Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5693 (Girls\' Tops and Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 200 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:quixoticpixels
photo
About quixoticpixelsstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 4/2/08
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/09 4:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Such a shame you daughter didn't love this pretty top. You did such a nice job sewing it.
4/13/09 4:26 PM
addicted2fabric said...
What a cute top, I love the detailing on the front, its very pretty. Its a shame your DD wont wear it, and I do know how frustrating that is. I came to realise a long time ago sewing for my now Miss 9 was far more for my benefit than hers..lol
4/13/09 4:29 PM
MissFit said...
what a cute top, and trust me there is no such thing as less fussy children!
4/13/09 4:58 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Too cute! My dd was funny that way too. Usually when I would gift it to a friend's dd, she'd quickly change her mind. :-) :-)
4/13/09 5:42 PM
MagpieJen said...
It's adorable! And I totally sympathize with you on the puzzling and whimsical taste of young girls...
4/13/09 5:56 PM
chacha45 said...
Her expression does tell it all! She is precious.
4/13/09 6:07 PM
JaybirdNoel said...
Beautiful! It's too bad she won't wear it. I spent a lot of $ on pretty clothes for dd that she wouldn't wear. Then I found out that she liked them, but that she didn't like things that were too "scratchy." Finding out what that meant was tough... but once we figured it out, I stopped throwing $ down the drain. Maybe your dd's pickiness has something to do with fabric feel and fit, not color and style.
4/13/09 7:07 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow -- this is SO nice!! I'm baffled that your daughter won't wear it. She looks a bit young to be a teenager, lol.
4/13/09 11:43 PM
Ellenatlga said...
Very cute top! and hey! I have a dd who doesn't like anything I make either!
4/14/09 7:13 AM
Diane333 said...
Maybe it is the elastic that bothers her. The top is so cute. Hopefully you can give it to someone else.
4/14/09 11:08 AM
calminatrix said...
i had SO much fun looking at your pictures! your taste in fabric is impecable! where do you shop? do i detect some red in your family's hair? maybe that's why we like the same colors. beautiful sewing, especially on the hem of the ruffle of the bodice on the pink dress. good job!!!
4/18/09 6:35 AM
Glassgirl said...
Beautiful job. My DD was the same way. In my youth I was a proffesional seamstress so she would ask to see where the store tag was. If there was none she would know I made it and wouldn't wear it. I cut some store tags from old clothes and sewed them in before showing her what I had made for her and she was thrilled thinking I went out and bought her new clothes at a store. She couldn't tell the difference. She's 39 now and still looks for store tags. Go figure. Your daughter is adorable and looks fabulous in her new top.
4/24/09 5:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 7798
photo
Review by Mufffet on 8/23/08
Read Review

Simplicity 1613 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1613 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4017 OOP
photo
Review by carolynw on 3/15/09
Read Review

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us