SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5184 (Prom Gown)

1 more reviews
Viewed 718 times 
Reviewed by:CA Eisenhour
photo

 
 
About CA Eisenhourstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/22/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/09 1:17 AM
Last Updated:6/8/09 2:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewcrazy53 said...
Making prom dresses has its problems. I have made one for each of my two DDs. Good luck!!
3/15/09 9:03 PM
Deepika said...
Its going to be gorgeous. Thanks for posting the pattern instruction revisions.
3/16/09 9:12 AM
callmeRuth said...
Connie, the dress is stunningly beautiful! Sera looks gorgeous!
6/8/09 1:35 AM
Ann Smith said...
Fantastic! Sara shines! I love the blue on her and the draped skirt is delightful. Congratulations on a job well done.
6/8/09 1:56 AM
Yvonski said...
Wow, you said you were not good at writing reviews but that was compelling reading. Loved all the photos, loved the stretch limo, would love to know what was behind, the photo 'where were we meant to be'. Congratulations, you did your daughter proud. Well done.
6/8/09 4:50 AM
KathySews said...
This dress is beautiful. You were very brave to take on an emotional dress. It looks very expensive. You do realize you did such a great job you will not doubt be on the hook for wedding dresses.
6/8/09 9:11 AM
carolynw said...
Absolutely lovely - wonderful work - Saea is stunning
6/8/09 9:32 AM
annie11 said...
Beautiful! You did such a great job, and she looks gorgeous in it! Thanks for the tip about the revised instructions. I have bought this pattern for the possibility of making a wedding dress from it someday, so knowing that ahead of time is a real plus.
6/8/09 10:21 AM
rozzybabe said...
The dress looks really great! The fit is excellent, & I LOVE the rich blue colour. It's good that you took the time to contact the company regarding the error in the instructions, & also great that they replied promptly. I'll be stashing this pattern, so many thanks for the valuable info! Keep up the great sewing!!
6/8/09 2:24 PM
maryfrana said...
This is just stunning -- the color, the draping. Such a work of art.
6/8/09 3:00 PM
kim*brown said...
Very pretty!
6/8/09 3:33 PM
SheriF said...
Gorgeous!
6/8/09 4:37 PM
RLL said...
Beautiful dress, beautiful girl! Nice job.
6/8/09 4:55 PM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous!!!!!!!!
6/9/09 8:05 PM
saramiriam said...
ConnieAnne, how difficult was the drapery effect? I want to put it on a mid-calf jumper for my daughter for a wedding. Does it need to be full length?
8/10/09 1:55 PM
MFontaine said...
thank you SO MUCH for the revision on the pattern. i was just starting when i realized the same mistake on my instruction and felt very frustrated. Im making the dress for my own prom and am really hoping i can figure this out. but thsi helped lots. thanks. =) as a question for you, did you try the dress without the optional sleeves? was it able to stay up without being to heavy? and im going to try to put a corset back on it.. as a not advanced sewer do you think it will be possible for me to do that? thank you! -Mel
3/5/10 12:51 PM
MFontaine said...
thank you SO MUCH for the revision on the pattern. i was just starting when i realized the same mistake on my instruction and felt very frustrated. Im making the dress for my own prom and am really hoping i can figure this out. but thsi helped lots. thanks. =) as a question for you, did you try the dress without the optional sleeves? was it able to stay up without being to heavy? and im going to try to put a corset back on it.. as a not advanced sewer do you think it will be possible for me to do that? thank you! -Mel
3/5/10 3:27 PM
SewLynn said...
LOVE the finished dress, gorgeous color. Beautiful workmanship.
2/20/13 11:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Vogue Patterns 8705

photo
by: Willowwear...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8742

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review