SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5209 (Retro '47 Dress)

39 more reviews
Viewed 1233 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/09 11:55 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahogany Stylist said...
Love this dress. I think I bought this pattern last year. I'm seriously thinking about sew it up the spring. Thanks for the review.
4/7/09 12:03 PM
Frosty772 said...
Omg thank you so much for this review!! I have this pattern and was trying to come up with a fabric to make it out of. The fact you used cotton makes this that much easier to plan out and make now!! Fantastic dress!!
4/7/09 12:21 PM
Michelle L said...
Adorable!! I have this pattern and I SWEAR I am going to make it for the summer. I just got a length of magenta sateen that I was going to use for a trench, but the drape would be much more appropriate for a dress. This one, perhaps?
4/7/09 12:35 PM
SilvrGhost said...
Lovely!
4/7/09 12:42 PM
Marie-Claude said...
This dress is so pretty! It looks very good on you. And thanks for the tip about the zipper... I'll have to remember that one!!
4/7/09 1:05 PM
Karen6790 said...
That's a very happy dress - just the thing for your vacation in Miami and for the rest of summer. Nice job, and worth the work to line it properly.
4/7/09 1:16 PM
Aixoise said...
This style was invented for you. It's a perfect match, especially in this fabric, for your figure and your personality. Nice work!
4/7/09 1:59 PM
cabinbaby said...
I love this dress on you! The color is fantstic.
4/7/09 2:05 PM
Mufffet said...
Oh my, what a lovely summer dress! Such a nice color and such style! Love this one!
4/7/09 2:25 PM
truebias said...
i can't get over how cute this is!
4/7/09 2:28 PM
petro said...
Looks great, better on you than the pattern envelope drawing.
4/7/09 3:39 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute!
4/7/09 4:09 PM
Elke said...
This dress looks fabulous on you!
4/7/09 4:34 PM
Nancy K said...
Great dress that is really becoming on you.
4/7/09 5:25 PM
Emi1yKate said...
You look lovely in your dress. This is the best kind of vintage reissue- it's got that cute retro look but still looks beautifully modern. Well done!
4/7/09 7:20 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This is the perfect summer dress! It looks so cute on you. I would want one for everyday of the week, but that's just me. :-)
4/7/09 7:22 PM
Slyvchan said...
Beautiful, and I love the fabric choice! It fits you perfectly!
4/7/09 8:10 PM
jessbev said...
Gorgeous - I love it. I want one too.
4/7/09 8:45 PM
Christas said...
Perfect mix of the retro with the modern! The dress looks fantastic on you!
4/7/09 9:06 PM
Pamaro said...
Great style dress on you. Beautiful choice of fabric too.
4/7/09 9:42 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really lovely dress. Well done. It's great to hear that it works in cotton. I thought it would be essential to make it in something very soft and/or drapey because of the gathering. I have plans for this pattern myself.
4/8/09 0:22 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I never noticed this pattern before, but I love your version! Lovely summer dress
4/8/09 4:43 AM
barbcl said...
Classy as heck!
4/8/09 9:00 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Adorable! I hope you & your sister had a great vacation. Your wardrobe & vacation pictures are neat!
4/8/09 9:01 AM
Secretsugar said...
Lovely as always! I've got this pattern sitting in my stash, just waiting for the right fabric to make it up in. Your fabric choice is perfect!
4/8/09 9:54 AM
eugenia123 said...
Fabulous dress and beautifully made.
4/8/09 10:13 AM
Hilary said...
Your dress is *SO* cute! love, love, LOVE it!!
4/8/09 10:18 AM
MagpieJen said...
Sunny, gorgeous dress, and your review is incredibly helpful - thank you!
4/8/09 2:38 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow- I love this dress. The fabric is awesome, it fits you beautifully and the photo could be a postcard!
4/8/09 2:49 PM
LauraByrnes said...
Omigosh, this would have been the perfect pattern for me to use with my project!! (the 3 knock-off halter dresses) Your work is amazing..I'll be following your posts!
4/8/09 6:32 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Great modern version of a classic vintage pattern! Perfect fabric, and great fit. You inspire me to try out some of the vintage patterns I have....
4/8/09 10:20 PM
nglalala said...
Very cute dress! I love the print of the fabric!
4/9/09 11:48 AM
Barbara V said...
A cheery happy looking dress. Nice job. I purchased this pattern with the sleeveless version in mind to make, but now I realize the style with sleeves is also very nice. The "sisters" image is cute.
4/9/09 2:23 PM
Paris75008 said...
I'm in the middle of making the halter version of this dress. I was debating whether to interface the midriff. You've just convinced me! BTW, I put several tucks into the bodice front pattern tissue to get rid of the gape. That pattern is really gapey, especially under the arms.
8/6/09 10:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-119

photo
by: tsedai

Review