Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-118 (Jersey Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 753 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/09 11:13 PM
Last Updated:4/24/09 11:15 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
candyo said...
Wow, you really put a lot of work into this top and the review!
4/24/09 11:19 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
AWESOME top!! I just LOVE the fabric you chose!!
4/24/09 11:41 PM
Elke said...
Very pretty ...I especially like the sleeves. Thanks for the detailed review and tutorial. I plan to give this a try.
4/24/09 11:44 PM
Kellie R. said...
Kay, you make the loveliest things! This is an exquisite top. Great job!
4/24/09 11:45 PM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, this top is great. I love the fit, the color, everything!!
4/24/09 11:48 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow Kay. This looks fantastic on you! A perfect combination of fabric, colour, fit and style.
4/25/09 0:13 AM
Ann Smith said...
Terrific top on you. Love the fabric and great explanation of the tricky construction.
4/25/09 0:49 AM
Annette1 said...
Wow, what a GREAT and thorough review. You are just SO cute in this top. If you wear it to court, you may have to tell them, "LOOK, I may be CUTE, but I'm by-God RUTHLESS, too, and don't you forget it!" I too really like that neckline and the dropped PUFFED SLEEVES (as Anne of Green Gables would say).
4/25/09 0:50 AM
CynthiaSue said...
excellent, excellent review Kate. I will use your's when I make the shirt version-i already made the dress version. You fit looks great!!
4/25/09 0:59 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Fantasti Review!
4/25/09 1:38 AM
sewing for fun said...
Top looks great on you - excellent fabric choice, very flattering. And thanks for the technique suggestions- I might brave this top yet :)
4/25/09 2:18 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice, indeed. This top is almost enough to make subscribe to BWOF.
4/25/09 6:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Most helpful. I like this pattern more and more after each sewist review.
4/25/09 8:02 AM
digs57 said...
Very flattering!
4/25/09 9:18 AM
kerrynw said...
Lovely top, fantastic review!
4/25/09 9:19 AM
angie.a said...
Very pretty top! I didn't have trouble with the directions for the sleeve, but I know I was in the minority.
4/25/09 9:36 AM
Re Becca said...
You really make this look cute, perfect match of fabric and pattern. I really like your instructions too.
4/25/09 9:48 AM
cindyann said...
I love your top! You always pair pattern and fabric so well. A skill I wish I had.
4/25/09 9:54 AM
Christas said...
Wonderful review! Where were you when I was scratching my head and wanting to downgrade my rating?! I remember being so happy this was a TWO dot Burda. Then, when I started the adventure of making it I began to think the instructions were possibly written in a different language. Your version is wonderful. I really love your fabric choice. This is such a wonderfully styled top. You should definitely make it again!
4/25/09 10:02 AM
Heatherrique said...
You look groovy-licious, Kay! Thanks for your very helpful review! Burda WOF can use your assistance in writing better directions...
4/25/09 11:19 AM
Liana said...
Kay, I love this. You're right, it's very elegant, and it looks just wonderful on you. Great job on explaining what WOF meant when they "mis-wrote". :)
4/25/09 1:30 PM
tanroc75 said...
Very nice top, I love the sleeves!
4/25/09 3:03 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful job on this top. I think it is a cute style but all the comments about it's construction has scared me to death. I may have to try it and follow your instructions. Yours turned out great!!!
4/25/09 7:12 PM
Mahler said...
It is incredible how a simple top can be so complex to sew. The final result is excellent. I love those pictures of you. You look happy and relaxed. The fabric you chose is great, great, great. It is such a feminine top. Is it for work or casual... well it could fit for both I think.
4/26/09 9:46 AM
2BSewing said...
Wow! This knit top looks fantastic on you! Perfect fit. Your fabric is sooo beautiful. You did an excellent job with this pattern. :)
4/26/09 9:57 AM
jkaori said...
Very beautiful top --- the fit is perfect. Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review --- very helpful!
4/26/09 10:48 AM
persevering said...
Kay, Thanks for your informative review. You are looking so pretty tooĦ
4/26/09 12:26 PM
Claire in Montreal said...
Great top - I love the fabric ! I'll keep yours and cabinbaby's detailed instructions handy as I'd like to make one too and the instructions in the BWOF mag are greek to me !
4/26/09 6:51 PM
missytexas said...
Gee, you are SO talented! I was just drooling over your reviews and am so inspired and motived to improve my sewing skills. And I have decided that you must henceforth share your wisdom with us in a blog for me to subscribe to... ;o) -just kidding! (no, ...really)
4/28/09 8:43 PM
Sigrid. said...
Kay, you did it again. This is on my to sew list for this month! So very timely that you already made it and provide such great information on how to sew it. Thanks for the very helpful review. And this top in this fabric looks fabulous on you! Awesome indeed.
5/4/09 3:13 PM
enniejo said...
I read several reviews and the light bulb did not come on until I got to this one. Now I can breathe a sigh of relief and finish the dress. i will make it again.
5/6/09 5:35 PM
Sigrid. said...
A big thanks to you, Kay, for providing the detailed instructions on how to make this top. I've completed it this week, and without your instructions it would have been a wadder.
6/3/09 5:23 PM
angie.a said...
Cute! I love the print. I just saw your review (late to the party, haha!) while looking for another one. I constructed my sleeves exactly as you did. I don't think the "donut" sewing was their intended construction method, but I can see how someone might construe that from BWOFs very bad instructions for this!
7/16/09 11:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Kwik Sew 2191
photo
Review by Chris Brya... on 5/14/11
Read Review

Pattern Runway Gathered Sundress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Gathered Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Young Image Magazine Y1258 Coat Coat
photo
Review by velosewer on 5/23/13
Read Review

Newport Tote
Newport Tote

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6903 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6903 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1620 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1620 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us