Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2759 (Anne Klein) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 2944 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/03 1:28 AM
Last Updated:1/7/04 1:17 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna Isler said...
What a beautiful wrap top! Did you do a bust cup alteration or add width to the side seams?
11/27/03 7:20 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Ann, the top looks beautiful on you. Thanks for the tip about the arm. I have this pattern and am thinking of making it up. Knowing the arm is tight will definitely influence my choice of fabric. I love your hair, too! -Ann
11/27/03 8:00 AM
Ann Smith said...
Donna, I did the alteration by the pivot and slide (pivot point at shoulder) method which adds to the seams at armscye and side. This often works well for me.
11/27/03 12:25 PM
VROOM VROOM said...
I really love your creation. This pattern is perfect for the heavy-busted. I wish you lighting were brighter, so that I can really enjoy the detail in the fabric. You have excellent taste in fabric and pattern design selection. I am very picky. This top set against the background pictures is really classy. Thank you for sharing the beautiful photo with us. I also liked your mention of the wide size selection of the pattern. I usually sew a size 24 Butterick. I am viewing a similar pattern by Butterick. THANK YOU SOOO MUCH FOR SHARING!!
11/27/03 2:04 PM
galadriel45 said...
I am so happy that you reviewed this pattern - I've been wanting to try it for a long time. I have a gorgeous piece of soft, drapey silk.... Could you describe about the full bust adjustment in a little more detail?
11/27/03 5:13 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks so much for the review, Ann! I've got this pattern and was thinking the top would make a good candidate for onionskin, too. Yours looks great; love those colors!
11/27/03 5:34 PM
Ann Smith said...
galadrie145: Is your silk a knit? This top needs to be. The technique I used to enlarge is as described by Nancy Zieman in"Fitting Your Figure", a Threads book. You hold the pattern steady at the shoulder and swivel it out to add the amount you need at the side seam. This keeps the armscye the same size. You then swivel back in at the side seam. VroomVroom: I will add another photo.
11/27/03 7:02 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful as always, Ann! You really know what suits you. :-)
11/28/03 11:18 AM
MissCelie said...
This top is just fantastic. What a graceful line. Beautiful work!
11/28/03 1:28 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
I just love the fabric! It really does suit you and is the perfect choice for this pattern. Lovely!
11/28/03 8:02 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Very pretty!
11/29/03 1:39 PM
marykuris said...
Ooooh! I like that top! I'm a sucker for wrap tops and I have a full bustline, too. This one looks like a must-sew for me! Thanks, also, for the description of your alteration method. I will have to look for that Nancy Z. book!
11/29/03 1:59 PM
jlg said...
Great job again, Ann. I always love to see what you've made.
11/29/03 3:28 PM
Linda E. said...
Good looking top Ann it looks great on you.
11/30/03 4:35 PM
JDpenelope said...
It looks terrific on you and challenging for even an advanced sewer. Maybe later for me! (Much later.)
12/2/03 9:08 PM
jlg said...
Very sexy, Ann. Goes beautifully with the skirt.
1/7/04 1:42 PM
Penny Carlson said...
I'm getting this one tomorrow at the 75% off sale! Love it, and love the way it looks on you!
1/9/04 2:18 PM
moushka said...
Anne, this is a spectacular combination on you! The top is lovely and compliments the skirt fabric perfectly. I love the Lotus skirt too. One of the benefits of the SW patterns is that they do have great staying power. Thanks for the review.
2/9/05 5:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8317
photo
Review by otterine on 2/28/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-109 Striped blouse
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 6/25/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us