Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5184 (Prom Gown) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 707 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:CA Eisenhour
photo
About CA Eisenhourstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/22/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/09 1:17 AM
Last Updated:6/8/09 2:12 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewcrazy53 said...
Making prom dresses has its problems. I have made one for each of my two DDs. Good luck!!
3/15/09 9:03 PM
Deepika said...
Its going to be gorgeous. Thanks for posting the pattern instruction revisions.
3/16/09 9:12 AM
callmeRuth said...
Connie, the dress is stunningly beautiful! Sera looks gorgeous!
6/8/09 1:35 AM
Ann Smith said...
Fantastic! Sara shines! I love the blue on her and the draped skirt is delightful. Congratulations on a job well done.
6/8/09 1:56 AM
Yvonski said...
Wow, you said you were not good at writing reviews but that was compelling reading. Loved all the photos, loved the stretch limo, would love to know what was behind, the photo 'where were we meant to be'. Congratulations, you did your daughter proud. Well done.
6/8/09 4:50 AM
KathySews said...
This dress is beautiful. You were very brave to take on an emotional dress. It looks very expensive. You do realize you did such a great job you will not doubt be on the hook for wedding dresses.
6/8/09 9:11 AM
carolynw said...
Absolutely lovely - wonderful work - Saea is stunning
6/8/09 9:32 AM
annie11 said...
Beautiful! You did such a great job, and she looks gorgeous in it! Thanks for the tip about the revised instructions. I have bought this pattern for the possibility of making a wedding dress from it someday, so knowing that ahead of time is a real plus.
6/8/09 10:21 AM
rozzybabe said...
The dress looks really great! The fit is excellent, & I LOVE the rich blue colour. It's good that you took the time to contact the company regarding the error in the instructions, & also great that they replied promptly. I'll be stashing this pattern, so many thanks for the valuable info! Keep up the great sewing!!
6/8/09 2:24 PM
maryfrana said...
This is just stunning -- the color, the draping. Such a work of art.
6/8/09 3:00 PM
kim*brown said...
Very pretty!
6/8/09 3:33 PM
SheriF said...
Gorgeous!
6/8/09 4:37 PM
RLL said...
Beautiful dress, beautiful girl! Nice job.
6/8/09 4:55 PM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous!!!!!!!!
6/9/09 8:05 PM
saramiriam said...
ConnieAnne, how difficult was the drapery effect? I want to put it on a mid-calf jumper for my daughter for a wedding. Does it need to be full length?
8/10/09 1:55 PM
MFontaine said...
thank you SO MUCH for the revision on the pattern. i was just starting when i realized the same mistake on my instruction and felt very frustrated. Im making the dress for my own prom and am really hoping i can figure this out. but thsi helped lots. thanks. =) as a question for you, did you try the dress without the optional sleeves? was it able to stay up without being to heavy? and im going to try to put a corset back on it.. as a not advanced sewer do you think it will be possible for me to do that? thank you! -Mel
3/5/10 12:51 PM
MFontaine said...
thank you SO MUCH for the revision on the pattern. i was just starting when i realized the same mistake on my instruction and felt very frustrated. Im making the dress for my own prom and am really hoping i can figure this out. but thsi helped lots. thanks. =) as a question for you, did you try the dress without the optional sleeves? was it able to stay up without being to heavy? and im going to try to put a corset back on it.. as a not advanced sewer do you think it will be possible for me to do that? thank you! -Mel
3/5/10 3:27 PM
SewLynn said...
LOVE the finished dress, gorgeous color. Beautiful workmanship.
2/20/13 11:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 1788
photo
Review by Andreahg on 6/21/10
Read Review

McCalls 6530 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6530 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1296 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1296 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Ruffled Halter Ruffled Halter
photo
Review by hestiah on 6/2/11
Read Review

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Mae Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Details
Price: $89.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us