SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1052 (MISSES' JACKET AND PANTS)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1048 times 
Reviewed by:Wagtail
photo

 
 
About Wagtailstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/15/06
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/09 5:19 AM
Last Updated:3/15/09 10:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said...
NIIIIICE! Seriously, it's perfect! Congratulations on a beautiful garment!
3/13/13 10:14 PM
knitknitknit said...
Absolutely stunning!!!!
8/17/10 7:46 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
very beautiful jacket
10/4/09 10:09 AM
bettysparkles said...
I've been looking forward to seeing a review on this one as I have been tempted to buy it numerous times. Your treatment of the lapels is a clever idea.
6/11/09 7:24 PM
papago said...
Wagtail, this is just lovely on you! You did a fantastic job. Like many others have said, I, too, have this pattern. You are an inspiration. Thank you, Laura
4/12/09 4:26 PM
Wagtail said...
Lalena, Thank you and everyone, for your lovely comments. Re. the fabric, it's hard to describe. Its a cotton/synthetic, with a built in very tiny weave which form squares, and every alternate square is shiny. The cotton content would give it its slight crispness, which I think is necessary if you want the collar to sit like the picture on the photo. A softer fabric would be more drapey, and the bit around the neck would lie flatter. After wearing the jacket, I now realise I should have corded the buttonholes, as there is no interfacing, due to the two layers which are not joined.
4/12/09 3:17 AM
Lalena said...
Wagtail, I echo all the other comments about how beautiful your jacket is! Can you make some comments on what kinds of fabrics you would and would not recommend for this jacket? Your fabric appears to have body, and thus the collar hangs in a crisp way. Do you think a softer fabric would work, or would it be too droopy for the collar?
3/19/09 9:35 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I have been thinking about whether I should get this pattern or not, and after seeing yours, I have decided to get it! Great to see it goes with denim very well and I may even want to crop my hair just because you and your hair style look great in it.
3/19/09 8:38 AM
CynthiaSue said...
this is gorgeous couture. so really beautiful.
3/17/09 1:12 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Thank you Wagtail Again, GREAT job!
3/16/09 10:43 PM
cgHipp said...
This looks wonderful! I bought this pattern for the pants, hoping to make the jacket when I'm more skilled. Great work!
3/16/09 6:57 PM
janet said...
What a lovely jacket. You look fabulous in it. Love the rolled hem finish on the collar.
3/16/09 11:43 AM
DorothyK said...
This is fantastic. I'm glad to see your review because it inspires me to make the pattern, which I already own.
3/16/09 10:30 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Just echoing others: this top looks fantastic on you. Would be interested in knowing what type of fabric you used: it seems to be a perfect weight. Thanks for tips on sewing, especially the serger info.
3/16/09 8:55 AM
Phasionz by M said...
Too cute! I have this pattern and after seeing yours...I HAVE to make it! Thanks for sharing! Great job!
3/16/09 0:32 AM
Karen8320 said...
An absolutely fabulous piece of work! I love it on you. The colour is great and will be very versatile. It definitely looks like a designer piece and I love your observation about this particular style - normal but different. Very! Great work!
3/16/09 0:21 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Looks fabulous from the front, back, opened, or closed. Excellent job on this. Gorgeous fabric color and finish, too (looks like a slight sheen, maybe?).
3/15/09 11:24 PM
Wagtail said...
In answer to imsewcrazy, I have added a paragraph to my review re. the collar. As this is my first ever posting, it took quite some time to do and somehow I didn't have the paragraph in the brackets. Hope this answers your question. Thanks for all your lovely comments
3/15/09 10:40 PM
lmg said...
Wow. A great looking designer jacket. You've given me even more encouragement to tackle this jacket.
3/15/09 6:17 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's fabulous. Well done. It works well with jeans, too.
3/15/09 5:00 PM
Ann Smith said...
I love it buttoned up on you. It really looks wonderful. I chickened out on mine and left off the pockets.
3/15/09 4:47 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This jacket is fabulous and looks great on you! I have this pattern and will one day work up the courage to try it. You give me inspiration! Can you tell me how you finished the edges on the collar? Is it serged with a rolled hem?
3/15/09 4:02 PM
layla said...
This is so cute on you .. love your fabric choice ... a great understated choice for this beautiful dramatic style ... nice !!
3/15/09 3:43 PM
Nancy K said...
Love it! Unusual, yet timeless. great jacket.
3/15/09 3:40 PM
Beek said...
Very avant garde! Your jacket is stunning and you've done a magnificient job sewing it up.
3/15/09 2:25 PM
Sue Anfang said...
Beautifully done, thanks for sharing the pics!
3/15/09 11:31 AM
Mahler said...
Your version of that jacket is wonderful. I have the pattern as well. Your review is very inspiring. You look gorgeous in that jacket. You did an excellent work placing the buttons and button holes.
3/15/09 11:01 AM
amy in mpls said...
SUPER chic! Wow, great job, this looks fantastic on you, like it was made for you–( well i guess it was! :) great job!
3/15/09 10:38 AM
Byrdie said...
That is a great looking jacket! Very unique.
3/15/09 10:03 AM
okie2thdoc said...
You did a great job. It looks fantastic.
3/15/09 9:44 AM
Ach said...
WOW! That looks just like the jacket worn by Barbara Walters on The View! Beautiful
3/15/09 9:38 AM
solosmocker said...
This turned out looking very expensive, very attractive, and very wearable without being "Issey" weird. You mastered it beautifully and tempt me to try it.
3/15/09 9:01 AM
Michelle L said...
Fantastic job! It looks great worn both closed or open. I really love the look of this jacket.
3/15/09 8:09 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
So very helpful a review, you are sending me to the pattern store... I have wondered about this blouse since it hit the books. Your jacket/blouse looks fabulous, take a bow, BRAVO!
3/15/09 7:37 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful jacket. I made mine of handkerchief linen and just love it. I have changed the back belt by cutting it shorter and sewing two buttons on top. I like this better than the ties.
3/15/09 6:26 AM
inkstain said...
Very impressive. This looks like a true designer item and you look very sharp!
3/15/09 5:52 AM
Tany said...
I've made the pants last year and I plan on maing this jacket for spring. Yours turned out fantastic!
3/15/09 5:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Butterick 5744

photo
by: LTC

Review
No Pattern Used Pillowcases

photo
by: Lynnelle

Review
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

More Info