Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: SDP020 (X-Kilt) - Type:Mens    printable version
Viewed 551 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:shanntarra
photo
About shanntarrastarstar
TX USA
Member since: 3/19/09
Reviews written: 84
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:4/29/09 12:09 PM
Last Updated:7/17/09 5:14 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
j222b said...
Have your review show in the Gallery for more readers. I love your review. I don't understand the FREE part, I thought it was 30-40 $--eagerly waiting for more of your review. Thanks
4/29/09 6:03 PM
snapdragonfly said...
Would love to see ...
4/30/09 7:13 AM
shanntarra said...
I posted a link above to where you can download it. I know some places charge you for patterns but this is just a 45 page document that walks you "man simple" through how to make a basic kilt. It is equal to a untila-kilt. http://cmgm.stanford.edu/~ahebert/Xkilt/Xkilt2ndedRevK.pdf
4/30/09 11:02 PM
ClaireEmily said...
That pattern is the funniest I've ever read! What a great idea. Good luck, I hope it turns out fabulously. I will be waiting for the pic!!
4/30/09 11:25 PM
MadMenFanlinda said...
Shantarra, I am having trouble with your link. Any way you can help? Thank you! Oops, never mind> Everything I need it under "more info". We have a Scottish Festival in our town, and these would be perfect for my three guys to wear when they run the 10 K race.
5/1/09 7:38 AM
shanntarra said...
That is the big draw about this. Men are able to take this, and walk through making one having never sat at a sewing machine before. Sally, if you make thim for your guys. Do a review of your own. The guy who does this is not charging copy right or anything on it. All he asks if you do start making ALOT of money with his directions making him one and then you are even. With as much fun as I am having ( dispite the set backs) I may have to make a X-skirt for me. :)
5/1/09 9:42 AM
Tiner W said...
How cool! That is the most entertaining pattern I've seen!
5/1/09 10:48 AM
Ariadne said...
I had to go read the whole pattern. Now I'm trying to find a guy to persuade to make one of these. Or, really, let me. I want to go drinking with these guys. Swagger + swish= swoon??? Who could not love that. Thank you, also, for your complete story, which is so funny to read, with great details. One of the Threads sportswear books has a traditional kilt pattern article in it.
5/1/09 2:44 PM
Renren said...
Now this looks like a stash reducer! Wonder if my dh would wear one coming out of the shower rather than the towel that doesn't quite reach . . .
5/3/09 10:15 AM
MagpieJen said...
Awesome! I have many a pal that would love a utili-kit and now we've got a free pattern, wonderfully reviewed by you!
5/3/09 12:29 PM
Luckylibbet said...
GREAT review! Not gonna be making one anytime soon, but just loved how you wrote it up.
5/3/09 2:00 PM
Joey in Katy said...
Sigh -- yet something else that's going on my "todo" list!
5/3/09 5:21 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
This is great! I L.O.V.E. a man in a kilt but my DH would fall over dead if I asked him to wear one. Great review and I enjoyed reading those instructions!
5/3/09 5:50 PM
Christas said...
Wow! What a thorough and totally interesting review! My brother had a full Scottish wedding complete with "Amazing Grace" played on the bagpipes. It was absolutely one of the prettiest weddings I have every been to. I may be biased since it was my brother's wedding! Anyway, he and all the male attendants wore beautiful wool plaid kilts. Maybe now my brother needs a work kilt. LOL!
5/3/09 9:28 PM
cgHipp said...
Fantastic review! I'd love to make these for DH and my brothers! I love Renren's idea - how fun to make a velcro wraparound kilt "towel" out of terrycloth!
5/6/09 3:41 PM
swede said...
What a great review. The "bay window" description almost had me on the floor laughing!
5/12/09 6:29 PM
snapdragonfly said...
loved seeing the pix and the process, thanks for the update.
5/13/09 9:07 AM
droxy said...
Great details in a review! Pattern instructions stink. I agree.
5/13/09 9:04 PM
Alan H said...
PLease note that there's now a second edition to the instructions, which you can download here: http://cmgm.stanford.edu/~ahebert/Xkilt/Xkilt2ndedRevK.pdf I cleaned up the most troublesome part, and several other people contributed revisions, additional sections and lots of pictures. MUCH better! Alan
11/20/12 0:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Kwik Sew 3567 Tops
photo
Review by velosewer on 5/30/13
Read Review

McCalls 6659 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6659 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3744 Threads dress
photo
Review by MyMothersD... on 5/16/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us