SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3527 from 1955 (Misses' Dress)

Viewed 983 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/25/09 7:34 PM
Last Updated:3/25/09 11:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Well worth the effort. The fit is superb - very important for a dress in this style. I'll look forward to seeing your "real" version (as opposed to "test" version).
3/25/09 8:24 PM
marec said...
Well, what does this say about my tatse? I really like the fabric :-) Beautiful fit and I am sure this will be a knock out dress in the "real" fabric.
3/25/09 8:46 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love the Asian-inspired style. The dress looks great on you! How fun to see a vintage pattern sewn up so beautifully!
3/25/09 9:27 PM
sewtime said...
This is a wow dress!!! You look great! Thank you for the review!
3/25/09 9:31 PM
Em's Summer said...
I think you look lovely in this! IRL it might look different, but the fabric looks great in the pic!
3/25/09 9:55 PM
Phasionz by M said...
Great job! I'm with Marec...I just recently made a dress out of the exact same fabric and not only do I love it but, my DH and my 18 year old DD do also!
3/25/09 10:27 PM
castout said...
Very good job! I love the fabric!
3/26/09 0:12 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful fit!
3/26/09 4:07 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely lovely dress. If it looks this good in the test run fabric, it's going to be a prizewinner in the real fabric. Well done on the alterations; you are a much braver woman than me... I'd not know where to start.
3/26/09 6:06 AM
Michelle L said...
what a lovely dress! I have yet to attempt assembling any of the vintage patterns that I have, but your wonderful dress makes me want to try!
3/26/09 6:58 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I NEED to look for this pattern!
3/26/09 8:18 AM
MaryDB said...
Looks fabulous, nice job, perfect fit. Love those old patterns - the drafting is perfect.
3/26/09 10:16 AM
Heatherrique said...
Kellie, you mean this eyecatchingly gorgeous dress is a muslin? Huh? Wow! Still very nice work! This is a cool vintage style that wil never go out of style! I cannot wait to see your "real" version....:-)
3/26/09 11:25 AM
queensh said...
Beautiful!! The fabric is fabulous! I know the actual silk dress will be stunning.
3/26/09 12:19 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great job. The fit looks wonderful. It's a classic!
3/26/09 1:07 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Wowza!
3/26/09 1:11 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow, I can't believe this is just a muslin! I really like this style, and actually, here goes - I love the fabric. There, I said it! ;)
3/26/09 1:39 PM
Twinset said...
You look fantastic in your great dress! I find this fabric beautiful in terms of print and colors, and perfect for this style!
3/26/09 2:52 PM
Cat MacGregor said...
Woot! I remember when you first posted up this pattern!! It came out just beautiful!! I cannot wait to see the un-muslin. 8 ) Awesome job!
3/26/09 3:30 PM
Kellie R. said...
Wow everybody! Thanks SO MUCH for all of your very kind comments! I'm LMAO, thinking that I need to re-evaluate my taste in fabric since this fabric is so popular with many of you! Thanks again!
3/26/09 4:33 PM
Erica B. said...
Great dress! It's a stunner!
3/26/09 6:13 PM
daff said...
I am ?? about the fabric opinions on your end...I love it, and it looks fabulous as this dress! Great job! :)
3/26/09 7:47 PM
mars418 said...
Fabulous dress! The fit is perfect--nice work. Love the fabric.
3/27/09 7:59 AM
Jali said...
Double wow! Great fit, great fabric, great dress.
3/29/09 11:42 AM
Cisa said...
I've been pondering this pattern for a while now and you've convinced me! I need to get a hold of this pattern. Thanks for your review Kellie! Any idea where I can find this pattern?
3/29/09 12:36 PM
Mahler said...
The information is being reviewed in my mind, this is a muslin, Mom that fabric is disgusting, it should be a pillow case. Humm I am from a different school I guess. I love brocades and this one seems so nice on my screen. I believe you when you says that i frays. I am such a great fan of those dresses. I envy you to have found that pattern. I have a few of those, Burda, New look, McCalls and none of them is as nice. I like your dress so much. I am so much looking for the next version. I hope I won't miss it. And humm I love that dress on you !
3/29/09 10:00 PM
Christas said...
EXCELLENT review! This pattern is so pretty! How can this be your MUSLIN?! It is far too nice and looks too lovely to not be a REAL dress!!!
4/6/09 4:26 PM
yummymummy38 said...
this looks terrific and I quite like the fabric! the fit is phenomenal. This style is called a cheongsam and a traditional Chinese dress. It tends to suit slim, small busted women. See Joan Chen looking absolutely gorgeous in "The Home Song Stories"
4/11/09 7:04 AM
Natalie D. said...
What a great review and photos! This is a classic style that suits you.
4/26/09 11:35 AM
CharmedDiamonds said...
I love it!!!! I'm going to be searching for a similar pattern now :)
6/7/09 5:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Simplicity 2872

photo
by: Ireland

Review
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now