SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans)

163 more reviews
Viewed 1585 times 
Reviewed by:KG2
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KG2star
Member since: 2/19/08
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:4/11/09 1:54 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
I tried to look at your blog pictures but you're limiting the search feature and you don't link directly to the jeans post. :(
3/12/11 1:50 PM
Amelia Airhead said...
Beautiful and interesting. Hopefully someday I'll have the confidence to use white to topstitch and the basic skills down so I can move onto more creative things like this waistband lining.
2/10/10 8:47 PM
KrystalL said...
These jeans are great. The inside is so nicely done and interesting! Love the back loop and pocket detail!
5/15/09 9:33 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Boy I would ve elated if I could make a pair of jeans and have them turn out that nicely. I love the way they fit you but I have always like very fitted ie. tight jeans the best. You did a great job on those and I think you should wear them with pride!!!
4/11/09 11:09 PM
Miranda said...
Kelly, I think these jeans are stunning.
4/11/09 6:44 PM
Jill Giard said...
Awesome job - very inspiring! Love the contrast facing detail.
4/11/09 6:29 PM
skae said...
i did find that out to. made for slimmer people. I found that out when i made a pair for my daughter. When I make this pair I will go with the waist and the hip measurments I will adjust to what is needed. I will be using two to three differant sizes. The jeans look great you did a very nice job on them. Don't be so hard on yourself. The next pair will be perfect.
4/11/09 4:49 PM
KG2 said...
Thank you all for your kind words! I hemmed them today and I think I like them a little better. Ludd -- My topstitching I did with heavy dual duty by Coats and Clark. It doesn't come in a wide selection of colors, but works great for me. I have to turn my tension up to 6 (normally at 3) and my stitch length to 3.5 when topstitching. For the bobbin I use all purpose polyester thread. The bar tacks are just a zig zag with a stitch length of .4 and a width of 2.5.
4/11/09 4:34 PM
Karendee said...
Wonderful looking jeans! Perfect job on these.
4/11/09 4:16 PM
Ludd said...
I think your jeans look great. What type of thread did you use for the topstitching? As for the rivets, I too tried to use ones from Grommetmart without purchasing one of their attaching tools and dies, and it didn't work. I ending up biting the bullet and buying one. It's a bit pricey, but well worth it if you are going to make very many jeans.
4/11/09 4:08 PM
Christas said...
These look fantastic! I love the pretty lining for the waistband. Your topstitching looks so wonderful.
4/11/09 1:34 PM
Leora said...
Love your blog! I think they look great.
4/11/09 1:01 PM
becca a said...
You did a great job on these jeans and they fit you really well. If you put them aside for a few days and try them again, you may find you like them better. They are very flattering.
4/11/09 12:55 PM
Kathy in NM said...
These really do look good on you - sleep on it, it always seems better the next day. I really like your pocket lining and waistband lining. It really adds some zing to a regular pair of jeans - how fun. Also, your top stitching and bar tacks are great. I'm with you on rivets - maybe someone could teach a class. Finally, I love the back belt loop - very cool! I too find Jalie pants patterns smallish, so I measure first to be sure. Hope you enjoy your jeans!
4/11/09 12:53 PM
PegL said...
Your jeans are beautifully made and look to me like they fit very well. Most denim will stretch out a little with wear so I suggest you wear them and see if that happens before you enlarge the pattern and then end up with baggy jeans. ;>)
4/11/09 12:28 PM
Vintage Joan said...
These are fabulous! I love, love, love the contrast fabrics you used at the waist and fly.
4/11/09 12:07 PM
Patti B said...
Well, Kelly, I think you have sewn an amazing pair of jeans! And, looking at your blog, actually sewn several pair of terrific jeans. They look fabulous on you even though they don't look exactly as you anticipated. Take Cabinbaby's advice and put them in the Magic Closet for awhile.
4/11/09 11:22 AM
Shikisew said...
I really think they look fab. I love the details in the facing and the topstitching.
4/11/09 10:55 AM
cindyann said...
Look wonderful and lovely finishing work!
4/11/09 10:38 AM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, I think they look fantastic! I think they need to spend some time in the Closet of Miracles. I bet you'll like them when you pull them out. That back pocket is perfect!!!
4/11/09 10:20 AM
sewbehind said...
I'm with the "I think they look great on you" club. Perhaps they are a slimmer fit than you are used to wearing? They look great. Agree with your DH.
4/11/09 10:20 AM
dorothyn said...
You don't sound very happy with them, but they look fantastic! Most excellent topstitching, and they fit you really well. Good work!
4/11/09 10:20 AM
nellc said...
I think you have done a great job on these jeans, they look really nice on you. I love the topstitching on the pockets and also the twisted belt loop.
4/11/09 9:24 AM
Catbird said...
I think you've done a spectacular job on these (your topstitching is utter perfection!) and they look fantastic. I agree with kellymailinglist that you might like them more if you put them aside for a while and try them again in the heat of summer. (Of course, that's the height of strawberry shortcake season, oh well....)Anyway, kudos to you for a great sewing job.
4/11/09 9:08 AM
Mahler said...
What a great fit ! Wonderful construction.
4/11/09 8:47 AM
Lili123 said...
I think your jeans look very nice on you and i like the light denim particularily for the summer. I never had the courage to try sewing a pair for myself because it seems to be a difficult task. You did a great job!!!
4/11/09 7:46 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Gee, I don't know -- these seem to have a fit that's right in style, and you look terrific in them. Put them away for a while; maybe during summer you'll like the lightweight denim, too. Looks like you did an absolutely perfect job with them!
4/11/09 6:05 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Excellent jeans! You did such a great job. Pity about the fit. It's always disappointing when you have put in so much work.
4/11/09 5:08 AM
julie w said...
I was surprised to find you aren't happy with this pair, the construction is fantastic and they look great on. I'm sure you'll love the next pair.
4/11/09 2:39 AM
JEF said...
Sorry you're not thrilled with them. I think they look very nice on you.
4/11/09 2:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

New Look 6097

photo
by: Jgpea

Review
Vogue Patterns 8669

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

More Info