Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5525 (Trench Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1970 times 61 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 38 people   
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 412 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:3/24/09 1:38 AM
Last Updated:3/24/09 1:46 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KG2 said...
Great Jacket! I love trench coats, you did an awesome job.
3/24/09 2:13 AM
Tany said...
Erica, you did an OUTSTANDING job on this garment! I really love it, all the details are so precious and the construction is flawless! You are a great inspiration!
3/24/09 4:42 AM
Phasionz by M said...
GREAT JOB!
3/24/09 6:57 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Erica, you might have outdone even yourself on this one....BRAVISIMO!
3/24/09 7:02 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic job, the fabric is wonderful.
3/24/09 7:04 AM
Sic said...
Another gorgeous creation! I can see why you were drawn to the fabric - it is beautiful!
3/24/09 8:05 AM
Nancy K said...
great looking jacket. You certainly recovered from lack of sewing mojo!
3/24/09 8:14 AM
peaudane said...
Such a fabulous looking coat!! I saw some coated linens (is that what this is? ) and the salesperson told me they were dry-clean only. So I'm curious: is your fabric washable? Is it waterproof?
3/24/09 8:25 AM
colourbynumber said...
I love the color on you! Great looking coat.
3/24/09 8:27 AM
Dei said...
Erica, you already know that this jacket is TDF! I'd just be repeating myself how much I love this jacket. The fabric is fab.
3/24/09 8:30 AM
Michelle L said...
Gorgeous! You jacket is adorable!
3/24/09 8:46 AM
JustTrina said...
this pattern is just TDF! your coat is FAB! I am also working on this pattern and came to look for some lining pictures so thanks for sharing those! your fabric selection is great and it looks great on you! thanks for always sharing.
3/24/09 9:07 AM
Gold said...
Love it love all the details you added to the jacket. I am liking that fabric very different. Great job Erica B. :)
3/24/09 9:11 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Absolutely gorgeous. I loved it when I first saw it. Great review and I love your alterations.
3/24/09 9:12 AM
kasizzle said...
Gorgeous!
3/24/09 9:50 AM
JBsewmonster said...
Love it! You have a special talent for matching the perfect fabric to the perfect pattern. Your reviews are always an inspiration.
3/24/09 9:55 AM
carolynw said...
BIG WOW!! This is beautiful
3/24/09 10:25 AM
Byrdie said...
Very nice trench... love the color!
3/24/09 10:29 AM
frame said...
Beautiful. Great job.
3/24/09 10:30 AM
kim*brown said...
Erica, is this the same trench coat pattern, different fabric, you started last year and stopped? I love it!
3/24/09 10:51 AM
Erica B. said...
@ Kim Brown, yep... same pattern. I still plan to do it in the royal blue.
3/24/09 11:10 AM
Erica B. said...
@ peaudane, I pre-washed this fabric and pressed it while it was damp. But I will still send it the cleaners when needed.
3/24/09 11:14 AM
janet said...
How does one say P-E-R-F-E-C-T-I-O-N!!! That says it all. Once again you have outdone yourself.
3/24/09 11:59 AM
Patti B said...
Wow, wow, wow! Just gorgeous. I can see why you fell in love with the fabric and the lining is the perfect foil. Another fantabulous sewing project from you.
3/24/09 12:17 PM
tklwa26 said...
Looks fabulous! The quality shows.
3/24/09 12:28 PM
Puddin Pop said...
I've been looking for a good trench coat for the rain. How did you make the sleeve heads? I really like this style and of course, you did a great job, as usual.
3/24/09 12:41 PM
Mahler said...
What a nice surprise, I thought you had sewn a longer trench coat after seeing the teaser on your blog. What a great length ! Very urban chic. You look so nice in that colour. It is a grayish blue on my screen. This is a fantastic colour on you.
3/24/09 1:37 PM
Erica B. said...
@ Puddin Pop, I didn't make the sleeve heads. I purchased them from Atlanta Thread Co.
3/24/09 1:43 PM
RLL said...
Ditto on what everyone else said. I REALLY like this.
3/24/09 2:13 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Super Fantabulous!
3/24/09 2:18 PM
JoanneM said...
Great color and construction. Wonderful!
3/24/09 2:28 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
A classic with pizzaz! Love the bright lining, too. Well done!
3/24/09 2:37 PM
Darla in PA said...
What a wonderful trench coat! It looks very professional.
3/24/09 3:19 PM
CynthiaSue said...
mojo shomjo! you didn't lose your mojo for all of 6 seconds:) this blue suits you well and the jacket looks just like all the trenches i've been seeing at Neiman. love it!
3/24/09 3:20 PM
JaybirdNoel said...
Beautiful. And the bonus photos really show how the color of the fabric changes with the lighting.
3/24/09 4:18 PM
sewbehind said...
Lovely fabric, gorgeous trenchcoat. You just keep getting better and better, Erica.
3/24/09 6:23 PM
washer_woman said...
Such a pretty jacket! Thank you for the great review!
3/24/09 6:31 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This jacket is FABULOUS! Your creations are AMAZING!
3/24/09 7:18 PM
Tailypo said...
Alright, missy, now you are just buying divine, high-end garment and fobbing them off as your own creations on PR. ADMIT IT!!! No? Honest...? Well, dang. That is beautiful. Your work has become absolutely, unspeakably beautiful. You should be very, very proud of yourself. Brava!
3/24/09 7:57 PM
Linda S said...
You did an EXCELLENT job on this jacket.
3/24/09 8:56 PM
Annette Wright said...
This is beautiful. I saw it on your blog and was so darn impressed. Lovely!!!!
3/24/09 9:19 PM
Elke said...
Great looking trench jacket...the color is very pretty!
3/24/09 9:20 PM
MichelleE said...
Great job, Erica. Once again, your work is impeccable!
3/25/09 0:41 AM
Angien said...
Erica, I've had my eye on your work for some time now because you are such an inspiration. This trench jacket is absolutely gorgeous- you are very talented indeed! Just an idea- had you considered a spray on water repellant to make your jacket all-weather? Keep up the great work!
3/25/09 0:53 AM
becca a said...
What a beautiful trench. You are an inspiration.
3/25/09 7:17 AM
Woolygal said...
It sounds like you spent a lot of time on details for this jacket, but it shows. It's beautiful. Enjoy it.
3/25/09 7:35 AM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous - in color, style, fit. This is a stunning jacket. I LOVE trench styles; they are so timeless. And this color really makes it stand out.
3/25/09 8:38 AM
Robin S said...
Stunning trench coat!
3/25/09 8:57 AM
Grammy Gin said...
What a wonderful job you did with this jacket! ALL of those alterations....WOW! It is very flattering! Love your choice of material.
3/25/09 9:12 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Such a nice jacket! Thanks for the review.
3/25/09 12:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous jacket, Erica! Impressively constructed!
3/25/09 12:24 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks for pointing out the error:=)
9/30/09 10:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

McCall's 6441
photo
Review by pdiddly on 11/25/12
Read Review

Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Riviera Shirt
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 5/3/11
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us