SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Mrs. Stylebook Magazine> #149 pg. 61 (Cropped Jacket)

Viewed 278 times 
Reviewed by:Jali
photo

 
 
About Jalistar
SRI LANKA
Member since: 7/2/03
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/09 12:07 PM
Last Updated:3/21/09 10:50 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!! What a PRETTY jacket!! LOVE-LOVE-LOVE the fabric!! The jacket looks FANTASTIC!!
3/22/09 2:05 PM
Heatherrique said...
Hi Jali! This is such a very attractive and beautifully crafted jacket! The neckline flatters you very nicely and seems like a pattern you could use again and again, so versatile! Thanks for the details!
3/21/09 2:41 PM
VtMartha said...
Beautiful jacket and a great review. My goal is to be able to sew a project from Stylebook - someday.
3/21/09 2:10 PM
Rosebeee said...
What a gorgeous color for you jacket! It really makes the jacket pop, and the jacket fits you very nicely!
3/21/09 11:22 AM
Jali said...
Yes, ALY this is the jacket in the blue suit (jacket/skirt) on page 61. From the pattern picture it looks fair enough to be worn on its own but with how it turned out for me it is more of something you had wear over a dress, turtleneck top or a shell almost along the lines of a capelet. I am wearing pants sitting at waist in the picture and the jacket falls slightly over the waistband of the pants. The collar looks wider in the picture too with the decorative beads at the edges. Mine looks narrower perhaps because of the thickness of two layers of brocade and not the lightness of a linen for example. I did not alter the diagram dimensions but worked with my own sloper with just a little ease. I assumed the finished product looked like the pattern photo but I also think it is difficult to say with the sitting position and the model's hands covering part of the outfit.
3/16/09 1:43 AM
ALY said...
I always enjoy seeing patterns form LSB sewn up. YOur jacket is lovely and the fabric is gorgeous. Is this the jacket on Page 61? The neckline/collar on the jacket in the picture looks a lot smaller than yours. Your jacket looks more like what I would have expected from the drafting diagrams.
3/15/09 2:35 PM
fuzzygalore said...
You did a great job of this, and the results are fabulous. Thanks for the tip about the shoulder dart, since I have the same build :-)..
3/15/09 9:56 AM
Tany said...
Beautiful jacket and excellent review, thank you so much for all the details!
3/15/09 5:41 AM
poplin said...
Nice jacket! Thanks for the lovely details and pictures.
3/14/09 8:55 PM
Mahler said...
Wonderful Jacket. This is a perfect combination of fabric and pattern.
3/14/09 4:48 PM
Dee2 said...
Lovely jacket! You did a wonderful job & I hope you enjoy wearing it.
3/14/09 3:52 PM
Re Becca said...
I love the sleeves, and the double buttons are very stylish.
3/14/09 1:21 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty jacket.... love the fabric!
3/14/09 12:54 PM
sewcrazy53 said...
Nice jacket. Keep up the good work.
3/14/09 12:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

New Look 6030

photo
by: twilltape

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

More Info
McCall's 2401

photo
by: carolinasc...

Review

Pattern