SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8118 (Very easy tops)

8 more reviews
Viewed 577 times 
Reviewed by:CTBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CTBarbstar
CT USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/20/09 2:24 PM
Last Updated:8/31/10 8:11 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
How nice to have the sloper to work with and you've done a really fine job with all these alterations as suggested by your sloper. Thanks for taking the time to write such a complete review.
2/20/09 3:01 PM
melissa sews said...
Nice top! Very good fit, too. And thanks for the detailed review.
2/20/09 4:15 PM
Diana M said...
So much for the "very easy tops," huh? Excellent review, and nice looking top. Thank you.
2/20/09 4:36 PM
Annette1 said...
What a great review! I hadn't even NOTICED this pattern until I saw yours, and now I seem to think I can't live without it. :o) Very inspiring!
2/20/09 6:47 PM
EleanorSews said...
I love the way this looks on you! To think I by-passed this pattern last time on sale. Ah, but another sale is around the corner... Your review is so full of useful info for adjustments. Thanks for taking the time...
2/20/09 7:35 PM
Christas said...
This looks very nice on you! I love the pattern and wish I had noticed it at the last Vogue sale!
2/20/09 8:37 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very nice top!
2/20/09 11:13 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I think I bought this pattern with my daughter in mind when someone else reviewed it- at least I hope I did. Using a stretch fabric was a good idea since I would need to size up. I seem to love your tops that you review. Nice work!
2/21/09 8:36 AM
carolynw said...
Good looking top - interesting pattern - can't understand why I passed it by.
2/21/09 9:59 AM
CTBarb said...
Thanks for all the positive encouragment. I shoulld write a review of the tops I made before I got Vogue 8572 to work! But they were so ghastly that I threw them away!!!!....lol.... My biggest mistake was choosing the pattern size by my bust size (24-26).....I have to choose it by my shoulder width and neck length.
2/21/09 11:20 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very nice review! Your top looks great! It was coincidental that I revisited this pattern just before I read your review. I sewed this in a rayon woven and I noticed that the back sleeve was a tad longer than the back armscye. So I could imagine this being exaggerated when working with a knit.
2/21/09 5:27 PM
Barbara V said...
Great looking top. I like the changes you made for a really nice fit. The tie adds a nice touch to the front.
11/25/09 8:03 PM
treefrog said...
I love the print top. Thanks for the detailed info on how you tackled the fit - it's a big help.
11/25/09 10:21 PM
CynthiaSue said...
congratulations on your wardrobe! this piece is very soft and lovely.
9/1/10 2:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

McCall's 6611

photo
by: sewmytime

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now