Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2794 (Sweetheart Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1228 times 87 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:4/20/09 5:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
WOW! This is one of my very favorite patterns. I love the changes you made ..... super cute!
4/20/09 5:36 PM
sewbehind said...
That looks a little Elizabethan with your adaptations. Looks really nice.
4/20/09 5:43 PM
michellep74 said...
Ooh, very cool! I love the ruching. Great detail!
4/20/09 5:58 PM
Aixoise said...
What a great idea - and execution. Please post an update with your second - perfected - version (though this one looks very good to me!).
4/20/09 6:23 PM
ndesimon said...
LOVE it!
4/20/09 6:28 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is great! jw
4/20/09 6:31 PM
VtMartha said...
Your top is fantastic, Patti. I love this pattern so I'll have to try your morph.
4/20/09 6:54 PM
Renren said...
The ruching is a perfect touch! Love what you have done here and I'll be watching for the next!
4/20/09 6:58 PM
Leora said...
This looks like it worked out perfectly! Lovely top on you.
4/20/09 7:08 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Oh wow! This looks great Patti. Love it! A wonderful idea so thanks for sharing.
4/20/09 7:27 PM
shesflipped said...
What a great idea! I love the look of this top!
4/20/09 7:31 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Perfect! What a great idea.
4/20/09 7:37 PM
sewing for fun said...
WOW! Great idea and it looks wonderful. I will have to try it on my 4th or 5th sweetheart top. I love this pattern.
4/20/09 7:44 PM
Ody said...
Patti, Such a cute top!
4/20/09 8:37 PM
Em's Summer said...
OMG! I love the ruching on this top and you look very pretty in this! I hope you make one that's not a muslin because it's truly a great top! Thank you for all of the tips!
4/20/09 9:08 PM
Barbara V said...
This looks wonderful on you. The ruching detail adds great interest.
4/20/09 9:13 PM
Luckylibbet said...
And she hits a HOMER OUT OF THE BALLPARK! Wow, that is such a fabulous detail - makes the top look like a million bucks and you call it cheesy poly. Totally wonderful job, and you look just terrific.
4/21/09 0:36 AM
becca a said...
What a great idea to add the ruching. It is very current and flattering.
4/21/09 8:04 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a lovely top! I'm a sucker for ruching (pleats, tucks, draping, etc.) - Your twist makes it great!
4/21/09 8:43 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Ooh... pretty! pretty! Thanks for this creative idea -- I bet we're gonna see a bunch of reviews using this technique soon...
4/21/09 9:04 AM
Larkin said...
I love the innovation! Thank-you for such a great review.
4/21/09 10:17 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wonderful style change! The ruching adds interest and texture.
4/21/09 10:49 AM
MarshaG. said...
LOVE IT!! I've only tried this once in an inexpensive and very stretchy knit, and haven't yet perfected the fit. Once I do, however, I will have to add your design detail. It is awesome! Marsha *<*
4/21/09 11:44 AM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this top! If I can manage it, I'm going to STEAL your idea. Your execution of that ruching is just PERFECT. (Mine will probably be lopsided or something -- ha!) You'd never know this was cheap fabric, it looks so nice on you. VERY nice! I like it better than the original pattern design. :o)
4/21/09 1:22 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
How elegant, Patti! The ruching adds visual interest beyond belief. You've moved this nicely shaped top from casual to Very Special Indeed. What a creative eye you have! Lovely, Lily
4/21/09 2:21 PM
BillieJean said...
So pretty and so "in". Love it!
4/21/09 3:19 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Ooooo!! How PRETTY?!! I just LOVE the added ruching!! I NEED to try this pattern!! You given me all the reasons I need to try this pattern!!
4/21/09 7:35 PM
Kay Y said...
I missed this review - VERY nice modification to the top - so nice I could even see myself shamelessly copying you and making this again.
8/14/10 11:55 AM
JillyBe said...
Fantastic! I wanted to make this top, so came here to look for reviews - now I'm going to make it w/ your ruching - love it!
8/18/10 11:04 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent idea to add the ruching.
9/23/11 10:34 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love the fact that you brought in the neckline for better bra coverage. I have a couple similar patterns and will use your ideas when I sew them up. thanks......!
9/29/11 5:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 4077
photo
Review by tehsquishy on 3/15/09
Read Review

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Towne Purse
Towne Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2831
photo
Review by sunnysewin... on 5/7/12
Read Review

McCalls 4364 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML )
McCalls 4364 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML )

Details
Price: $11.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8894 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8894 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us