Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2009-4 (Square Tunic and Dress) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 428 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:lmg
photo
Friend of PR
About lmgstarstar
NA CANADA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/09 11:45 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
These are both darling on her!
3/8/09 11:51 PM
Christas said...
Wow! You are fast! This issue got to my mailbox last Thursday! I didn't like this garment in the magazine at all, but your review has caused me to look at it in an entirely different light. It really is CUTE! Both tops look so great on your daughter. My oldest son is also going to Europe for the month of May. He would probably be so happy if I would sew him a few things for his trip.
3/9/09 0:17 AM
Caitycat said...
Looks great, and thanks for those watchpoints - I can't wait to get a suitable knit and try this one!
3/9/09 0:36 AM
sewtime said...
Cute-cute both tops! Your daughter looks just darling in them!
3/9/09 1:05 AM
LoriU said...
Beautiful job sewing - your daughter looks great in both tops (oh to look that good in horizontal stripes! ;)
3/9/09 1:39 AM
morzel said...
What a great pattern for your daughter! I like the second one so well, I think it's nicer than the magazine picture. And there are no jeans allowed on this trip??!! Well, probably because we Europeans always dress in suit pants and stylish clothes... ;) How good of you to use an European pattern!
3/9/09 3:01 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
WOW....this looks fabulous! I didn't care for it in the magazine....but yours is so much better!
3/9/09 5:35 AM
daff said...
Great job, and it looks so cute on your daughter!
3/9/09 8:18 AM
JEF said...
This is really nice looking - congrats on some great tops.
3/9/09 9:24 AM
Karen6790 said...
I definitely like yours better than the magazine version - the drapiness of your fabric is a big improvement, too. Great result, I'm sure your daughter is thrilled. I know I would be. Thanks for the detailed review, I'm planning on doing the dress version in a solid color eventually.
3/9/09 9:29 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous tops and daughter! Great fabric choices. You make the construction sound simple with your explanation. Excellent review.
3/9/09 10:35 AM
Catbird said...
Wow -- what a great top! Your fabric choices are SO much better than the magazine, and why in the world did they pair it with that bulky skirt? Very bizarre. Your daughter looks fantastic and will go to Europe in high style!
3/9/09 11:06 AM
Izzie said...
You are so fast! The top is perfect and your DD looks beautiful in it. I hope she has a good time on her trip, she already looks like she belongs in Europe!
3/9/09 1:18 PM
LindsayT said...
Perfect for travel! This is very chic but youthful. Well done!
3/9/09 4:15 PM
Mahler said...
What a lucky DD. I want one !!!!!! This is a super top. I realy love it. You DD is so pretty.
3/9/09 10:33 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Both versions are fantastic! I love the square neckline a lot.
3/10/09 12:42 PM
Annette1 said...
I'm so glad to see this one made up. I LOVE that neckline, and now I know that it looks EVEN BETTER up close and personal! :o)
3/11/09 2:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Oliver + S Popover sundress
photo
Review by VivianZ on 8/27/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Darling Ranges Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Darling Ranges Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2948
photo
Review by SouthernSt... on 2/20/04
Read Review

McCalls 5499 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 5499 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6829 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6829 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us