Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5209 (Retro '47 Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1225 times 37 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 309 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/09 11:55 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahogany Stylist said...
Love this dress. I think I bought this pattern last year. I'm seriously thinking about sew it up the spring. Thanks for the review.
4/7/09 12:03 PM
Frosty772 said...
Omg thank you so much for this review!! I have this pattern and was trying to come up with a fabric to make it out of. The fact you used cotton makes this that much easier to plan out and make now!! Fantastic dress!!
4/7/09 12:21 PM
Michelle L said...
Adorable!! I have this pattern and I SWEAR I am going to make it for the summer. I just got a length of magenta sateen that I was going to use for a trench, but the drape would be much more appropriate for a dress. This one, perhaps?
4/7/09 12:35 PM
SilvrGhost said...
Lovely!
4/7/09 12:42 PM
Marie-Claude said...
This dress is so pretty! It looks very good on you. And thanks for the tip about the zipper... I'll have to remember that one!!
4/7/09 1:05 PM
Karen6790 said...
That's a very happy dress - just the thing for your vacation in Miami and for the rest of summer. Nice job, and worth the work to line it properly.
4/7/09 1:16 PM
Aixoise said...
This style was invented for you. It's a perfect match, especially in this fabric, for your figure and your personality. Nice work!
4/7/09 1:59 PM
cabinbaby said...
I love this dress on you! The color is fantstic.
4/7/09 2:05 PM
Mufffet said...
Oh my, what a lovely summer dress! Such a nice color and such style! Love this one!
4/7/09 2:25 PM
truebias said...
i can't get over how cute this is!
4/7/09 2:28 PM
petro said...
Looks great, better on you than the pattern envelope drawing.
4/7/09 3:39 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute!
4/7/09 4:09 PM
Elke said...
This dress looks fabulous on you!
4/7/09 4:34 PM
Nancy K said...
Great dress that is really becoming on you.
4/7/09 5:25 PM
Emi1yKate said...
You look lovely in your dress. This is the best kind of vintage reissue- it's got that cute retro look but still looks beautifully modern. Well done!
4/7/09 7:20 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This is the perfect summer dress! It looks so cute on you. I would want one for everyday of the week, but that's just me. :-)
4/7/09 7:22 PM
Slyvchan said...
Beautiful, and I love the fabric choice! It fits you perfectly!
4/7/09 8:10 PM
jessbev said...
Gorgeous - I love it. I want one too.
4/7/09 8:45 PM
Christas said...
Perfect mix of the retro with the modern! The dress looks fantastic on you!
4/7/09 9:06 PM
Pamaro said...
Great style dress on you. Beautiful choice of fabric too.
4/7/09 9:42 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really lovely dress. Well done. It's great to hear that it works in cotton. I thought it would be essential to make it in something very soft and/or drapey because of the gathering. I have plans for this pattern myself.
4/8/09 0:22 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I never noticed this pattern before, but I love your version! Lovely summer dress
4/8/09 4:43 AM
barbcl said...
Classy as heck!
4/8/09 9:00 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Adorable! I hope you & your sister had a great vacation. Your wardrobe & vacation pictures are neat!
4/8/09 9:01 AM
Secretsugar said...
Lovely as always! I've got this pattern sitting in my stash, just waiting for the right fabric to make it up in. Your fabric choice is perfect!
4/8/09 9:54 AM
eugenia123 said...
Fabulous dress and beautifully made.
4/8/09 10:13 AM
Hilary said...
Your dress is *SO* cute! love, love, LOVE it!!
4/8/09 10:18 AM
MagpieJen said...
Sunny, gorgeous dress, and your review is incredibly helpful - thank you!
4/8/09 2:38 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow- I love this dress. The fabric is awesome, it fits you beautifully and the photo could be a postcard!
4/8/09 2:49 PM
LauraByrnes said...
Omigosh, this would have been the perfect pattern for me to use with my project!! (the 3 knock-off halter dresses) Your work is amazing..I'll be following your posts!
4/8/09 6:32 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Great modern version of a classic vintage pattern! Perfect fabric, and great fit. You inspire me to try out some of the vintage patterns I have....
4/8/09 10:20 PM
nglalala said...
Very cute dress! I love the print of the fabric!
4/9/09 11:48 AM
Barbara V said...
A cheery happy looking dress. Nice job. I purchased this pattern with the sleeveless version in mind to make, but now I realize the style with sleeves is also very nice. The "sisters" image is cute.
4/9/09 2:23 PM
Paris75008 said...
I'm in the middle of making the halter version of this dress. I was debating whether to interface the midriff. You've just convinced me! BTW, I put several tucks into the bodice front pattern tissue to get rid of the gape. That pattern is really gapey, especially under the arms.
8/6/09 10:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Burda 7484 Pantsuit
photo
Review by muttless on 8/22/12
Read Review

McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2777 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2777 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Hollywood 1930
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 6/30/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us