Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Palmer Pletsch: 001 (Apron) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 164 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:cindy-lou
photo
About cindy-loustarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/09 5:25 PM
Last Updated:2/23/09 5:32 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
onehipgrammy said...
very cute apron, thanks for a Great review!!
2/23/09 7:08 PM
Aixoise said...
Cindy-Lou, I use this pattern all the time in teaching beginning sewers, and I have some of the same nit-picks that you do. I teach a different way to get a nice curve on the pockets, for example; and I use a lot of Steam-a-Seam on those clean-finished edges. That said, I think there's value in giving beginners the vocabulary and steps of garment-sewing, even though some of those steps are rather old-fashioned. (Facings? On an apron? Why not binding?) My students are always thrilled with the results, though, and that's probably the best endorsement for this pattern, don't'cha think?
2/23/09 7:09 PM
cindy-lou said...
Hi Aixoise-- Thanks for your helpful comments on my review! Yes, indeed... I *do* think there's a lot of merit in teaching the techniques and the terminology! In fact, I wonder if that's why this pattern grades the seams and uses facings in the first place (and BTW, I agree on the curved pocket edges and definitely considered using Steam a Seam!). Maybe it's not so much a necessity as a teaching experience. It does make a nice apron, and I can see students being thrilled with their results, and feeling confident after making this. :)
2/23/09 9:18 PM
Peggy L said...
I've wondered about these P&P teaching patterns so appreciate the review. Cute apron!
2/23/09 9:37 PM
craftygamma said...
LOL at your tongue in cheek review. But you make some very good points for beginners. Why make it harder than it needs to be and possibly discourage a beginner from venturing on? About the pocket...here is what would happen to me. The pocket would get totally lost somewhere in my sewing room and could not be found when it is time to sew it on the apron. The apron would probably be finished without the pocket...and the pocket would not be found until a month later.
2/24/09 7:51 AM
Heatherrique said...
Such a bubbly cute apron, Cindy Lou!
2/24/09 6:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Self Drafted Pattern 29655-1000
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 8/5/07
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Camille's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Camille's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-30 Groovy skirt
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/3/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6510 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6510 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7095 Pattern
Burda 7095 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us