Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-119 (Puff Sleeve dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 713 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/09 3:54 PM
Last Updated:3/6/09 5:51 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindy-lou said...
Cindy, you look cute as ANYTHING in this dress! Definitely worth your effort! But based on your review, I'll skip this baby and move on. Great review-- thank you!
3/6/09 4:07 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE!! CUTE!! I LOVE your new dress!! You look STUNNING in it!!
3/6/09 4:23 PM
pterion said...
Your dress is unbelievably cute and your review made me laugh. I'm in the middle of making the puff sleeve top. I puzzled over that 2nd step forever before I finally realized they just meant you should understitch the seam. Yeesh! Thanks for the helpful translations! Not that you need it now, but check out the reviews for #118 (the top). Angie a. and cabinbaby have some really helpful tutorials for that tricky armpit seam.
3/6/09 4:43 PM
kasizzle said...
You made it work, however tough it was. It looks great on you!
3/6/09 4:49 PM
Christas said...
This looks great on you!
3/6/09 4:58 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Well, it looks like nobody could figure it right out.. But yours looks totally gorgeous. Simple, elegant, but different. Very cool.
3/6/09 5:04 PM
Byrdie said...
Despite your issues with the contruction, you ended up with a darling dress!
3/6/09 5:04 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Well, the sleeves sound like a PITA but the end result is worth it. Looks like a great dress for many situations.
3/6/09 5:05 PM
Re Becca said...
That does look so darling! It was so worth the effort.
3/6/09 5:25 PM
CynthiaSue said...
yes, i really wanted to comment on CabinBaby's tutorial. I think we did similar things with the same end result. I know that she attached the inner sleeve, both the top and bottom of it to the puff sleeve before attaching the lower fronts and backs which is different than the order of BWOF. So go with what works for you guys or do it your own way as i'm sure there is another!
3/6/09 5:47 PM
marec said...
OK, I'm going to pass on this pattern but really, really like the dress on you. It is gorgeous and you look terrific in it.
3/6/09 5:49 PM
Markie1 said...
Cindy- you look adorable in that dress! I love your review, you are so funny and it was so helpful. Thank you!
3/6/09 5:51 PM
Gold said...
You look very cute in your dress!Great job!!
3/6/09 5:56 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is really cute! Looks like it was worth the effort.
3/6/09 6:41 PM
Vintage Joan said...
SO cute! Thanks for the translations. Burda's "English" wording really, really sucks. Your clarifications are extremely helpful.
3/6/09 7:00 PM
Elke said...
This dress looks very cute on you...definitely worth the effort!
3/6/09 7:07 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your dress looks soo pretty! I especially love the sleeves! It was definitely worth the effort! Great job!
3/6/09 7:52 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress is absolutely charming, I'm sorry you don't like it. I hope you'll wear it as it looks fabulous on you. Amazing how some instructions are crystal clear and others like mud.
3/6/09 8:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
Cindy, this is really a fab looking dress with "global and overseas" appeal! I know a fellow PR mentioned you look like Nikki Taylor. You could also be a dead ringer for Cindy Crawford. Thanks for a very informative review!
3/6/09 8:41 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I like your dress! Glad to see you made it work even with poor instructions.
3/6/09 8:42 PM
Heidi Ho said...
That dress looks so cute on you. I got lost on the construction details but will pull them up again if I decide to make this one!
3/6/09 9:04 PM
Mahler said...
I am sorry you had trouble constructing it. I think we should all write a long letter to BWOF and explain to them that good translator are available on the planet. Their instructions are as bad in French. I wonder if they are good at least in German ? Anyway, you look great, on the other end, was does not look good on you ?
3/6/09 11:33 PM
cabinbaby said...
It looks fantastic on you even though you had trouble with the sleeves. I want to make another shirt with a stretch velour but haven't gotten up the nerve yet. :)
3/6/09 11:46 PM
morzel said...
Looks wonderful on you!!!
3/7/09 1:48 AM
SoMsGal said...
Very cute dress and the fit is fabulous.
3/7/09 6:26 AM
JEF said...
I have to add to the chorus - you look great in that dress!
3/7/09 7:30 AM
marjenann said...
Smart and sassy!! What a dress!!
3/7/09 9:30 AM
crisford said...
Looks so darn cute on you; lucky you have the figure to make those puffed sleeves look feminine.
3/7/09 11:09 AM
Diane E said...
Cindy, I really enjoyed reading your review. Thanks for all the helpful tips and thanks so much for the humor! I think your dress looks great and you look wonderful in it.
3/7/09 11:59 AM
LindsayT said...
I really love this dress on you.
3/7/09 12:01 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is gorgeous Cindy! It's really flattering on you. Looks great AND is comfortable - what winner all around!
3/7/09 5:01 PM
SueV said...
thanks for the tips on this.... I plan on tackling this this weekend
4/10/09 7:15 PM
chango said...
I was warming up to this pattern, but I guess I'll skip it! I was wondering if the english instructions were written better, but I guess not, the french one are really bad... Well it does look good on you, because of that I'm still tempted to try it, hoping it looks as good as yours...thanks for the review!
4/21/09 8:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 7610
photo
Review by velosewer on 4/11/09
Read Review

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1107
photo
Review by Sue Anfang on 2/19/11
Read Review

Burda 7378 Pattern
Burda 7378 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us