SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2794 (Sweetheart Top)

90 more reviews
Viewed 1230 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 170
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:4/20/09 5:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RadarRadiance said...
Love the fact that you brought in the neckline for better bra coverage. I have a couple similar patterns and will use your ideas when I sew them up. thanks......!
9/29/11 5:52 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent idea to add the ruching.
9/23/11 10:34 AM
JillyBe said...
Fantastic! I wanted to make this top, so came here to look for reviews - now I'm going to make it w/ your ruching - love it!
8/18/10 11:04 PM
Kay Y said...
I missed this review - VERY nice modification to the top - so nice I could even see myself shamelessly copying you and making this again.
8/14/10 11:55 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
Ooooo!! How PRETTY?!! I just LOVE the added ruching!! I NEED to try this pattern!! You given me all the reasons I need to try this pattern!!
4/21/09 7:35 PM
BillieJean said...
So pretty and so "in". Love it!
4/21/09 3:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
How elegant, Patti! The ruching adds visual interest beyond belief. You've moved this nicely shaped top from casual to Very Special Indeed. What a creative eye you have! Lovely, Lily
4/21/09 2:21 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this top! If I can manage it, I'm going to STEAL your idea. Your execution of that ruching is just PERFECT. (Mine will probably be lopsided or something -- ha!) You'd never know this was cheap fabric, it looks so nice on you. VERY nice! I like it better than the original pattern design. :o)
4/21/09 1:22 PM
MarshaG. said...
LOVE IT!! I've only tried this once in an inexpensive and very stretchy knit, and haven't yet perfected the fit. Once I do, however, I will have to add your design detail. It is awesome! Marsha *<*
4/21/09 11:44 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wonderful style change! The ruching adds interest and texture.
4/21/09 10:49 AM
Larkin said...
I love the innovation! Thank-you for such a great review.
4/21/09 10:17 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Ooh... pretty! pretty! Thanks for this creative idea -- I bet we're gonna see a bunch of reviews using this technique soon...
4/21/09 9:04 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a lovely top! I'm a sucker for ruching (pleats, tucks, draping, etc.) - Your twist makes it great!
4/21/09 8:43 AM
becca a said...
What a great idea to add the ruching. It is very current and flattering.
4/21/09 8:04 AM
Luckylibbet said...
And she hits a HOMER OUT OF THE BALLPARK! Wow, that is such a fabulous detail - makes the top look like a million bucks and you call it cheesy poly. Totally wonderful job, and you look just terrific.
4/21/09 0:36 AM
Barbara V said...
This looks wonderful on you. The ruching detail adds great interest.
4/20/09 9:13 PM
Em's Summer said...
OMG! I love the ruching on this top and you look very pretty in this! I hope you make one that's not a muslin because it's truly a great top! Thank you for all of the tips!
4/20/09 9:08 PM
Ody said...
Patti, Such a cute top!
4/20/09 8:37 PM
sewing for fun said...
WOW! Great idea and it looks wonderful. I will have to try it on my 4th or 5th sweetheart top. I love this pattern.
4/20/09 7:44 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Perfect! What a great idea.
4/20/09 7:37 PM
shesflipped said...
What a great idea! I love the look of this top!
4/20/09 7:31 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Oh wow! This looks great Patti. Love it! A wonderful idea so thanks for sharing.
4/20/09 7:27 PM
Leora said...
This looks like it worked out perfectly! Lovely top on you.
4/20/09 7:08 PM
Renren said...
The ruching is a perfect touch! Love what you have done here and I'll be watching for the next!
4/20/09 6:58 PM
VtMartha said...
Your top is fantastic, Patti. I love this pattern so I'll have to try your morph.
4/20/09 6:54 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is great! jw
4/20/09 6:31 PM
ndesimon said...
LOVE it!
4/20/09 6:28 PM
Aixoise said...
What a great idea - and execution. Please post an update with your second - perfected - version (though this one looks very good to me!).
4/20/09 6:23 PM
michellep74 said...
Ooh, very cool! I love the ruching. Great detail!
4/20/09 5:58 PM
sewbehind said...
That looks a little Elizabethan with your adaptations. Looks really nice.
4/20/09 5:43 PM
Christas said...
WOW! This is one of my very favorite patterns. I love the changes you made ..... super cute!
4/20/09 5:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Megan Nielsen MN1005

photo
by: truebias

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Buy Now