SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2009-134 (girls pea coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 394 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/09 11:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meggie LuLu said...
AWW!! She looks SOOOO CUTE in her new jacket!! I LOVE the fabric you chose!! It looks like a RTW designer jacket!!!
3/7/09 11:49 AM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful jacket for a beautiful girl. You are a fabulous mom and a talented seamstress. Thanks for such a great review.
3/7/09 11:55 AM
Christas said...
Your daughter is one very stylish young lady! What an excellent review. I appreciated the wisdom in pacing yourself while sewing this project.... good for me to remember when sewing a time consuming project! The results are SUPERB! So...... when will your "Mommy Jacket" be done so that you can both wear the jackets in style together?!
3/7/09 11:57 AM
Catbird said...
That is adorable! And what a little cutie Heather is in her new outfit! It will look great in denim, too.
3/7/09 12:00 PM
pterion said...
Wow, what a gorgeous jacket! Heather is styling in her very fashionable plaid peacoat. Love that you broke down the construction process for us. Thank you!
3/7/09 12:04 PM
michellep74 said...
Beautiful coat, and Heather looks adorable in it!
3/7/09 12:18 PM
21wale said...
What a darling jacket. And your daughter is beautiful!
3/7/09 12:34 PM
Em's Summer said...
AWW! Your DD looks soo cute in her little suit! You did a great job!!!
3/7/09 1:01 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, your little Heather looks so stylish and hip in her glen plaid jacket, and looks delighted to being wearing it. Absolutely fabulous review; I felt like I was in your sewing room with you. Lovely, Lily
3/7/09 1:32 PM
Annette1 said...
Louella, I LOVE this little jacket! No wonder Heather doesn't want to take it off. :o) I would love one of these in my size too -- ha! Your welt pockets look SOOOO nice. I've had Kenneth King's new book on my wish list at Amazon for quite a while now. I NEED to get it. I just LOVE this little outfit, and you've sewn it so beautifully! :o))
3/7/09 2:07 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow -- so cool!! :)
3/7/09 2:14 PM
Markie1 said...
What a wonderful review! Your daughter is absolutely precious and the jacket and skirt are perfect. I wish I had been sewing things other than Halloween costumes when my kids were little. She looks so proud. You chronicled the process so beautifully, well done on those pockets!
3/7/09 2:15 PM
cmarie12 said...
This jacket is just tooooo cute on your daughter!
3/7/09 2:36 PM
tanroc75 said...
Cute jacket! You did an awesome job!
3/7/09 4:07 PM
CatMukai said...
Lucky girl!! She looks fab. Well done!
3/7/09 4:21 PM
Heidi Ho said...
That is a beautiful jacket for a beautiful and stylin' girl. I have been looking forward to your review of this jacket. How do you find the time to do so much sewing? Great review too, I loved all the links to RTW styles. I bet Heather will be sewing along with you in a couple more years.
3/7/09 4:31 PM
Kay Y said...
Extremely cute! She does look pleased as punch in it too.
3/7/09 4:42 PM
Kellie R. said...
Your daughter is beautiful - she looks just like you! What a fabulous jacket. It's so classic and perfect for a little girl. She looks so happy wearing it. Great job!
3/7/09 4:53 PM
MamaSewing said...
Wow, what an inspiration you are!! Thanks for the great review!
3/7/09 5:55 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great Job! Your dd is adorable! I love Burda Wof for their RTW style details for the children.
3/7/09 5:55 PM
HeyJane said...
Oh my gosh what a great suit. Heather looks wonderful as always. I want that Tahari dress in my size!
3/7/09 5:59 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous and totally gorgeous !!!! Louella, you have made a beautiful outfit and many happy memories :)
3/7/09 6:14 PM
digs57 said...
Adorable outfit, and what a little sweetheart! I love the photo with the red underpinnings peeking out.
3/7/09 8:28 PM
EveS said...
It's official. Heather's better dressed than me! Oh my gosh, Louella, that jacket is to die for, whether it's a 6x or 16! What a fabulous seamstress you are and a WAY cool mom!!! You rock! :)
3/7/09 10:38 PM
Ody said...
That jacket is yummy to the extreme!! My dd will want one!
3/7/09 11:10 PM
shesflipped said...
This jacket is superb! Your daughter is absolutely adorable! She is one stylin' little girl in this pea coat. I've added a few lines to the Go-Go's song. "Doesn't matter what they'll pay, (at Nordy's, etc.) I can make it anyway, hey hey hey~ Our seams are sealed." Do they give a 'Bested Dress' award in Kindergarten?
3/8/09 7:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Soooo cute! Great job.
3/8/09 10:26 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Fabulous jacket! Very fashionable. What a lucky little girl. :-)
3/8/09 11:32 AM
shaggy said...
Lovely jacket. You probably wish she wouldn't grow for a while. Very neat that she picked out the pattern herself.
3/8/09 11:57 AM
Secretsugar said...
Really lovely coat, and a lovely little girl wearing it! Coats still seem so intimidating to me, so I especially appreciate your strategy of setting a goal per day to get this done.
3/8/09 9:18 PM
Karen8320 said...
Fabulous work again, Louella! What a really stylish jacket for a young girl. Heather must be the best dressed girl by far in her Kindergarten class. She looks adorable in this jacket.
3/9/09 0:46 AM
SoVintage said...
Incredible! I have not mustered up the courage yet to try a BWOF pattern, as far as I've got is tracing a pattern. You are inspiring! Thank You
8/1/09 2:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-116

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-109

photo
by: Janiki

Review
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now