SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Mrs. Stylebook Magazine> #149 pg. 61 (Cropped Jacket)

Viewed 278 times 
Reviewed by:Jali
photo

 
 
About Jalistar
SRI LANKA
Member since: 7/2/03
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/09 12:07 PM
Last Updated:3/21/09 10:50 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewcrazy53 said...
Nice jacket. Keep up the good work.
3/14/09 12:30 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty jacket.... love the fabric!
3/14/09 12:54 PM
Re Becca said...
I love the sleeves, and the double buttons are very stylish.
3/14/09 1:21 PM
Dee2 said...
Lovely jacket! You did a wonderful job & I hope you enjoy wearing it.
3/14/09 3:52 PM
Mahler said...
Wonderful Jacket. This is a perfect combination of fabric and pattern.
3/14/09 4:48 PM
poplin said...
Nice jacket! Thanks for the lovely details and pictures.
3/14/09 8:55 PM
Tany said...
Beautiful jacket and excellent review, thank you so much for all the details!
3/15/09 5:41 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You did a great job of this, and the results are fabulous. Thanks for the tip about the shoulder dart, since I have the same build :-)..
3/15/09 9:56 AM
ALY said...
I always enjoy seeing patterns form LSB sewn up. YOur jacket is lovely and the fabric is gorgeous. Is this the jacket on Page 61? The neckline/collar on the jacket in the picture looks a lot smaller than yours. Your jacket looks more like what I would have expected from the drafting diagrams.
3/15/09 2:35 PM
Jali said...
Yes, ALY this is the jacket in the blue suit (jacket/skirt) on page 61. From the pattern picture it looks fair enough to be worn on its own but with how it turned out for me it is more of something you had wear over a dress, turtleneck top or a shell almost along the lines of a capelet. I am wearing pants sitting at waist in the picture and the jacket falls slightly over the waistband of the pants. The collar looks wider in the picture too with the decorative beads at the edges. Mine looks narrower perhaps because of the thickness of two layers of brocade and not the lightness of a linen for example. I did not alter the diagram dimensions but worked with my own sloper with just a little ease. I assumed the finished product looked like the pattern photo but I also think it is difficult to say with the sitting position and the model's hands covering part of the outfit.
3/16/09 1:43 AM
Rosebeee said...
What a gorgeous color for you jacket! It really makes the jacket pop, and the jacket fits you very nicely!
3/21/09 11:22 AM
VtMartha said...
Beautiful jacket and a great review. My goal is to be able to sew a project from Stylebook - someday.
3/21/09 2:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Hi Jali! This is such a very attractive and beautifully crafted jacket! The neckline flatters you very nicely and seems like a pattern you could use again and again, so versatile! Thanks for the details!
3/21/09 2:41 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!! What a PRETTY jacket!! LOVE-LOVE-LOVE the fabric!! The jacket looks FANTASTIC!!
3/22/09 2:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1020

photo
by: Timmithea

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 78166-1003

photo
by: Kbenco

Review