SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2009-127 (Exclusive Design Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 499 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/09 9:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for the sweet comments!!!!!!!!!!
3/25/09 12:04 PM
Nancy K said...
Really nice design details on this lovely jacket.
3/22/09 10:39 AM
jlg said...
This is a great jacket. You did a fabulous job. The color and fit are so becoming to you.
3/21/09 9:08 PM
Michelle L said...
Gorgeous! I always love reading your reviews, not only are they incredibly helpful, but they always make me laugh.
3/20/09 9:14 AM
Karen8320 said...
Louella, I love how you allow us to share your sewing journeys with you - especially the ups and downs of BWOF sewing. More than most, you always dive in headlong and tackle projects with gusto. I love your problem solving ability and admire your determination to overcome and outwit the BWOF instruction-writers. This is most definitely a gorgeous jacket! What a spectacular color that suits you so well! It's stylish and fashionable and you look great in it!
3/20/09 0:43 AM
marjenann said...
You are such an inspiration for me. Thank you for always sharing your magnicifent work and your methods of construction. You are a wonderful inspiration!!! This jacket is stunning like you!!! Annette
3/19/09 3:42 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Wow, what a journey! I know what I would have done if I'd discovered that I'd installed my lining inside out. Let's just say, I wouldn't be posing for a picture. Congratulations for completing another lovely, great fitting jacket.
3/19/09 3:00 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Gosh, this is gnarly. Purple was "in" in the 80's and is "in" again. It's a great colour and looks totally awesome on you. Thanks for the hints, which will be useful if I feel like I need a heavy-duty tracing workout and mindbender sewing experience sometime soon.
3/19/09 2:45 PM
Catbird said...
This looks so perfect on you! I agree with all the comments that came before mine and am inspired by your determination to hang in there when the going got tough and finish this wonderful jacket!
3/19/09 2:21 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! That purple color looks gorgeous on you. You ended up with wonderful results. Enjoyed your review.
3/19/09 11:45 AM
nicegirl said...
That sounds like an ordeal! I love the way it turned out. I hadn't been drawn to this at all in the magazine but you were right, it has lovely design details.
3/19/09 10:12 AM
pterion said...
Very cute jacket in a yummy grapey color! I especially love the buttoned belt carriers. Very classy! Don't beat yourself up about sewing when you're tired...we have busy lives and if we didn't push the envelope sometimes, nothing would ever get done.
3/19/09 9:50 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Love it! I enjoyed your review...thanks for the heads up about the collar!
3/19/09 9:28 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Despite your setbacks, your jacket turned out great, and you look fantastic wearing it. I love the rich purple, too. Excellent review!
3/19/09 9:24 AM
HeyJane said...
Perfect jacket, I really love it !
3/19/09 9:15 AM
Kellie R. said...
GORGEOUS! I love purple and wish I look as good wearing it as you do! This jacket has so many wonderful details - you did a great job - looks great!
3/19/09 9:12 AM
Amanda S. said...
GREAT jacket!!! I love the color and the fit looks wonderful.
3/19/09 9:11 AM
Christas said...
Ahhh! This is so perfect for you! Love it!
3/19/09 8:48 AM
annie11 said...
Wow! I love the jacket, the color, everything about it. Enjoy your month off from work!
3/19/09 8:32 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous! It was worth the effort!
3/19/09 7:43 AM
kim*brown said...
Muy Bonita! I love this, I love purple too, and this looks great on you!
3/19/09 7:41 AM
Jali said...
The jacket looks very smart, regal yet fun on you in that lovely purple. Whatever difficulties you had making it, you can be truly proud of your beautiful new jacket.
3/19/09 6:56 AM
ITAdmin said...
It's good that you hung in because I think the finished jacket looks great. Pretty color, too.
3/19/09 5:31 AM
petro said...
Perserverence paid, it looks very pretty on you.
3/19/09 4:12 AM
valerie sews said...
I love love love this pattern and your version of it. I am waiting for this issue of Burda WOf to reach my corner of the globe by snail mail. And Rick Springfield is 59? I remember having a pin up of him when I was at school!!!!!
3/19/09 2:21 AM
CynthiaSue said...
what an outstanding color on you Heather. Jacket style is super flattering on you. I love the belt holder.
3/19/09 2:12 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Thanks fo rthe great review, you'd never know you had any problems looking at the finished jacket, it looks great. I agree that sometimes the longer BWOF instructions are the worse they can be.
3/19/09 1:44 AM
CatMukai said...
"It can be sparse and cryptic and it can be verbose and still be cryptic." Love it! The shoulders look great, not too narrow, and the color is fantastic! I <3 it!
3/19/09 0:58 AM
michellep74 said...
Cute jacket and well worth your struggles. Purple is a great color on you!
3/19/09 0:51 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Your jacket is stunning!!! That color is BEAUTIFUL on you!!! (Purple is my favorite color). I think the black buttons look sharp (how about a black buckle??) I'm glad you stuck with it even if your seam ripper was starting to ask for O.T. pay! All your hard work paid off with excellent results. By the way I always love reading your reviews. They are very entertaining as well as informative.
3/19/09 0:23 AM
Birgitte said...
You look SMASHING! That color is soooo you! I've given up on their directions long ago and just use books and common sense- which I know you have a lot of :) You've made so many fabulous creations so trust your instinct, a lot less frustration that way.
3/19/09 0:16 AM
Ody said...
Well, not only did I rate this review "Very Helpful", but I could not find the "Most Entertaining" button!!! Girlfriend, you have made more awesome jackets for both you and your daughter than anyone I know, and this coat is no exception! Wow, this goes to the top of the extreme yummy list, an expletive I only share with the cream of the crop! Great review to read and rock to!
3/18/09 11:58 PM
Re Becca said...
I love this! I hope that you wear it enough (out of all those FAB clothes) to make it worth the work. I have ended up with the SA of the lining staring at me more than once.
3/18/09 11:34 PM
SusiM said...
I understand your frustrations with BWOF directions..but what sweet success you have with your lovely jacket!
3/18/09 11:26 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'm glad you persevered, because the jacket really DOES look wonderful now that it's all done. Thanks for another GREAT review! I hope you get lots of wear out of this jacket, because you look MAAAAAAAAAAAVELOUS in PURPLE!
3/18/09 11:03 PM
Reeseballs said...
It looks awesome! I also like to rock out to make cutting out more fun... that being said you are SO RIGHT that rocking out can cause errors! :)
3/18/09 10:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Purple looks great on you! Love your jacket.
3/18/09 10:00 PM
JoanneM said...
I looks great!
3/18/09 9:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

New Look 6214

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now