are right though - they may look better if you went down a size. I'm glad you tried something different!
2/17/09 11:34 PM
KristenI said...
I love these pants as I always like unusal and casual styles. Thanks for the detailed review. Enjoy the pants :)
2/16/09 2:23 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Cute! Love the idea of the contrasting stripes.
2/16/09 1:37 PM
Renren said...
I also have been intrigued by this pattern, but it scares me. Anytime I try something avant garde like this, I feel a bit clownish while others can wear it with style and flair and look very artistic and chic. Maybe it's about confidence? You're definitely looking chic.
2/16/09 9:54 AM
BillieJean said...
Really cute pants. When I made mine last year I ended up taking about 2" out of each side back. The front fit, but I think it is the back that adds all the fullness.
2/15/09 8:20 PM
PegL said...
Very good and complete review! I'm going to have to adjust to this style I think. You're braver than than I am. I want to hear what your DDs think before I cast my final vote. ;>)
2/15/09 6:20 PM
Peggy L said...
Snaffles - I went down one size but they are still pretty roomy. Rhonda - these are way out of my comfort zone!!! I am turning the big 6-0 this year so am getting ready.
2/15/09 6:18 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"If you are in the mood for something totally out of the ordinary, go for it!!" When I saw this outfit, I wondered if it was for you, Peggy... COOL!! I could take lessons from you about how to not look too conservative!! Enjoy the comments/compliments, eh!
2/15/09 6:07 PM
snaffles said...
Very good review. I have this pattern. Any idea how much to downsize it for pants? Or even the skirt (is it as oversized)?
2/15/09 6:06 PM
Izzie said...
Your pants turned out cute! I like the detail with the horizontal stripe..great idea.
2/15/09 5:28 PM
Re Becca said...
Very Cute, and very conservative for Montrose. I thought that you needed to be pierced to eat there... I love them, you could wear them anywhere.
2/15/09 5:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 18031-1003

photo
by: mhoutz

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now