Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1028 (Metropolitan Good Times Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 689 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/11/09 12:51 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Both Mama Mouse and little Minnie Mouse look lovely! Louella, this top is wonderful. I am so glad you stuck with it to achieve this very stylish look!
4/11/09 1:22 PM
JEF said...
My goodness, you put a lot of work into that top. It looks really nice now. I LOVE the fabric choice and I really like the interesting neck line. I'm very impressed with you for making the pattern work.
4/11/09 1:44 PM
LornaJay said...
Wow. What a review! I think the top looks great under the denim jacket.
4/11/09 3:12 PM
emo said...
This looks really nice on you, but I agree not too much like the pattern photo. I always have a very hard time with their patterns; your review is incredibly helpful!
4/11/09 3:26 PM
michellep74 said...
The finished top looks great after all of your hard work! I have this pattern and was hoping that it would be a fairly easy sew--I'll consider myself forewarned. ;)
4/11/09 4:29 PM
EleanorSews said...
You certainly did a major effort to get this top to work! It looks quite nice now that you have worked your magic. Thanks for the alert.
4/11/09 5:23 PM
Annette1 said...
You girls are SO cute! It looks like you had a GREAT TIME in Disneyland. I love this top, Louella. That neckline is really pretty on you. With your custom fitting finesse, this top is ultra flattering!
4/11/09 8:55 PM
Ody said...
I don't know what you worked harder on, the blouse of the review. Great blouse in the end.
4/11/09 10:09 PM
Terri A said...
What an amazing review! Wow! Thanks for including all those details! The sausage roll vs the patty thing had ME "rolling" LOL. My goodness, what a lot of work you did! Great job.
4/12/09 0:37 AM
pterion said...
This pattern and its modifications sounds like an epic journey. Kudos for sticking with it and ending up with a very nice looking top. Great review!
4/12/09 1:02 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!! This is one awesome top!! Very stylish and upscale!! Really worth the time and effort that you invested!!! Love it! Annette
4/12/09 8:19 AM
Kellie R. said...
Wow! I'm convinced that you have the funnest fabrics in the universe! Your top turned out well and was worth all of the work that went into it! Great job!
4/12/09 9:53 AM
prkj said...
Since 'wow' is already taken, I'll say 'gee.' You did a lot to this pattern to get a result you liked. The directions sound unhelpful, but aside from the sausage vs. patty remark, I'm guessing you were being told to roll up the bodice inside the yoke pieces, stitch, and turn the shirt right side out. Connie Long describes this really well in her book on blouses and tops, but these directions read like the reason why the big 4 don't try this method. Nice job!
5/25/09 11:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Amy Butler AB033AT Anna Tunic
photo
Review by Sew Mother... on 4/15/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2812
photo
Review by zazzie on 3/23/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1757 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1757 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3736 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3736 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us