Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 3150 times 158 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 42 people   
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:4/5/09 11:22 AM
Last Updated:3/6/10 6:04 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Thanks for a great review. The jeans look really jean-like on you, and that's actually pretty rare with jeans patterns (sounds funny, but it's true: Very often they look like some kind of trouser hybrid).
4/5/09 11:33 AM
Annette Wright said...
They look great on your butt!!!
4/5/09 11:36 AM
cabinbaby said...
:) Those look great! Did you do all the topstitching?
4/5/09 11:39 AM
maryfrana said...
They really fit! Nice job and great review.
4/5/09 11:49 AM
becca a said...
Thank you for your kind comments. Cabinbaby, these are my muslin/prototype first attempt. I did all the topstitching because I wanted to practice--double rows of topstitching are something I had never done before. The only thing I didn't do was put stitching on the pockets as I couldn't think of a way to do this that would minimize my butt and looking at my RTW jeans I could see that most of them have no pocket stitching either.
4/5/09 12:05 PM
becca a said...

4/5/09 12:08 PM
MasoumaRose said...
I think that I'm seeing only pictures of your muslin--do you have a link to the jeans made from the denim? I admit, Im' envious--I'm still waiting for my patterns to arrive. :)
4/5/09 12:10 PM
becca a said...
MasoumaRose I will take pictures of the jeans and edit the review in the next day or so.
4/5/09 12:48 PM
Spring said...
Your Jeans look great on you!
4/5/09 1:09 PM
squirrellypoo said...
These look great! Well done on your first jeans!!
4/5/09 5:23 PM
Ann's Fashion Studio said...
Great job. The fit looks perfect.
4/5/09 6:16 PM
Erica B. said...
Those look great on you! I'll be making my own pair in the next couple of weeks.
4/6/09 3:44 PM
Christas said...
These look WONDERFUL! You did a fantastic job on them....... great review!
4/6/09 6:44 PM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your kind comments!
4/6/09 6:53 PM
RLL said...
Your finished product is incredible. They are very RTW looking. Great job!
4/6/09 7:00 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jeans. Nice job and thanks for the review.
4/6/09 7:06 PM
shastababy said...
Thanks for a great review! I've been on the fence about this pattern, but you've convinced me to give it a try. Your fit is fabulous, great job! Thanks also for the links, I have gaposis problems as well.
4/6/09 7:58 PM
badgerfan said...
Your jeans look terrific. Great tip on the rivet insertion.
4/6/09 9:06 PM
MagpieJen said...
Fantastic review! Wonderful workmanship! These are jeans after my own heart too - I might have to give this pattern a try.
4/6/09 9:20 PM
Dale C said...
Wow they look great! I'm so glad to see these reviews popping up now, just before I start cutting. Reading them made me realize I may need to include the extra 1" for fitting as my body is not nearly as slim and svelte as yours and cabinbaby's...
4/6/09 10:30 PM
Vintage Joan said...
These are fantastic -- your wearable muslin is great, too!
4/7/09 0:54 AM
Lori V said...
Great review and the jeans look fantastic.
4/7/09 7:17 AM
Gold said...
You did a fantastic job! Great review.
4/7/09 7:47 AM
Jean McGuire said...
Great job and a nice review. Your jeans look very nice and a good fit.
4/7/09 8:34 AM
Miranda said...
Really fantastic jeans, you have done a really really wonderful job.
4/7/09 10:52 AM
Hilary said...
These turned out so great! What a beautiful job you did~and thanks for all the tips!
4/8/09 10:36 AM
appleton78 said...
Very impressive my dear!!! I just got this pattern and am now super excited to cut in. I can tell you however I WON"T be using the smallest adult size : ) Thanks for the super review!!
4/8/09 10:53 AM
AnnS said...
I've always wanted to sew jeans, and your review may push me over the edge to get this Jalie pattern! Nice job!
4/9/09 12:28 PM
becca a said...
Ann S, I was afraid to sew jeans, but the idea of the jeans sew along encouraged me, and I'm really glad I tried this pattern.
4/9/09 3:00 PM
Second Avenue said...
Hi Becca A, Great job! Your jeans look great and your review has inspired me to try something I never thought would work out - making jeans! Regards, Gaylene
4/18/09 9:03 AM
Leora said...
The gaposis fix you linked to really makes a difference, thank you! Your jeans look great!
4/18/09 12:53 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your great review of your fabulous jeans.
6/5/09 1:04 PM
cindyann said...
Great review! I'm getting ready to make these and your tips are noted!
12/28/09 5:05 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great pair in corduroy!!
3/6/10 11:18 PM
KyleQC said...
I am in the process of tracing this pattern, so I really appreciate all your tips. Thanks for such a thorough review.
3/7/10 7:48 AM
no7262 said...
Very nice! Nora :)
3/7/10 11:56 AM
redhotpepper said...
Very nice. I like how your doggy is showing his rear view too in your light colored, low rise version!!!
3/7/10 11:49 PM
Terri A said...
This is the best ever review! Thanks!
3/8/10 2:34 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Love them in corduroy!!
4/26/10 9:34 AM
JillyBe said...
Awesome review! I followed your link from your latest review; which is why my comment is so belated... I should be (finally!) making these jeans soon, & your review will be my go-to source for tips!
2/22/11 9:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 6696
photo
Review by littlepink... on 1/17/14
Read Review

McCalls 6818 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6818 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5862 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5862 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6613
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 6/27/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us