Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8592 (Semi-fittedAsymmetrical Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 536 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:JanJanB
photo
About JanJanB
BC CANADA
Member since: 1/22/09
Reviews written: 6
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/09 9:22 PM
Last Updated:3/1/09 4:03 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewingstacy said...
Nice looking jacket - like the fabric choice!
2/28/09 9:24 PM
SEJ said...
Thanks for the detailed review. The jacket looks good on you and hey, nice button.
2/28/09 10:57 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Well your perseverance with fitting paid off! I think it looks great and fits well now!
2/28/09 11:00 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Great job on fitting this it looks terrific.
2/28/09 11:02 PM
Annette1 said...
I think your jacket has turned out beautifully, right down to the button. And congratulations on your first review! :o)
3/1/09 1:25 AM
Elona said...
Sometimes working on a frustrating pattern spoils the process and maybe the pattern for future use, but gosh, the jacket is striking now and looks terrific on you. I can see it in linen...
3/1/09 2:04 AM
fuzzygalore said...
It would look more 'constructed' if you'd used a fabric like the tweed or lightweight wool recommended. That is totally opposed to the nature of boiled wool though, so your jacket is slouchier. Fabric primes pattern, I think, in most cases. But your jacket still looks good, if different.
3/1/09 4:42 AM
carolynw said...
With all the alterations you made this is one great looking jacket - good for you sticking with it!!
3/1/09 9:49 AM
DivaQ said...
Cute jacket!
3/1/09 10:32 AM
nellc said...
Very nice jacket.
3/1/09 1:15 PM
Fairy_Tinkerbell said...
Great jacket - I love it!
3/1/09 3:47 PM
Em's Summer said...
Great looking jacket!
3/1/09 5:33 PM
JanJanB said...
fuzzygalore-I never thought of that. I've seen jackets made out of this in the stores, but come to think of it, they were a single layer, including the lapel.
3/1/09 7:29 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful jacket!! I love the button, it is perfect with the fabric.
3/1/09 8:44 PM
Secretsugar said...
Well, however much trouble and time this project took, you ended up with a really striking jacket. It looks very well constructed, and the button is a perfect choice for this asymmetrical cut. Nice job!
3/1/09 9:16 PM
lamstu said...
Your jacket looks smashing on you. I made this jacket years ago, before I knew about PR. I still wear it frequently, and I'm betting that you'll wear yours for years to come - a real classic.
3/2/09 3:40 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Jan, I too love your jacket and although the final result wasn't what you were expecting, I think it looks great on you and that you'll get lots of compliments. Very special button, too. Congrats on first review and I look forward to seeing many more of your creations. Lovely, Lily
3/2/09 2:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 8093
photo
Review by Irene Q on 3/11/07
Read Review

Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern
Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Patrones Magazine No. 291 04/2010 Model 23 Blouse
photo
Review by dingyadi on 5/23/10
Read Review

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7031 Pattern
Burda 7031 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6914 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6914 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us