Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1659 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 924 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/09 2:08 AM
Last Updated:3/4/09 2:11 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
Really great dress! Thanks for the photos of the pattern pieces, I love to see these. The neckline and high waist make this shirtdress special.
3/4/09 2:28 AM
babsi1111 said...
Wonderful dress! Your first Marfy pattern is a real winner. It is on my to-sew-list, too and I really like to see it made up.
3/4/09 3:59 AM
KateS said...
Lovely - beautiful finish and that style really suits you !!
3/4/09 5:33 AM
Lori V said...
Great dress and it looks fantastic on you.
3/4/09 7:09 AM
morzel said...
What a great dress! It looks absolutley beautiful on you.
3/4/09 7:32 AM
Re Becca said...
Stunning! Everything, the fit, the construction. I would love to see close up of the buckle and the topstitching.
3/4/09 7:41 AM
Michelle L said...
Your dress turned out wonderfully! So chic! And thank you for such a thorough review.
3/4/09 8:16 AM
Heatherrique said...
Mesmerizing dress on you, Cindy! Wonderful work on this!
3/4/09 8:20 AM
doctorsirena said...
Wow - beautiful dress with perfect fit! I love the style.
3/4/09 8:22 AM
Christas said...
Very nice dress! I have always been curious about Marfy patterns. Great review!
3/4/09 8:28 AM
SoMsGal said...
Very informative review. Love the dress and the fit is great. Looks like a nice spring/summer dress.
3/4/09 8:30 AM
Deb Fox said...
I am in awe of your finished garment! It reminds me of a dress I saw in the window of a Chanel boutique in West Palm Beach a few years ago. Just gorgeous. I have this pattern, and you have inspired me to get to work on it. The dress I saw in Chanel was in almost tissue weight black linen, and I think this pattern is the closest I've ever seen! Congratulations on a tremendous job.
3/4/09 8:38 AM
Amanda S. said...
Well, you're absolutely right, I LOVE LOVE LOVE it!!! This is one of their patterns that has called my name on several occasions. You did a beautiful job. I had thought the neckline might be too low but it looks perfect on you. So, since you aren't planning to make another one, what are you going to do with the pattern? :)
3/4/09 8:52 AM
marec said...
oohhh!! (speechless with shirtwaist envy!)
3/4/09 9:24 AM
Opals Passions said...
This is a great dress and especially since its denim... I such a fan of denim... I could where it all the time.... You did a lovely job.
3/4/09 9:56 AM
Stitch4aLiving said...
Fabulous! I have this pattern and I really want to make it up in seersucker
3/4/09 10:13 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Just gorgeous. It looks wonderful on you. Congratulations on your first Marfy... one of many I am sure.
3/4/09 10:26 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Cindy, I'm so impressed, not only with how wonderful the finished dress looks on you, but with your meticulous construction process (thank you for all those detail photos). You've done a particularly professional job on the collar/lapel, and it was fun to see the progression of your markings and bastings on your muslin. I think that you and Marfy are a perfect coupling, and you look absolutely gorgeous in your upscale jean shirtdress. Superb, Lily
3/4/09 10:50 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Gorgeous dress!! You look fabulous.
3/4/09 10:58 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Rebecca, actually in Picasa, if you click on the magnification button on the upper right, the photo gets large enough to see the ugly topstitching and buckle tab:)
3/4/09 11:01 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful result. It's a super dress and fits you perfect.
3/4/09 11:11 AM
Mahler said...
Wonderful ! I like your signature on the message... this is too funny. My DH does not understand why I keep loving so much an activity that sometimes stresses me ;-) or makes me cry to. Back to your dress, I am impressed, you did such great work with it. Thank you for all the pictures on Picasa, they are so use full. I never have put my feet in water as you said, and I intend to do it with a much easier pattern, a skirt... I feel like a kid beside the great work you did with this dress. As for the buckle, topstitches, etc., no one will look at you on the street with a magnifying glass ;-) It look perfect to me. Wonderful work really. Ok I should stop repeating my self. I am so intimated by Marfy. I am certain you will have fun wearing it.
3/4/09 11:25 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Cindy, very,very beautiful:-)
3/4/09 11:49 AM
pterion said...
Stunning! Beautiful work on this dress. The shirtdress style has always been a favorite of mine and this looks fabulous on you.
