SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2931 

5 more reviews
Viewed 469 times 
Reviewed by:Secretsugar
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Secretsugarstar
NC
Member since: 1/16/09
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/09 9:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
busymomof3 said...
Very cute!! I'm sold on it now that I see it on you!
4/14/09 7:31 PM
j222b said...
Secretsugar I didn't think you sounded snarky (but maybe I did)-lol-I just wanted to point out that nice things can be done with rotten old bias tape!
3/5/09 10:11 PM
birdmcfarland said...
I am working on this top right now, but I totally love yours!! That fabric is outstanding!
3/5/09 5:09 PM
nglalala said...
ooo... love the fabric! great top!
3/5/09 3:45 PM
Secretsugar said...
j222b, I wasn't intending to sound snarky about the bias tape thing. I think it's a remnant of my (limited) experience with quilt sewing where it's much nicer to make your own bias strips to bind quilts rather than purchasing pre-folded quilt-binding bias. I also think I need to seek out sources for 100% cotton bias tape in cases where I'm too lazy to make my own. It might be silly, but it bugs me to put cheap polyester tape on a nice cotton or linen or what-have-you garment. It's certainly true that in principle it makes for a nice finish though--especially if you're as careful as Amanda S is! No offense intended, and I should've been more clear about my own goofy sewing issues.
3/5/09 2:02 PM
persevering said...
Yes, cute!!
3/5/09 1:41 PM
amy in mpls said...
Again....so cute!
3/5/09 12:20 PM
j222b said...
I'm not sure what the comment about purchased bias tape finishing means. I love the look especially on the inside. One of the PR members Amanda S finishes many of her seams with bias tape and the insides of her garments look almost better than the outsides. She has a tutorial, too. NAYY. See it here:http://amandasadventuresinsewing.blogspot.com/search/label/tutorials
3/5/09 11:03 AM
KateS said...
Lovely- what a great top!
3/5/09 3:16 AM
poplin said...
I have the same fabric! I [heart] Naomi Ito's Nani Iro collection... I bought several in different styles. I admit: for a lightweight fabric, it does not act very drapey. I have a feeling that the double gauze is intended for cooler weather. Naomi Ito even has a heavy double gauze which would be very suitable for winter. Pls keep us updated on how the back bodice behaves over time of wear and wash--I'm curious myself.
3/4/09 10:34 PM
sewbehind said...
Your ready for summer. Cute style in a fun fabric.
3/4/09 10:22 PM
katlew03 said...
What pretty fabric. This top will get lots of wear this summer.
3/4/09 10:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

New Look 6569

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Butterick 5792

photo
by: princessju...

Review

Pattern

Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now