Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: B5155 (Classic Shift Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 512 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:gaginny
photo
About gaginnystar
GA USA
Member since: 2/23/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/17/09 8:20 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BJ1400 said...
Very flattering!
4/17/09 8:33 AM
Mary W said...
Great dress.
4/17/09 8:44 AM
Christas said...
Beautiful dress! You look so pretty wearing it!
4/17/09 9:00 AM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful. The lace detailed yoke really makes the dress.
4/17/09 9:27 AM
Diane E said...
Wonderful dress -- beautiful choice of fabric and lace!
4/17/09 11:44 AM
jonnie664 said...
Beautiful! Very chic and outstanding workmanship. I love the sparkly lace!!
4/17/09 12:11 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful dress - such nice colors on you, too! I have been looking at this pattern line and may give it a try now that yours looks so great!
4/17/09 12:14 PM
pfaffkj said...
Lovely dress -- great combo of fabric and lace. And it looks super on you!
4/17/09 12:33 PM
EleanorSews said...
Beautiful interpretation of a classic pattern. Such an elegant look! You have found a perfect dress pattern ~ it does fit you enviably well.
4/17/09 12:38 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely dress!
4/17/09 1:10 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your fabric choices are perfect for the style! Beautiful dress!
4/17/09 3:53 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress and beautiful you - now that I have seen this made up I may buy it but before - well the drawing on the envelope is not encouraging to say the least!! Thanks for the review
4/17/09 5:25 PM
sideseams said...
Wow! Another beautiful dress!
4/17/09 9:20 PM
Ody said...
You have been sewing your fingers to the bone girl. Wow! Another wonderful dress! OK, I will split the difference---you keep this one even though I love it, and I will take the flower print one. I don't want to be too piggy after all your hard work!
4/17/09 9:35 PM
Denise L Perry said...
Thanks for the review! I was wondering if this would be sack-like, but it looks wonderful! I love that the zipper is unnecessary. Thanks again!
4/18/09 6:33 AM
gaginny said...
Thanks to you all for you kind remarks. Do give Connie's patterns a try...i think that you will love them as I do. btw..... I didn't do all this in a weekend.....more like over the past year....just never quite got around to getting them photographed and doing the reviews. When I get caught up I will try to stay more current.
4/18/09 8:37 AM
Kellie R. said...
Your dress is very pretty and feminine. Great job - you look fabulous!
4/19/09 10:26 AM
marycds said...
You have the most wonderful taste in fabrics and combinations. I've looked at this and some of Coni's other patterns but worry because there is no bust dart. Do you find that a problem for fit?
4/19/09 10:47 PM
gaginny said...
Thanks for you kind comments....For me the lack of a bust dart is not a problem. I am only a B cup, carrying my weight below the waist, but she designs for the larger woman so I am sure that she takes all shapes into consideration. She actually drapes on real large size women rather than just grading up from a smaller size. I get the best fit of my life with her patterns. Give her a try....I think you will be pleasantly surprise.
4/20/09 7:01 AM
MagpieJen said...
This is so classic - just beautiful on you!
4/20/09 2:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8323
photo
Review by jmosew on 3/1/14
Read Review

Butterick 3345 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Butterick 3345 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7033 Pattern
Burda 7033 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Marfy 1050
photo
Review by Debra H on 1/6/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Details
Price: $45.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us