Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-124 (sheath dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 785 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:inkstain
photo
About inkstainstar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 8/23/07
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/09 10:10 AM
Last Updated:5/12/10 4:20 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
It looks pretty nice in the photo. Of course there is only that one angle for me to see but perhaps you are just not used to the look on you? Love the fabric.
3/23/09 12:02 PM
Woolygal said...
Are you sure you aren't comfortable with the dress? It sure looks good in the photo.
3/24/09 7:26 AM
crisford said...
This looks like a great classic dress and fits you beautifully! I do like the way the sleeves extend, and that's just how kimono sleeves fit. Didn't know you could order an invis. zip foot that isn't plastic; maybe I'll do that.
3/24/09 11:02 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Ha ha, I just saw this review because I usually only look at the review gallery (you should try adding a thumbnail to your reviews so they show in the gallery, I think more people will see your fabulous work that way). Anyway thank you for the compliments and fun review, you really do look fabulous in your dress and the fabric looks amazing!
4/1/09 8:19 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Bravo! You vastly improved the look of this free just by tweaking the fit. When possible, I save the side seams for last and try to get a more figure-skimming effect. You have accomplished this well.
5/12/10 8:36 AM
Vintage Joan said...
It may not seem like a fabulous dress to you, but I can assure you, just from the photo (before even reading your review) I went, "WOW! That's the best dress ever!!" =:o
5/12/10 9:08 AM
moushka said...
What a smashing update! Your re-fitted dress is a terrific success. So glad you persevered with improving the fit. I'm sure you'll get lots of wear out of it now.
5/12/10 11:35 AM
Maree P said...
Another fabulous garment by you Instain. This is a stunning 'little black dress'...one I would wear in a minute.
5/12/10 5:15 PM
JoanneM said...
NONSENSE!!!! This dress is darling on you, and I am going to trace it and make it before summers end. Thank you for your candid review!
6/16/10 1:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-106
photo
Review by Lisette on 3/26/10
Read Review

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 103821-1003
photo
Review by mowse on 7/8/08
Read Review

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us