SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5007 (Gore Skirt Group)

25 more reviews
Viewed 1979 times 
Reviewed by:Rebecca D
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rebecca Dstar
Member since: 1/18/03
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/03 6:53 AM
Last Updated:11/19/03 7:13 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
What a really nice skirt. Great review. Don't you just love it when it makes you smile to see yourself in the mirror? Looking forward to seeing this in the brown velvet you mentioned. Sounds wonderful.
11/19/03 7:09 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Rebecca, your skirt is fabulous! This is a great style for you. I also love the fabric. As far as the godets go, here's what I found easiest: Stitch one godet on at 3/8", serge finish that small seam section and press the seam allowances toward the godet. Then you will have a pretty straight section to stitch to the other skirt piece - stitch it at 3/8" and then serge the entire seam. Press the SAS toward the godet - you might need a clapper to flatten the seam at the point. Of course, if you are using a sheer fabric for the godet you will have to press the seam allowances toward the skirt so that they don't show. HTH PS: I love that Vogue jacket too!
11/19/03 7:21 AM
Ivy R said...
Hi Rebecca - love, love, love the way this skirt fits on you - and that fabric is just gorgeous! I'm definitely going to sew this up! Thanks.
11/19/03 8:05 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
I think you, the skirt and the fabric look great together!
11/19/03 9:30 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
I'm learning that a skirt is the most versatile workhorse in the wardrobe. Can be dressed up or down, and can be a focal point or a background for another outfit defining piece. Yours looks great in fit and fabric choice. Very flattering!
11/19/03 10:34 AM
Mollykat said...
what not to wear info in patterns is invaluable, thanks for including it!
11/19/03 12:51 PM
Katherine Dols said...
Thanks for the review! Isn't this a great skirt pattern? I've made a few of each view D and E. I had a problem with the godets, too. I found that the SA at the top of the godet can drift a bit during sewing and I end up with a bit of the raw edge on the right side of the seam. I do what Gigi does, but play around a bit with the placement at the very tip of the godet to make sure the raw edges stay on the wrong side of the seam. With the first skirt I had to redo each one; on the last skirt I had to fix only one--I think I'm getting the hang of it!
11/19/03 2:04 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
I liked that sketch in Threads, too with the tweed. So glad to see this sewn up in your fabulous pattern, very helpful review, Rebecca! Thanks everyone for the godet expertise also. . .hmmm, I really do NOT need to by another pattern. . .but this looks great!
11/19/03 10:45 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. Based on that picture, i agree - it is a What to Wear skirt.
11/30/03 4:14 PM
yarnivore said...
I just made this pattern up myself, in view E. I found it very helpful to sew both the godet seams, and to then sew the center seam above the godet insertion. This is recommended in the new (March 2004) issue of Threads (which is great overall!)
1/21/04 11:17 PM
retiredpagirl said...
Good looking skirt. It's so nice to see women wearing skirts again! Nice job!
1/25/04 11:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 02-2002-40

photo
by: 21wale

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now