SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag)

45 more reviews
Viewed 909 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
Netherlands
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 137 people
patterns reviewed: 145
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/09 1:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Wilzmom said...
I've just started creating this bag and have found your remarks to be "spot on". The missing paper pattern pieces were frustrating, even though you gave us a warning. Thanks for the detailed review!
3/31/13 7:17 PM
Wilzmom said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I've had this pattern in my stash and thought I would give it a try. Thanks!
3/29/13 7:51 PM
sewnskate said...
I have this pattern and cut out everything. Looking for the 30" zipper so I can get started. This was very helpful!! I couldn't locate the required interfacing! Now I know why. Thanks!
5/4/09 6:39 PM
Peggyv said...
I just got this pattern and was going to make the bag. Your review is amazingly helpful and your bag is gorgeous. Thank you so much!
3/6/09 8:07 PM
arfeuse said...
this looks gorgeous - I really admire your patience and tenacity as well as your sense of style. I'd definitely buy one of these!!!! well done!
3/3/09 9:32 AM
CarolynGM said...
Definitely the best looking gym bag I've seen in ages. I adore the purple faux emu.
3/2/09 6:51 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Sigrid, what a lot of (difficult) work you've put into your beautiful bag, and the result is so special! It's perfect in every way. Thank you for sharing the K King technique of eliminating hair canvas from the seams of garments; I'll use that a lot. What a wonderful review, and lots of great photos, too. Lovely, Lily
3/2/09 4:31 PM
rsersh said...
Wow! Your review and pictures are great and your bag is fantastic! I just love it!
3/2/09 2:29 PM
Ody said...
Sigrid---this bag is on the extreme side of totally yummy on soooo many levels. I won't even go into your wonderful tutorial in the review, but purple emu leather---you evil enabler!!! I must find some and make a bag!!! Once again your review is not only a fantastic tutorial, but a grand way to show off your creative and excellent work. I truly bow in amazement to you on this one!
3/2/09 12:09 PM
nicolemall said...
What a fantastic result! I like the faux leather look - but don't envy you the time you must have had working with it!! Great stuff!
2/26/09 6:24 AM
Baja Susana said...
I agree with marec that a purple faux emu bag is not exactly subdued! Your review is wonderful and the links helpful. Your bag is lovely, nice job. thanks for all of your hard work!
2/25/09 5:50 AM
Diane E said...
Sigrid, this is a hugely helpful review. Maybe I'll just make a tailored jacket instead of tackling this bag ;) Your bag turned out beautifully, though. Makes me want to try it, still!!
2/23/09 11:18 AM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous review. Your bag looks great!
2/22/09 6:44 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Fantastic final result - well worth all the trouble!
2/22/09 4:44 PM
Meredith P said...
Stunning bag! I admire you for finishing it. Your review is so helpful. I might try this...after I retire :-)
2/22/09 10:35 AM
marjenann said...
Just amazing!! Your work, the faux leather and the design. Spectacular!
2/22/09 10:26 AM
LeahT said...
Fantastic job Sigrid! Your finished bag looks wonderful. I'm amazed at how much difference the faux leather made in the finished look of the bag compared to the pattern photo... It's very like you to go out and use a different fabric to the recommended - and what a result! Stunning!
2/21/09 10:09 PM
Peggy said...
Terrific review. Thanksfor your hard work on this.
2/21/09 8:51 PM
nancy2001 said...
I love your new bag. It's beautifully made and smartly designed -- just perfect.
2/21/09 8:20 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I was going to ask you to make ME one, but I see Meggie has already stepped up to the task. This bag has turned out beautifully, Sigrid. So much work you put into this, and it was SO worth it! GREAT review, too.
2/21/09 7:58 PM
jbsew said...
Great bag and great review thanks!
2/21/09 6:46 PM
Patti B said...
Just a beautiful bag and an outstandingly helpful review. Love the faux emu! I think I will look elsewhere for a bag pattern.
2/21/09 5:57 PM
julie w said...
What a great job you did on this bag, it was so worth sticking with this project. Very stylish
2/21/09 5:54 PM
FurGal said...
What a wonderful bag! The fabric used is great, and you did a fantastic job on it.
2/21/09 5:19 PM
Christas said...
What a wonderful review! This is such a pretty bag. I agree with Squirrellypoo, you must have the MOST stylish gym bag I have ever seen!
2/21/09 4:37 PM
moushka said...
Despite your construction difficulties, you ended up with a beautiful bag. Love the colour and look of the fabric. Thanks for a terrific and inspirational review.
2/21/09 3:55 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Fantastic review! I love the look of this bag but was always scared off my the traumatic reviews. You've certainly got the most stylish gym bag I've EVER seen!
2/21/09 2:50 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Sigrid this purse looks AMAZING!! Could you make ME one?! Purple is my VERY favorite color!! You did a FANTASTIC job on this purse!! Your bag will be the best gym bag in the WHOLE gym!!
2/21/09 2:24 PM
Elke said...
Fabulous bag and great review!
2/21/09 2:18 PM
marec said...
Wow, what a terrific review. Those who make bags will benefit from your generous review. I love the bag, and think you did a great job...just want to add with a smile...>purple faux emu leather doesn't seem subdued to me! :-)
2/21/09 2:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

New Look 6720 (OOP)

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now