SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Trio (Trio)

13 more reviews
Viewed 812 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 385 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/09 2:21 AM
Last Updated:3/20/09 2:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work, Ann. This is another different pattern and very 'you'. The color is great and I guessed it was silk. You look fabulous in it. Please accept this as another compliment!
3/20/09 3:20 AM
FreyaStark said...
A smart and distinctive garment. Well done.
3/20/09 3:43 AM
KarmenG said...
Oh Ann - I chuckled when reading your review especially about the elephant dung! But good for you to get past that unpleasantness because your top is really lovely. I love the collar stand and collar; and nice to know I'm not the only one to make the mistake of sewing the wrong edge! I really love your ensemble - thanks for the great information.
3/20/09 8:54 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Looks great on you....like everything you make! It definitely is a "you" pattern.
3/20/09 10:25 AM
Christas said...
This looks beautiful on you! What a very unique and stylish garment... you wear it so perfectly!
3/20/09 10:27 AM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. I can see it would be great on it's own, so it would be worthwhile putting on buttons.
3/20/09 10:56 AM
Nancy K said...
Lovely and it is definitely 'you'. Beautiful job.
3/20/09 2:01 PM
brrmm said...
So gorgeous! Love your outfits and this is no exception. Now how do you know what elephant poo smell like anyway????? Love you work.
3/20/09 6:40 PM
Ann Smith said...
brrmm, Just rode an elephant in Thailand last fall!!
3/20/09 7:27 PM
Ody said...
You are one of my favorite people, and I love this trio! Just super sharp and you wear it so well.
3/20/09 7:52 PM
Barbara V said...
Really nice! The vertical treatment of fabric in the back section looks great. Your entire outfit looks smart with layering and necklace.
3/20/09 8:29 PM
Karendee said...
Absolutely beautiful on you!
3/21/09 4:18 PM
lmg said...
Much nicer than the SW photo would suggest. Very chic and the stripes are great.
3/21/09 4:48 PM
Mahler said...
Ohh you made me laugh with the elephant dung. I know what you mean. My father brought me back a skirt and jacket suit from Thailand a long time ago and it smelled when it was wet. I went to a garden party and it rained, no body want to stand next to me under the garden tent because my suit smelled so bad ! ;-) I love that top on you. On my screen, the fabric does not smell, ;-) so it seams so beautiful. The texture makes me want to touch it. Those colours are rich with your skin tone and hair colour. So stylish, very asian and such a great style on you. I can imagine you in Yohji Yamamoto's design.
3/22/09 9:58 PM
Michelle L said...
Great fabric! What a distinctive way to use a distinctive piece of silk. Except for the elephant dung thing....that made me giggle!
3/24/09 8:57 AM
Collette McManus said...
Ann, would you consider clear snaps instead of a button closure? This would not show (much) when open and not interfere with your wonderful necklace. Another Ann Smith Winner! You know we all envy your closet!!
3/25/09 4:15 PM
Terri K said...
Enjoyed your review and the raw silk is perfect for this top. The shape of the armhole of this pattern is pretty close to that of the Shapes Nine Lives pattern where they recommend just folding under twice and top-stitching. I just finished two of the Nine Lives Vest and, on many fabrics, that finish would be just as effective on this top instead of the bias binding.
4/19/09 11:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 1893

photo
by: Sweetheart...

Review
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6331

photo
by: dixiediy

Review