SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6407 (Misses' Shirts)

75 more reviews
Viewed 574 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/16/09 3:25 PM
Last Updated:2/16/09 9:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lesalicious said...
Oh wow I am loving this shirt great job. That fabric you pick is pretty. Did a great job.
2/20/09 5:32 PM
Honeyface said...
great color, love this on you!
2/19/09 1:08 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your blouse is absolutely fabulous! I love the style and the color of your fabric!
2/17/09 10:27 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
BRAVO! You out did his Purple-ness... Great review, great shirt!
2/17/09 8:56 PM
Darla in PA said...
Your top looks great on you! The color is wonderful!
2/17/09 10:20 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Great shirt. That's my new favorite color. The jewel tones certainly do look flattering on you. I agree with you that the shoulders look fine as is, but you may want to "perfect" them the next time. Very nice workmanship.
2/17/09 9:16 AM
ITAdmin said...
I love the color and style of this. I buy and use those bags of buttons, too; they come in handy sometimes. Great minds think alike, I guess.
2/17/09 8:21 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Well, I am getting SERIOUSLY jealous of your ability to make such a great wardrobe Louella!!!! Another wonderful top to inspire us - and I think the collar standing up a bit is definitely "cool" (in the words of the Fonz??!!) And purple is the most vibrant colour on you, great job!
2/17/09 4:34 AM
FreyaStark said...
It looks pretty good to me, and the colour is glorious!
2/17/09 4:12 AM
Leora said...
You are so funny! I really, really want this shirt in shiny purple satin for some reason. I have the fabric, I have the pattern, just need the mojo. I would be interested to see how this turns out without a collar, if you do it please show and tell!
2/17/09 1:55 AM
Annette1 said...
To the REIGNING purple QUEEN: This top fits you absolutely PERFECTLY, and I LIKE the collar! That's really STRANGE, too, because normally I'm not real keen on that style -- ha! Maybe it's because it DOES stand up that I like it. I've been TRYING to look at your review pictures ALL DAY, and either Big Brother wouldn't let me at work, or my PC was acting up here at home or WHATEVER. FINALLY, I can see it up close and personal, and I think it's just perfect! This should be yet ANOTHER TNT. :o)
2/17/09 0:07 AM
emo said...
This looks great! I've had really good luck with this pattern by using the view "E" collar, which is not really a collar but just a kind of stand-collar thing. But this looks great just as is!
2/16/09 10:41 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love the way this blouse looks on you. I have this pattern, and you've made me excited to try it. I especially like the clean look you achieved by forgoing the topstitching. Great review.
2/16/09 10:17 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
NICE Blog!! Cute name, too!!
2/16/09 10:17 PM
Christas said...
You look beautiful in this! I KNOW that purple is your color!
2/16/09 9:05 PM
Re Becca said...
Love the color. I like the collar on you. I have this pattern, but I didn't get past the muslin. You make this look so good.
2/16/09 8:45 PM
Karen8320 said...
Louella, Nothing compares 2 this. What a lovely shirt this is and the darts give it a really nice shape. This color looks great on you - a purple reign most definitely. The collar looks fine in your photo but only you know what you like and what you don't. You look fabulous in this shirt!
2/16/09 7:25 PM
ryan's mom said...
I really like this top on you--love the color, the buttons, and the style. Those subgroup pattern pieces drive me crazy, especially when I simply want to morph the pattern between sizes. Then I have to hunt down two pieces and superimpose them to create a third usable piece. What a waste of time! Think I had to do that with Simplicity 4047, a wrap dress.
2/16/09 6:48 PM
ryan's mom said...
I really like this top on you--love the color, the buttons, and the style. Those subgroup pattern pieces drive me crazy, especially when I simply want to morph the pattern between sizes. Then I have to hunt down two pieces and superimpose them to create a third usable piece. What a waste of time! Think I had to do that with Simplicity 4047, a wrap dress.
2/16/09 6:31 PM
pterion said...
A majestic shirt worthy of Prince and King. It looks terrific in purple, the cuffs are fab, and you got an awesome fit!
2/16/09 5:33 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
You look way more dashing than Prince in purple. I really like these cuffs on you.
2/16/09 5:00 PM
Kellie R. said...
Your version turned out lovely! I love the color and I'm glad you adjusted the darts for more ease. You look marvelous!!!!!!!
2/16/09 4:56 PM
Michelle L said...
Beatuiful shirt!! I adore the purple...so vibrant! I have noticed the same thing with the sizing and pattern pieces with a lot of New Look patterns. I don't know what is up with that!
2/16/09 4:45 PM
glenj said...
maybe the pattern pieces are printed that way for so that cutting lines aren't as confusing.If it's an easy pattern they might have thought that cutting out with definition between sizes would be better for beginners ?who knows! Any way still a nice top
2/16/09 4:35 PM
crazygrad said...
Looks great! uh huh huh...
2/16/09 3:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Butterick 5814

photo
by: jnageotte

Review
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now