SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8592 (Semi-fittedAsymmetrical Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 541 times 
Reviewed by:JanJanB
photo

 
 
About JanJanB
BC CANADA
Member since: 1/22/09
Reviews written: 6
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/09 9:22 PM
Last Updated:3/1/09 4:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewingstacy said...
Nice looking jacket - like the fabric choice!
2/28/09 9:24 PM
SEJ said...
Thanks for the detailed review. The jacket looks good on you and hey, nice button.
2/28/09 10:57 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Well your perseverance with fitting paid off! I think it looks great and fits well now!
2/28/09 11:00 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Great job on fitting this it looks terrific.
2/28/09 11:02 PM
Annette1 said...
I think your jacket has turned out beautifully, right down to the button. And congratulations on your first review! :o)
3/1/09 1:25 AM
Elona said...
Sometimes working on a frustrating pattern spoils the process and maybe the pattern for future use, but gosh, the jacket is striking now and looks terrific on you. I can see it in linen...
3/1/09 2:04 AM
fuzzygalore said...
It would look more 'constructed' if you'd used a fabric like the tweed or lightweight wool recommended. That is totally opposed to the nature of boiled wool though, so your jacket is slouchier. Fabric primes pattern, I think, in most cases. But your jacket still looks good, if different.
3/1/09 4:42 AM
carolynw said...
With all the alterations you made this is one great looking jacket - good for you sticking with it!!
3/1/09 9:49 AM
DivaQ said...
Cute jacket!
3/1/09 10:32 AM
nellc said...
Very nice jacket.
3/1/09 1:15 PM
Fairy_Tinkerbell said...
Great jacket - I love it!
3/1/09 3:47 PM
Em's Summer said...
Great looking jacket!
3/1/09 5:33 PM
JanJanB said...
fuzzygalore-I never thought of that. I've seen jackets made out of this in the stores, but come to think of it, they were a single layer, including the lapel.
3/1/09 7:29 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful jacket!! I love the button, it is perfect with the fabric.
3/1/09 8:44 PM
Secretsugar said...
Well, however much trouble and time this project took, you ended up with a really striking jacket. It looks very well constructed, and the button is a perfect choice for this asymmetrical cut. Nice job!
3/1/09 9:16 PM
lamstu said...
Your jacket looks smashing on you. I made this jacket years ago, before I knew about PR. I still wear it frequently, and I'm betting that you'll wear yours for years to come - a real classic.
3/2/09 3:40 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Jan, I too love your jacket and although the final result wasn't what you were expecting, I think it looks great on you and that you'll get lots of compliments. Very special button, too. Congrats on first review and I look forward to seeing many more of your creations. Lovely, Lily
3/2/09 2:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Simplicity 2825

photo
by: cybperry

Review
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now