SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5693 (Girls' Tops and Dresses)

6 more reviews
Viewed 200 times 
Reviewed by:quixoticpixels
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About quixoticpixelsstarstar
Member since: 4/2/08
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/09 4:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Glassgirl said...
Beautiful job. My DD was the same way. In my youth I was a proffesional seamstress so she would ask to see where the store tag was. If there was none she would know I made it and wouldn't wear it. I cut some store tags from old clothes and sewed them in before showing her what I had made for her and she was thrilled thinking I went out and bought her new clothes at a store. She couldn't tell the difference. She's 39 now and still looks for store tags. Go figure. Your daughter is adorable and looks fabulous in her new top.
4/24/09 5:10 PM
calminatrix said...
i had SO much fun looking at your pictures! your taste in fabric is impecable! where do you shop? do i detect some red in your family's hair? maybe that's why we like the same colors. beautiful sewing, especially on the hem of the ruffle of the bodice on the pink dress. good job!!!
4/18/09 6:35 AM
Diane333 said...
Maybe it is the elastic that bothers her. The top is so cute. Hopefully you can give it to someone else.
4/14/09 11:08 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Very cute top! and hey! I have a dd who doesn't like anything I make either!
4/14/09 7:13 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow -- this is SO nice!! I'm baffled that your daughter won't wear it. She looks a bit young to be a teenager, lol.
4/13/09 11:43 PM
JaybirdNoel said...
Beautiful! It's too bad she won't wear it. I spent a lot of $ on pretty clothes for dd that she wouldn't wear. Then I found out that she liked them, but that she didn't like things that were too "scratchy." Finding out what that meant was tough... but once we figured it out, I stopped throwing $ down the drain. Maybe your dd's pickiness has something to do with fabric feel and fit, not color and style.
4/13/09 7:07 PM
chacha45 said...
Her expression does tell it all! She is precious.
4/13/09 6:07 PM
MagpieJen said...
It's adorable! And I totally sympathize with you on the puzzling and whimsical taste of young girls...
4/13/09 5:56 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Too cute! My dd was funny that way too. Usually when I would gift it to a friend's dd, she'd quickly change her mind. :-) :-)
4/13/09 5:42 PM
MissFit said...
what a cute top, and trust me there is no such thing as less fussy children!
4/13/09 4:58 PM
addicted2fabric said...
What a cute top, I love the detailing on the front, its very pretty. Its a shame your DD wont wear it, and I do know how frustrating that is. I came to realise a long time ago sewing for my now Miss 9 was far more for my benefit than hers..lol
4/13/09 4:29 PM
Christas said...
Such a shame you daughter didn't love this pretty top. You did such a nice job sewing it.
4/13/09 4:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Butterick 4985

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

More Info
Vogue Patterns 8496

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review