SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag)

45 more reviews
Viewed 898 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 147
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 133 people
patterns reviewed: 142
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/09 1:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Wow, what a terrific review. Those who make bags will benefit from your generous review. I love the bag, and think you did a great job...just want to add with a smile...>purple faux emu leather doesn't seem subdued to me! :-)
2/21/09 2:13 PM
Elke said...
Fabulous bag and great review!
2/21/09 2:18 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Sigrid this purse looks AMAZING!! Could you make ME one?! Purple is my VERY favorite color!! You did a FANTASTIC job on this purse!! Your bag will be the best gym bag in the WHOLE gym!!
2/21/09 2:24 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Fantastic review! I love the look of this bag but was always scared off my the traumatic reviews. You've certainly got the most stylish gym bag I've EVER seen!
2/21/09 2:50 PM
moushka said...
Despite your construction difficulties, you ended up with a beautiful bag. Love the colour and look of the fabric. Thanks for a terrific and inspirational review.
2/21/09 3:55 PM
Christas said...
What a wonderful review! This is such a pretty bag. I agree with Squirrellypoo, you must have the MOST stylish gym bag I have ever seen!
2/21/09 4:37 PM
FurGal said...
What a wonderful bag! The fabric used is great, and you did a fantastic job on it.
2/21/09 5:19 PM
julie w said...
What a great job you did on this bag, it was so worth sticking with this project. Very stylish
2/21/09 5:54 PM
Patti B said...
Just a beautiful bag and an outstandingly helpful review. Love the faux emu! I think I will look elsewhere for a bag pattern.
2/21/09 5:57 PM
jbsew said...
Great bag and great review thanks!
2/21/09 6:46 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I was going to ask you to make ME one, but I see Meggie has already stepped up to the task. This bag has turned out beautifully, Sigrid. So much work you put into this, and it was SO worth it! GREAT review, too.
2/21/09 7:58 PM
nancy2001 said...
I love your new bag. It's beautifully made and smartly designed -- just perfect.
2/21/09 8:20 PM
Peggy said...
Terrific review. Thanksfor your hard work on this.
2/21/09 8:51 PM
LeahT said...
Fantastic job Sigrid! Your finished bag looks wonderful. I'm amazed at how much difference the faux leather made in the finished look of the bag compared to the pattern photo... It's very like you to go out and use a different fabric to the recommended - and what a result! Stunning!
2/21/09 10:09 PM
marjenann said...
Just amazing!! Your work, the faux leather and the design. Spectacular!
2/22/09 10:26 AM
Meredith P said...
Stunning bag! I admire you for finishing it. Your review is so helpful. I might try this...after I retire :-)
2/22/09 10:35 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Fantastic final result - well worth all the trouble!
2/22/09 4:44 PM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous review. Your bag looks great!
2/22/09 6:44 PM
Diane E said...
Sigrid, this is a hugely helpful review. Maybe I'll just make a tailored jacket instead of tackling this bag ;) Your bag turned out beautifully, though. Makes me want to try it, still!!
2/23/09 11:18 AM
Baja Susana said...
I agree with marec that a purple faux emu bag is not exactly subdued! Your review is wonderful and the links helpful. Your bag is lovely, nice job. thanks for all of your hard work!
2/25/09 5:50 AM
nicolemall said...
What a fantastic result! I like the faux leather look - but don't envy you the time you must have had working with it!! Great stuff!
2/26/09 6:24 AM
Ody said...
Sigrid---this bag is on the extreme side of totally yummy on soooo many levels. I won't even go into your wonderful tutorial in the review, but purple emu leather---you evil enabler!!! I must find some and make a bag!!! Once again your review is not only a fantastic tutorial, but a grand way to show off your creative and excellent work. I truly bow in amazement to you on this one!
3/2/09 12:09 PM
rsersh said...
Wow! Your review and pictures are great and your bag is fantastic! I just love it!
3/2/09 2:29 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Sigrid, what a lot of (difficult) work you've put into your beautiful bag, and the result is so special! It's perfect in every way. Thank you for sharing the K King technique of eliminating hair canvas from the seams of garments; I'll use that a lot. What a wonderful review, and lots of great photos, too. Lovely, Lily
3/2/09 4:31 PM
CarolynGM said...
Definitely the best looking gym bag I've seen in ages. I adore the purple faux emu.
3/2/09 6:51 PM
arfeuse said...
this looks gorgeous - I really admire your patience and tenacity as well as your sense of style. I'd definitely buy one of these!!!! well done!
3/3/09 9:32 AM
Peggyv said...
I just got this pattern and was going to make the bag. Your review is amazingly helpful and your bag is gorgeous. Thank you so much!
3/6/09 8:07 PM
sewnskate said...
I have this pattern and cut out everything. Looking for the 30" zipper so I can get started. This was very helpful!! I couldn't locate the required interfacing! Now I know why. Thanks!
5/4/09 6:39 PM
Wilzmom said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I've had this pattern in my stash and thought I would give it a try. Thanks!
3/29/13 7:51 PM
Wilzmom said...
I've just started creating this bag and have found your remarks to be "spot on". The missing paper pattern pieces were frustrating, even though you gave us a warning. Thanks for the detailed review!
3/31/13 7:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Onion 1041

photo
by: Marge99

Review
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now