Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: No Pattern Used (No Pattern Used) thumbsup - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 383 times 76 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:lilyofthevalley
photo
About lilyofthevalleystarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/9/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:2/28/09 5:51 PM
Last Updated:3/1/09 3:07 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LouiseS said...
WOW Lily! All I can say is WOW! That is exquisite and, as with all of your work, so beautifully dsigned and executed. As the "Mama" of 2 dogs and a cat, I also appreciate what you went through to Early-proof this project. Thank you for sharing another fantastic project.
2/28/09 6:11 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
I'd LOVE to stay in this Guest Bedroom!! It's gorgeous!!
2/28/09 6:33 PM
FurGal said...
What a lovely "retreat at the top of the house" you have created! Thank you for sharing.
2/28/09 6:35 PM
Winifred said...
So thats where you've been Lily !! Er ...... do you take paying guests ! This is a most fabulous achievement - totally gorgeous and so elegant. Cats always know the best places and yours are no exception. I just keep looking and looking again at your pictures, words fail me.
2/28/09 6:43 PM
arianamaniacs said...
You did an awesome job! It looks like its right out of a designer magazine. Lovely
2/28/09 7:06 PM
arianamaniacs said...
You did an awesome job! It looks like its right out of a designer magazine. Lovely
2/28/09 7:11 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Standing Ovation!!!!! PS I particularly enjoyed the Early photos...
2/28/09 7:21 PM
Diana M said...
WOW -- each item, singly, is impressive; put all together, this is amazing and makes a wonderful little garret room! And your review, with all its photos, is another inspiration itself. Thank you!
2/28/09 7:21 PM
Mufffet said...
How can I give this four VERY HELPFULS?? WOW. I love your little bedroom. I would love that. :)) Such sumptuous environs your lucky guests get to inhabit. And this is the overflow guest room I am guessing! :) Lovely work all through, and a most thorough and enjoyable review. Quite made my day. And I love Kitty as well. :) My gray one is a short hair, but has the same lovely eyes.
2/28/09 7:27 PM
chacha45 said...
I don't feel able to even comment on the wonder of all this! And then there is that cutting table! Oh!
2/28/09 7:52 PM
Kay Y said...
The weight - that was all I could think about as I clicked on each of the photos - you got a good workout pulling all that through your machine! If you open up a B&B I'll be first in line. It looks extremely comfy up there now!
2/28/09 8:26 PM
Peggy L said...
Lily - you have outdone yourself. Beautiful!! You may have more guests than you ever planned for when your family/friends find out about that lovely room.
2/28/09 9:09 PM
moushka said...
Lily, you've created a stunning room, reminiscent of a chic French hotel. Thanks for giving us a glimpse into your home. The pictures are breathtaking! Sue
2/28/09 10:16 PM
Birgitte said...
Supreme! 5 star boutique hotel- blame yourself if the guests never leave :)) Excellent review as always, thank you!
2/28/09 10:30 PM
HeyJane said...
Absolutely beautiful, cozy and inviting. It's the ideal retreat. Thanks for all the photos and detail.
2/28/09 10:30 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautifully designed and beautifully sewn. Your guest room looks magnificent.
2/28/09 11:28 PM
fourkid said...
Just Wonderful!!!!
3/1/09 0:16 AM
Annette1 said...
WHERE'S the picture of y'all carrying the bedskirt up to the third floor, that's what I want to know. Maybe you should have given it to Early to drag up there. She could probably handle it single-handedly! At any rate, I guess I was WRONG when I said the tablecloth was the PERFECT entry for a stash contest, because now this HAS to be the winner, hands down! I can't even IMAGINE handling ALL of this fabric during construction. If you didn't have to enlarge the biceps on your sleeve patterns before, you might now! :o) You have created an absolute RETREAT for your lucky guests. I LOVE this room, with the warm colors and lighting, and complete with cats, too! (Ever since I read about Maine Coon cats, I've wished I had one.) You really have outdone yourself, Lily, and that's saying a LOT. :o)
3/1/09 1:38 AM
bluenines said...
WOW!!! all i can say is it is just beautuful and as someone who shares an apt with 2 cats i can fully understand having to cat proof !!!
3/1/09 11:53 AM
Robin S said...
Very Elegant!
3/1/09 1:17 PM
Bernadette W said...
Lily- this is so fabulous! And that cutting table looks worthy of design school-- cork topped too? And you probably forgot to mention that you also made the pleated beaded lampshade as well... This review should count for about fifty reviews!
3/1/09 1:47 PM
indiaw said...
Lily, I am absolutely awed! What a wonderful room. I, too, want to get in line to spend the night in it. Your usual planning and execution of your sewing projects shines through here. Outstanding job!
3/1/09 3:40 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
AWESOME~SUPERBLY EXECUTED by thee, one and only, LILY! Absolutely jaw dopping Lily! I'm speechless! Connie
3/1/09 3:42 PM
Vonnevo said...