3/4/09 12:01 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful dress Cindy!!!! Yay for conquering a Marfy, you're so ambitious!
3/4/09 12:22 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is really a neat looking dress. Nice job.
3/4/09 12:42 PM
Twinset said...
Congrats on your first Marfy! This is a really pretty dress on a pretty girl, and the choice of fabric is excellent!
3/4/09 1:15 PM
nellc said...
Really lovely dress, the neckline is so pretty.
3/4/09 1:28 PM
sewbehind said...
This dress looks pretty on dvmcindy! I keep thinking that you must be the best looking vet around. Oh, about the dress...fantastic. You look great! Thanks for the review.
3/4/09 1:28 PM
michellep74 said...
Beautiful dress! You look like a fashion model in it!
3/4/09 1:46 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Deb Fox, This dress would be excellent in a black linen with thick white topstitching. I started with a lightweight black denim at first but didn't have enough fabric. Thanks for the support everyone.
3/4/09 1:56 PM
loohoo44 said...
Cindy this is so adorable!!! I LOVE it!! And what a great style for you, I hope I get to see it in person one of these days!
3/4/09 2:18 PM
mylittleelephant said...
The way you describe Marfy pattern makes me want to try it, great dress!
3/4/09 2:21 PM
Byrdie said...
Adorable dress! Love it!
3/4/09 2:25 PM
Kellie R. said...
I love this dress! It is a great style on you and very nicely made! Great job!
3/4/09 3:13 PM
jaeng said...
It's the dress that you want to wear it everday. I love your choice of fabric and topstitching. Really stand out.
3/4/09 4:47 PM
Gold said...
Cute denim dress!:)
3/4/09 5:08 PM
Fictionfan said...
Beautiful! Marfy is addictive for the exact reason you mentioned you like this: great fit and perfect drafting. If only they would have sale prices... Now you can upgrade yourself to advanced!
3/4/09 5:15 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! Your dress looks AMAZING!! Your topstitching looks EXCELLENT!!
3/4/09 5:37 PM
marjenann said...
That is the perfect dress for you! Beautiful!!
3/4/09 6:40 PM
Sew tell me said...
This dress is adorable and looks great on you. Good job.
3/4/09 6:54 PM
Annette1 said...
This is ADORABLE. You remind me of Penelope Cruz. :o) This is SUCH a cute pattern on you, just PERFECT. Your construction details are SUPERB. :o)
3/4/09 11:02 PM
lmg said...
CONGRATULATIONS on your first Marfy! What a great looking dress. And the fabric and top stitching is fabulous too.
3/4/09 11:22 PM
Erica B. said...
Cindy, that is gorgeous on you!
3/5/09 10:00 AM
Modiste Madness said...
What a cute dress. You did a great job on it.
3/5/09 10:24 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Cindy, you rock this dress!! Fits you like a glove, and the denim and topstitching look so good. Interesting collar, I really though that was a notched collar, but now I see looking closely at the "model" photo that they overlap. Why that's not scary at all, especially now that I've seen your construction photos. I think you just sold a few more of these patterns for Marfy.
3/5/09 10:32 AM
Secretsugar said...
What a knockout of a dress! Just perfect!
3/5/09 2:12 PM
rosannec said...
Cindy this dress is wonderful! It's probably my favorite out of the Marfy shirt dress catalog. It looks very wearable and current!
3/5/09 9:19 PM
kasizzle said...
Beautiful!
3/6/09 5:11 PM
RLL said...
How sassy. A real attention getter! You must be so proud and feel so good when wearing it.
3/6/09 10:42 PM
Spring said...
I've been wanting to try Marfy for a couple years now but the price and the lack of instructions have kept me away. This may be my first thanks to your review. Your dress looks great!
3/30/09 12:29 PM
Bonnie O said...
Fantastic dress! You look great in it.
5/3/09 10:49 AM
Elle D said...
Beautiful! Ditto what everyone above has already said, and Christina Sonja is right: this has moved off my "maybe" list to "next Marfy splurge" list. Great collar, and thanks for pointing out how it is put together.
5/9/09 10:34 PM
AngelaDawn said...
Very nice work! I'd love to make this pattern.
3/1/10 7:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Kwik Sew 3377
photo
Review by LaurieEm on 4/25/06
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2237
photo
Review by heemee on 5/24/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1693 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1693 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us