Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2008-114 (Trench Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 405 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo
About rivergumstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/09 4:52 AM
Last Updated:4/27/09 0:53 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great trench and what a bargain for the fabric! Thanks for the terrific review..
4/26/09 5:24 AM
Schnauzer said...
What a fabulous trench, it looks really good on you!
4/26/09 5:37 AM
Kayseri said...
This coat looks great. I've been looking for a trench pattern with a floating yoke. It's just bad luck this is the only 2008 issue of Burda WoF that I don't have :-( Ah well I'll have to sift through the public library collection and see if I can find one with the pattern sheets intact.
4/26/09 7:16 AM
Phasionz by M said...
Great job!
4/26/09 7:37 AM
Catbird said...
It's fantastic! Great job with that tricky but wonderful fabric. And $2.50?????!! Is there some currency conversion I'm missing here? That's amazing. I made one of their (BWOF) trench jackets recently and love it, so I would recommend them also. Great review and job!
4/26/09 8:16 AM
flygirlTRE said...
Ok, I need to know where you can finde lightweight fabric that would work for this. I saw a parka/trench on one of the fall issues 2008 of BWOF and I want to make it, but I don't want super stiff, heavy fabric. Thanks for any help anyone could give! Your trench looks great!
4/26/09 8:20 AM
Nancy K said...
Great jacket! Love the fabric.
4/26/09 9:18 AM
Renren said...
Oh, so nice, and a solid two days? Makes me want to cry. I spend two solid days on a simple knit top! This is a magnificent trench and I love the styling with the pants and heeled boot/shoes.
4/26/09 9:18 AM
Christas said...
Very nice review! Your jacket is so lovely!
4/26/09 9:48 AM
Lori V said...
Fabulous trench
4/26/09 9:56 AM
Gold said...
What a great looking trench jacket!
4/26/09 11:47 AM
Elona said...
What a handsome, stylish jacket!
4/26/09 12:17 PM
Karendee said...
Your trench is quite smart looking and the workmanship is excellent.
4/26/09 1:59 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Those priced in the stratosphere Aquascutum trench coats have nothing over yours.... Wonderful results..
4/26/09 5:41 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hi again, ended up with a double post... so double congrats to you!
4/26/09 5:42 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Those priced in the stratosphere Aquascutum trench coats have nothing over yours.... Wonderful results..
4/26/09 5:43 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous trench and great job! I know exactly what you mean about psyching yourself up for a project like this, only to be confronted by welt pockets first up. Linea lining has also become my new favourite lining. I hope Spotlight can continue to stock it although I do have a pretty big stash of my own. :) Very enjoyable review, thanks.
4/26/09 7:26 PM
Mary Nanna said...
Great coat - I take my hat off to you for making a trench out of BWOF - that takes real commitment!
4/26/09 9:18 PM
Nancywin said...
I'm impressed that you made this in two days. It would have taken me much longer! LOve the fabric, and what a great deal you got on it! Very stylish.
4/26/09 11:42 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a fantastic trench! Congrats on tackling a daunting project; the results are great!
4/27/09 10:14 AM
Grammy Gin said...
You look great in your new trench! Time well spent (as you put it) for sure. Lovely fabric....great review!!
4/27/09 12:34 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Get out!! i havet his all cut out and you are making me want to go back to it!! unbelievable!! Get out!! perfect fabric/pattern combo. looks fabulous!!
4/27/09 1:29 PM
kerrynw said...
Fantastic job! Your jacket looks amazing. A great review and I can't believe it only took two days to make. I can relate to the "psyching up before tackling this". Congratulations on taking that next step, a great result!
4/27/09 1:33 PM
Obrooks770 said...
WOW! Nice trench coat, it looks great on you.
4/27/09 10:29 PM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous trench coat, beautifully made, and so flattering.
5/3/09 8:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Marfy 1441 Sporty Jacket
photo
Review by julesberry on 11/20/07
Read Review

Christine Jonson Patterns A-Line Dress Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns A-Line Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns HP108 Geisha Girl
photo
Review by myrayerets... on 11/11/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6049 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6049 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us