Elegant, beautiful and inviting. Your guests will feel like they are staying at The Ritz !
3/1/09 4:03 PM
Janine S said...
An absolute stunner! So, when are you taking guests :-)? Is it too early to book my flight from Oz? The idea of a little room at the top of a third floor with an attic window sounds sooo romantic/fairytale-ish, and you've pulled off the look superbly. Congratulations.
3/1/09 4:14 PM
Darla in PA said...
Beautiful job on the guest room redo! Your guests should feel suitably spoiled. Early sure is cute and makes 2 1/2 of my little Maine Coone.
3/1/09 4:26 PM
Heatherrique said...
Lily, if I had to recommend a person to appear on a home makeover show, then tag, you're the one! Wow! Kudos to you for creating an enchanting guest retreat, which certainly outdoes any multi-star hotel room. BTW: your pal Early is a cutie!!!!!!!!!!
3/1/09 5:07 PM
Catbird said...
Well . . . I was feeling a bit snarly today until I decided to log on to PR and look through the latest reviews. Yours turned my mood around instantly! Those pictures of Early are priceless and the review really made me laugh, not to mention shake my head in awed admiration. Don't be too surprised if you start to see your fellow PR members wandering around the lower Hudson Valley looking like they need a place to stay! I've been wondering what you've been up to lately and now I know -- you were creating a masterpiece.
3/1/09 5:25 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! This is such an elegant set! You did a stupendous job!
3/1/09 5:35 PM
marjenann said...
OMG!!! Truly an amazing room!! I have bolts of fabric ready for a guest room redesign!! I need your mojo!!
3/1/09 7:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
I hung on every word and every picture in this wonderful and inspiring review. Your fabrics and their combinations, the design, and the flawless construction all work together to make this the prettiest, most inviting guest room I've seen in a while. And it's so kind of you to tweak the design to suit your kitties!
3/1/09 7:34 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a stunning ensemble Lily! The room looks luxurious, elegant and welcoming. It's no small accomplishment, working with all of the large pieces of heavy fabric. The results are spectacular. Can I come and stay (if your cats don't mind) ? :p
3/1/09 8:09 PM
Christas said...
The worst thing about this, Lily, is that you have created such a gorgeous place for your guests that they may NEVER ever leave! I am so impressed with all you have done. And..... wow..... a 22.8 pound cat?!
3/1/09 9:16 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! WOW!! WOW!! Your guest bedroom looks AMAZING!! I LOVE the colors and the FABRICS you chose!! They make this room look very inviting!! Your work is IMPECCABLE!!
3/1/09 9:40 PM
Ody said...
Oh Lily, my mouth is tired of going ---"Oh, Wow!" on every photo! That is spectacular!!! I always said I wanted to come stay with you and I want you to know I think it is so thoughtful of you to prepare a grand place for me, cat included! To stay in that bed, I will even come and cook! I made our whole duvet and bed ensemble, but you put me to shame!! Sumptuous is the only word that covers it all. Such great tasted as well. You go girl!
3/1/09 10:37 PM
Nancywin said...
I cannot tell you how much I LOVE this room. The room itself is darling, I love the furnishings, and all of the items you just made make it so special! It is cozy and elegant at the same time. Of course, your fat kitty will have the final say as to who gets to sleep there, but I, for one, would be delighted to stay in this charming retreat!
3/1/09 11:19 PM
Braemar said...
Lily, I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this review, and viewing all your marvelous photo's! What more can I add to the comments......I echo everything that has been said! I envy the first guest to stay in such luxurious surroundings, they will never want to leave! Thank you so, so much for sharing! Mary Anne.
3/2/09 3:52 AM
cindyann said...
Lily, what a lovely job you did decorating this room. Any guest would feel most welcome and comfortable. Beautiful work.
3/2/09 8:38 AM
Renren said...
Words fail me and I don't like resorting to cliche, so I will just say you have exceeded (our) expecations (of you). You really have outdone yourself, and that's saying something. Magnificent. And Early, even though you are adorable, please don't eat the fringe. Kitty's new motto is "Get up, Early, and take a nap."
3/2/09 9:40 AM
molecule said...
Perfection!
3/2/09 11:18 PM
CynthiaSue said...
i love that jelly roll! This looks regal, straight out of a period piece about The Tudors! Absolute mastery Lily. Laughed out loud at the cat shenanigans!
3/9/09 3:59 PM
farahhabiba said...
WONDERFUL I LOVE THIS ROOM SO MUCH
3/31/09 8:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Oliver + S OS001TP
photo
Review by Cristinagf on 11/27/11
Read Review

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2896
photo
Review by reethi on 5/18/09
Read Review

Simplicity 2154 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2154 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1360 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1360 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us