Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8118 (Very easy tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 575 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:CTBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About CTBarbstar
CT USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/20/09 2:24 PM
Last Updated:8/31/10 8:11 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
How nice to have the sloper to work with and you've done a really fine job with all these alterations as suggested by your sloper. Thanks for taking the time to write such a complete review.
2/20/09 3:01 PM
melissa sews said...
Nice top! Very good fit, too. And thanks for the detailed review.
2/20/09 4:15 PM
Diana M said...
So much for the "very easy tops," huh? Excellent review, and nice looking top. Thank you.
2/20/09 4:36 PM
Annette1 said...
What a great review! I hadn't even NOTICED this pattern until I saw yours, and now I seem to think I can't live without it. :o) Very inspiring!
2/20/09 6:47 PM
EleanorSews said...
I love the way this looks on you! To think I by-passed this pattern last time on sale. Ah, but another sale is around the corner... Your review is so full of useful info for adjustments. Thanks for taking the time...
2/20/09 7:35 PM
Christas said...
This looks very nice on you! I love the pattern and wish I had noticed it at the last Vogue sale!
2/20/09 8:37 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very nice top!
2/20/09 11:13 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I think I bought this pattern with my daughter in mind when someone else reviewed it- at least I hope I did. Using a stretch fabric was a good idea since I would need to size up. I seem to love your tops that you review. Nice work!
2/21/09 8:36 AM
carolynw said...
Good looking top - interesting pattern - can't understand why I passed it by.
2/21/09 9:59 AM
CTBarb said...
Thanks for all the positive encouragment. I shoulld write a review of the tops I made before I got Vogue 8572 to work! But they were so ghastly that I threw them away!!!!....lol.... My biggest mistake was choosing the pattern size by my bust size (24-26).....I have to choose it by my shoulder width and neck length.
2/21/09 11:20 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very nice review! Your top looks great! It was coincidental that I revisited this pattern just before I read your review. I sewed this in a rayon woven and I noticed that the back sleeve was a tad longer than the back armscye. So I could imagine this being exaggerated when working with a knit.
2/21/09 5:27 PM
Barbara V said...
Great looking top. I like the changes you made for a really nice fit. The tie adds a nice touch to the front.
11/25/09 8:03 PM
treefrog said...
I love the print top. Thanks for the detailed info on how you tackled the fit - it's a big help.
11/25/09 10:21 PM
CynthiaSue said...
congratulations on your wardrobe! this piece is very soft and lovely.
9/1/10 2:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 1805 Misses Tops
photo
Review by knitsewmuc... on 12/13/13
Read Review

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Edith Blouse Dress Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Edith Blouse Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3268 Women Overalls
photo
Review by Annette1 on 3/4/07
Read Review

Butterick 5760 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5760 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8379 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8379 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us