SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2931 

5 more reviews
Viewed 465 times 
Reviewed by:Secretsugar
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Secretsugarstar
NC
Member since: 1/16/09
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/09 9:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
What pretty fabric. This top will get lots of wear this summer.
3/4/09 10:16 PM
sewbehind said...
Your ready for summer. Cute style in a fun fabric.
3/4/09 10:22 PM
poplin said...
I have the same fabric! I [heart] Naomi Ito's Nani Iro collection... I bought several in different styles. I admit: for a lightweight fabric, it does not act very drapey. I have a feeling that the double gauze is intended for cooler weather. Naomi Ito even has a heavy double gauze which would be very suitable for winter. Pls keep us updated on how the back bodice behaves over time of wear and wash--I'm curious myself.
3/4/09 10:34 PM
KateS said...
Lovely- what a great top!
3/5/09 3:16 AM
j222b said...
I'm not sure what the comment about purchased bias tape finishing means. I love the look especially on the inside. One of the PR members Amanda S finishes many of her seams with bias tape and the insides of her garments look almost better than the outsides. She has a tutorial, too. NAYY. See it here:http://amandasadventuresinsewing.blogspot.com/search/label/tutorials
3/5/09 11:03 AM
amy in mpls said...
Again....so cute!
3/5/09 12:20 PM
persevering said...
Yes, cute!!
3/5/09 1:41 PM
Secretsugar said...
j222b, I wasn't intending to sound snarky about the bias tape thing. I think it's a remnant of my (limited) experience with quilt sewing where it's much nicer to make your own bias strips to bind quilts rather than purchasing pre-folded quilt-binding bias. I also think I need to seek out sources for 100% cotton bias tape in cases where I'm too lazy to make my own. It might be silly, but it bugs me to put cheap polyester tape on a nice cotton or linen or what-have-you garment. It's certainly true that in principle it makes for a nice finish though--especially if you're as careful as Amanda S is! No offense intended, and I should've been more clear about my own goofy sewing issues.
3/5/09 2:02 PM
nglalala said...
ooo... love the fabric! great top!
3/5/09 3:45 PM
birdmcfarland said...
I am working on this top right now, but I totally love yours!! That fabric is outstanding!
3/5/09 5:09 PM
j222b said...
Secretsugar I didn't think you sounded snarky (but maybe I did)-lol-I just wanted to point out that nice things can be done with rotten old bias tape!
3/5/09 10:11 PM
busymomof3 said...
Very cute!! I'm sold on it now that I see it on you!
4/14/09 7:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Macphee sewing workshop 67

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review
McCall's M4839

photo
by: sewinganda...

Review
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Buy Now