Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2009-127 (Exclusive Design Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 499 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/09 9:53 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JoanneM said...
I looks great!
3/18/09 9:57 PM
sewbehind said...
Purple looks great on you! Love your jacket.
3/18/09 10:00 PM
Reeseballs said...
It looks awesome! I also like to rock out to make cutting out more fun... that being said you are SO RIGHT that rocking out can cause errors! :)
3/18/09 10:52 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'm glad you persevered, because the jacket really DOES look wonderful now that it's all done. Thanks for another GREAT review! I hope you get lots of wear out of this jacket, because you look MAAAAAAAAAAAVELOUS in PURPLE!
3/18/09 11:03 PM
SusiM said...
I understand your frustrations with BWOF directions..but what sweet success you have with your lovely jacket!
3/18/09 11:26 PM
Re Becca said...
I love this! I hope that you wear it enough (out of all those FAB clothes) to make it worth the work. I have ended up with the SA of the lining staring at me more than once.
3/18/09 11:34 PM
Ody said...
Well, not only did I rate this review "Very Helpful", but I could not find the "Most Entertaining" button!!! Girlfriend, you have made more awesome jackets for both you and your daughter than anyone I know, and this coat is no exception! Wow, this goes to the top of the extreme yummy list, an expletive I only share with the cream of the crop! Great review to read and rock to!
3/18/09 11:58 PM
Birgitte said...
You look SMASHING! That color is soooo you! I've given up on their directions long ago and just use books and common sense- which I know you have a lot of :) You've made so many fabulous creations so trust your instinct, a lot less frustration that way.
3/19/09 0:16 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Your jacket is stunning!!! That color is BEAUTIFUL on you!!! (Purple is my favorite color). I think the black buttons look sharp (how about a black buckle??) I'm glad you stuck with it even if your seam ripper was starting to ask for O.T. pay! All your hard work paid off with excellent results. By the way I always love reading your reviews. They are very entertaining as well as informative.
3/19/09 0:23 AM
michellep74 said...
Cute jacket and well worth your struggles. Purple is a great color on you!
3/19/09 0:51 AM
CatMukai said...
"It can be sparse and cryptic and it can be verbose and still be cryptic." Love it! The shoulders look great, not too narrow, and the color is fantastic! I <3 it!
3/19/09 0:58 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Thanks fo rthe great review, you'd never know you had any problems looking at the finished jacket, it looks great. I agree that sometimes the longer BWOF instructions are the worse they can be.
3/19/09 1:44 AM
CynthiaSue said...
what an outstanding color on you Heather. Jacket style is super flattering on you. I love the belt holder.
3/19/09 2:12 AM
valerie sews said...
I love love love this pattern and your version of it. I am waiting for this issue of Burda WOf to reach my corner of the globe by snail mail. And Rick Springfield is 59? I remember having a pin up of him when I was at school!!!!!
3/19/09 2:21 AM
petro said...
Perserverence paid, it looks very pretty on you.
3/19/09 4:12 AM
ITAdmin said...
It's good that you hung in because I think the finished jacket looks great. Pretty color, too.
3/19/09 5:31 AM
Jali said...
The jacket looks very smart, regal yet fun on you in that lovely purple. Whatever difficulties you had making it, you can be truly proud of your beautiful new jacket.
3/19/09 6:56 AM
kim*brown said...
Muy Bonita! I love this, I love purple too, and this looks great on you!
3/19/09 7:41 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous! It was worth the effort!
3/19/09 7:43 AM
annie11 said...
Wow! I love the jacket, the color, everything about it. Enjoy your month off from work!
3/19/09 8:32 AM
Christas said...
Ahhh! This is so perfect for you! Love it!
3/19/09 8:48 AM
Amanda S. said...
GREAT jacket!!! I love the color and the fit looks wonderful.
3/19/09 9:11 AM
Kellie R. said...
GORGEOUS! I love purple and wish I look as good wearing it as you do! This jacket has so many wonderful details - you did a great job - looks great!
3/19/09 9:12 AM
HeyJane said...
Perfect jacket, I really love it !
3/19/09 9:15 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Despite your setbacks, your jacket turned out great, and you look fantastic wearing it. I love the rich purple, too. Excellent review!
3/19/09 9:24 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Love it! I enjoyed your review...thanks for the heads up about the collar!
3/19/09 9:28 AM
pterion said...
Very cute jacket in a yummy grapey color! I especially love the buttoned belt carriers. Very classy! Don't beat yourself up about sewing when you're tired...we have busy lives and if we didn't push the envelope sometimes, nothing would ever get done.
3/19/09 9:50 AM
nicegirl said...
That sounds like an ordeal! I love the way it turned out. I hadn't been drawn to this at all in the magazine but you were right, it has lovely design details.
3/19/09 10:12 AM
2BSewing said...
Wow! That purple color looks gorgeous on you. You ended up with wonderful results. Enjoyed your review.
3/19/09 11:45 AM
Catbird said...
This looks so perfect on you! I agree with all the comments that came before mine and am inspired by your determination to hang in there when the going got tough and finish this wonderful jacket!
3/19/09 2:21 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Gosh, this is gnarly. Purple was "in" in the 80's and is "in" again. It's a great colour and looks totally awesome on you. Thanks for the hints, which will be useful if I feel like I need a heavy-duty tracing workout and mindbender sewing experience sometime soon.
3/19/09 2:45 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Wow, what a journey! I know what I would have done if I'd discovered that I'd installed my lining inside out. Let's just say, I wouldn't be posing for a picture. Congratulations for completing another lovely, great fitting jacket.
3/19/09 3:00 PM
marjenann said...
You are such an inspiration for me. Thank you for always sharing your magnicifent work and your methods of construction. You are a wonderful inspiration!!! This jacket is stunning like you!!! Annette
3/19/09 3:42 PM
Karen8320 said...
Louella, I love how you allow us to share your sewing journeys with you - especially the ups and downs of BWOF sewing. More than most, you always dive in headlong and tackle projects with gusto. I love your problem solving ability and admire your determination to overcome and outwit the BWOF instruction-writers. This is most definitely a gorgeous jacket! What a spectacular color that suits you so well! It's stylish and fashionable and you look great in it!
3/20/09 0:43 AM
Michelle L said...
Gorgeous! I always love reading your reviews, not only are they incredibly helpful, but they always make me laugh.
3/20/09 9:14 AM
jlg said...
This is a great jacket. You did a fabulous job. The color and fit are so becoming to you.
3/21/09 9:08 PM
Nancy K said...
Really nice design details on this lovely jacket.
3/22/09 10:39 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for the sweet comments!!!!!!!!!!
3/25/09 12:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Amy Butler AB024MB
photo
Review by EeLo on 3/27/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3160 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3160 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2613 Pattern( Size ONESIZE )
Simplicity 2613 Pattern( Size ONESIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8659
photo
Review by rivergum on 10/28/12
Read Review

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us