Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1052 (MISSES' JACKET AND PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1046 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Wagtail
photo
About Wagtailstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/15/06
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/09 5:19 AM
Last Updated:3/15/09 10:35 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tany said...
I've made the pants last year and I plan on maing this jacket for spring. Yours turned out fantastic!
3/15/09 5:43 AM
inkstain said...
Very impressive. This looks like a true designer item and you look very sharp!
3/15/09 5:52 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful jacket. I made mine of handkerchief linen and just love it. I have changed the back belt by cutting it shorter and sewing two buttons on top. I like this better than the ties.
3/15/09 6:26 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
So very helpful a review, you are sending me to the pattern store... I have wondered about this blouse since it hit the books. Your jacket/blouse looks fabulous, take a bow, BRAVO!
3/15/09 7:37 AM
Michelle L said...
Fantastic job! It looks great worn both closed or open. I really love the look of this jacket.
3/15/09 8:09 AM
solosmocker said...
This turned out looking very expensive, very attractive, and very wearable without being "Issey" weird. You mastered it beautifully and tempt me to try it.
3/15/09 9:01 AM
Ach said...
WOW! That looks just like the jacket worn by Barbara Walters on The View! Beautiful
3/15/09 9:38 AM
okie2thdoc said...
You did a great job. It looks fantastic.
3/15/09 9:44 AM
Byrdie said...
That is a great looking jacket! Very unique.
3/15/09 10:03 AM
amy in mpls said...
SUPER chic! Wow, great job, this looks fantastic on you, like it was made for you–( well i guess it was! :) great job!
3/15/09 10:38 AM
Mahler said...
Your version of that jacket is wonderful. I have the pattern as well. Your review is very inspiring. You look gorgeous in that jacket. You did an excellent work placing the buttons and button holes.
3/15/09 11:01 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Beautifully done, thanks for sharing the pics!
3/15/09 11:31 AM
Beek said...
Very avant garde! Your jacket is stunning and you've done a magnificient job sewing it up.
3/15/09 2:25 PM
Nancy K said...
Love it! Unusual, yet timeless. great jacket.
3/15/09 3:40 PM
layla said...
This is so cute on you .. love your fabric choice ... a great understated choice for this beautiful dramatic style ... nice !!
3/15/09 3:43 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This jacket is fabulous and looks great on you! I have this pattern and will one day work up the courage to try it. You give me inspiration! Can you tell me how you finished the edges on the collar? Is it serged with a rolled hem?
3/15/09 4:02 PM
Ann Smith said...
I love it buttoned up on you. It really looks wonderful. I chickened out on mine and left off the pockets.
3/15/09 4:47 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's fabulous. Well done. It works well with jeans, too.
3/15/09 5:00 PM
lmg said...
Wow. A great looking designer jacket. You've given me even more encouragement to tackle this jacket.
3/15/09 6:17 PM
Wagtail said...
In answer to imsewcrazy, I have added a paragraph to my review re. the collar. As this is my first ever posting, it took quite some time to do and somehow I didn't have the paragraph in the brackets. Hope this answers your question. Thanks for all your lovely comments
3/15/09 10:40 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Looks fabulous from the front, back, opened, or closed. Excellent job on this. Gorgeous fabric color and finish, too (looks like a slight sheen, maybe?).
3/15/09 11:24 PM
Karen8320 said...
An absolutely fabulous piece of work! I love it on you. The colour is great and will be very versatile. It definitely looks like a designer piece and I love your observation about this particular style - normal but different. Very! Great work!
3/16/09 0:21 AM
Phasionz by M said...
Too cute! I have this pattern and after seeing yours...I HAVE to make it! Thanks for sharing! Great job!
3/16/09 0:32 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Just echoing others: this top looks fantastic on you. Would be interested in knowing what type of fabric you used: it seems to be a perfect weight. Thanks for tips on sewing, especially the serger info.
3/16/09 8:55 AM
DorothyK said...
This is fantastic. I'm glad to see your review because it inspires me to make the pattern, which I already own.
3/16/09 10:30 AM
janet said...
What a lovely jacket. You look fabulous in it. Love the rolled hem finish on the collar.
3/16/09 11:43 AM
cgHipp said...
This looks wonderful! I bought this pattern for the pants, hoping to make the jacket when I'm more skilled. Great work!
3/16/09 6:57 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Thank you Wagtail Again, GREAT job!
3/16/09 10:43 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is gorgeous couture. so really beautiful.
3/17/09 1:12 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I have been thinking about whether I should get this pattern or not, and after seeing yours, I have decided to get it! Great to see it goes with denim very well and I may even want to crop my hair just because you and your hair style look great in it.
3/19/09 8:38 AM
Lalena said...
Wagtail, I echo all the other comments about how beautiful your jacket is! Can you make some comments on what kinds of fabrics you would and would not recommend for this jacket? Your fabric appears to have body, and thus the collar hangs in a crisp way. Do you think a softer fabric would work, or would it be too droopy for the collar?
3/19/09 9:35 AM
Wagtail said...
Lalena, Thank you and everyone, for your lovely comments. Re. the fabric, it's hard to describe. Its a cotton/synthetic, with a built in very tiny weave which form squares, and every alternate square is shiny. The cotton content would give it its slight crispness, which I think is necessary if you want the collar to sit like the picture on the photo. A softer fabric would be more drapey, and the bit around the neck would lie flatter. After wearing the jacket, I now realise I should have corded the buttonholes, as there is no interfacing, due to the two layers which are not joined.
4/12/09 3:17 AM
papago said...
Wagtail, this is just lovely on you! You did a fantastic job. Like many others have said, I, too, have this pattern. You are an inspiration. Thank you, Laura
4/12/09 4:26 PM
bettysparkles said...
I've been looking forward to seeing a review on this one as I have been tempted to buy it numerous times. Your treatment of the lapels is a clever idea.
6/11/09 7:24 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
very beautiful jacket
10/4/09 10:09 AM
knitknitknit said...
Absolutely stunning!!!!
8/17/10 7:46 PM
Gendun said...
NIIIIICE! Seriously, it's perfect! Congratulations on a beautiful garment!
3/13/13 10:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2264
photo
Review by Crys0904 on 4/11/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3389 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3389 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1376 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1376 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5979
photo
Review by maedchen on 12/31/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us