SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Pamela's Patterns> 103 (T-Shirt Makeover)

5 more reviews
Viewed 826 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 275
Favored by: 122 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/09 5:11 PM
Last Updated:3/22/09 10:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michelle L said...
This is fantastic! At the university where I work, we wear identifying shirts all summer during "Freshman Days". They always insist on buying men's t-shirts, which are shapeless, and the shoulders sag down to your elbows, and the shirt comes down to your knees....But now I am going to remake all of mine!! Your shirt looks awesome! And have a great time in Uganda!
3/24/09 10:12 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is great Nancy! I am so glad that you posted this review because I had no idea that this existed. AND have a good trip to Uganda. How wonderful that you are going. Please be sure to tell us about it when you return. :)
3/22/09 3:37 PM
kasizzle said...
Looks great! I love the FOE treatment.
3/22/09 12:15 PM
Sigrid. said...
How good to see that you can change a t-shirt like that. Great re-do.
3/22/09 11:42 AM
Dei said...
How ingenious! Love the re-do.
3/22/09 11:24 AM
Jane S said...
Bravo, you definitely turned the sows ear into a silk purse. I sometimes turn down giveaway T shirts for the very reason you describe...but if I could make them look this nice...
3/22/09 9:19 AM
AnnieBanany said...
I"m a runner and officiate at a few races every year and work for Habitat for Humanit where I wear the identifying t-shirt and run or work at the same time. The best I've ever done (or thought to do) is chop about 8 inches from the hemline. Once I made a tank top out of it. Everyone wondered how a got a better looking t-shirt than they had. Where can I buy these instructions? I can't wait to try this technique that is more than just a klutzy fix like I had going. Thank you!!
3/22/09 8:30 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
WOW what a transformation.... You will be noticed in your group for certain! Good travels to you!
3/22/09 7:02 AM
j222b said...
Nancywin: Thanks for the reply!
3/21/09 11:14 PM
21wale said...
Wow! It looks great!
3/21/09 10:38 PM
cindy-lou said...
Wow, Nancy... that's a T-Shirt Transformation! I saw you pic and wondered where on earth you found an RTW tee that actually *fit*... then I realized what your review was for. I'll definitely add this pattern to my list!
3/21/09 10:34 PM
AngieC said...
Great fitting Tee! And your tips will be helpful in making it all come together. Who wants a dumpy looking tee when you can have one that looks like yours!
3/21/09 9:55 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your shirt looks great on you! It looks soo much better than a standard tee! You did a great job, and thanks for this great review!
3/21/09 9:28 PM
Nancywin said...
I think stretching the FOE just a tiny bit helps it fit closer to the body. I did stretch on the back, but I should have on the front as well.
3/21/09 8:18 PM
j222b said...
Nice! When you apply the FOE do you stretch a tiny bit or do you just apply in a 1:1 ratio?
3/21/09 8:11 PM
Sandi S said...
That is a flattering fit - much better than an ordinary t-shirt. I'd say it was worth effort!
3/21/09 7:51 PM
KathySews said...
Everyone in your group is going to want to know why your tee fits so much nicer than theirs!
3/21/09 7:31 PM
Christas said...
You look wonderful in your re-done T! I have wondered about this pattern. Your review shows it is a good one.
3/21/09 6:12 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!! Your shirt looks GREAT!! I know what you mean. I HATE t-shirts that are UNFLATTERING. I am thinking of redoing a few of mine so that they will be more flattering. Thanks for the info on this pattern!!!
3/21/09 6:01 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW, what an improvement over the standard ready-to-wear basic tee. You are SO right about them being unflattering (in just about every respect, as I sit here and think about it). THIS tee, though, looks SO nice on you. WHAT an improvement, and what a pretty COLOR on you, too. (I realize you have to just take the color you get for these types of things, but lucky you, it was red!) This is a very informative review. I think you've talked me into this pattern! I could use this when we get our Relay for Life t-shirts. I usually get a HUGE one, just so it won't pull in the bust, so I SHOULD have plenty of room to work with. Great job!
3/21/09 5:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 1949

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now