SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2007-126 (Catwork jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 407 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/3/09 0:18 AM
Last Updated:5/3/09 0:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
This is a very cool jacket. It looks great with the dark pants. I think you could wear it to go out either dressed up with a sleek black dress or dressed down with a pair of black pants.
5/3/09 0:51 AM
marec said...
I love your aztec jacket, and think it will look great with dark jeans and boots.
5/3/09 1:39 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh! I have to admit I skipped right over that one, thinking I had no need for a jacket that doesn't close. Thank you for pointing it out, I feel obsession coming on too. I'm pretty sure you could find the required magnets at the hardware store rather than anything sewing-related. As to wearing it, it looks totally perfect for all occasions. I think you have the correct idea: no matter what, it's going to be the star. So wear it with something plain and you'll be the star too. I think also that I'd imagine it in not totally plain grey microfiber - some slight directional pattern (just a texture?) would enhance the wonderful construction, in an appropriately understated minimalist way.
5/3/09 3:41 AM
petro said...
I love your jacket, with jeans, denim or black, casually over a lbd or long black skirt.
5/3/09 5:06 AM
Wagtail said...
This jacket certainly looks more complicated than you say. Its very fancy and I like it on you, with the black pants. I always think that anything goes with jeans. Very nice
5/3/09 5:21 AM
Michele19 said...
I really like it! Is it warm? Can you move comfortably in it? You may have just opened up a whole new section of the fabric store for apparel makers! I also think this style is perfect for an intricate pattern like this. I think you can wear this for day or evening, and I agree with others, let the jacket do the talking and keep the rest of the ensemble simple in line and color.
5/3/09 6:35 AM
Squeezylemon said...
I've looked at this pattern many times but couldn't think what fabric to make it out of - and now you've inspired me! What a fabulous jacket, and might I suggest the magnetic closures you used for a handbag - you could always sew a "statement" button on the outside front where the prongs would show? Just a thought......
5/3/09 6:49 AM
VtMartha said...
Every time I see this pattern reviewed, I get one step closer to making it and yours is no exception. It's wonderful! I would wear it with jeans, but then that's what I wear everything with.
5/3/09 7:23 AM
jkaori said...
Very cool jacket --- great item to dress up jeans. I remember seeing this design, and after your review, I think I have to make it. Thank you for your review!
5/3/09 10:51 AM
Michelle L said...
What a fantastic jacket. The ornate fabric works great with the simple styling of the jacket. It is a great way to show off a fantastic fabric. Great job! I'm sure you'll find plenty of places to wear your wonderful new coat.
5/3/09 11:08 AM
Izzie said...
I love this jacket. I think you should wear it whenever, and however you want. It would look great with jeans or dressed up. Thanks for the great review and for reminding me about this pattern.
5/3/09 1:22 PM
birdmcfarland said...
"It actually didn't turn out too bad," Are you serious?! I think it's gorgeous!!
5/3/09 1:48 PM
JoanneM said...
It is gorgeous.Well done!
5/3/09 2:57 PM
rivergum said...
Michele 19, I have made quite a few jackets out of home dec fabric, and yes, it opens a whole new vista for the apparel sewist (I have made a silk cocktail dress as well). I have a great home dec store in my area and I raid the remnant bins from time to time. Usually what i get is cotton, cotton mixtures, silk, suede and linen, but this latest jacket is probably all poly with maybe a small amount of cotton. All my home dec garments are just as comfortable to wear as anything made with fabric sold for apparel, although not as comfortable as something with a lycra content. As for warmth, it's not bad. Maybe a spring/autumn weight, or winter for special occasion.
5/3/09 3:55 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very interesting! I agree with everyone else, it can go either way - with jeans for casual or a long black velvet skirt for evening.
5/3/09 4:12 PM
nellc said...
This is a great looking jacket, your oppulent fabric works really well with the minimalist design.
5/3/09 5:58 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your jacket is lovely! I'd wear it anywhere with anything because it's so gorgeous.
5/3/09 6:15 PM
Schnauzer said...
I love it! Very,very nice!
5/3/09 8:39 PM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous! You found the perfect fabric for this.
5/3/09 8:43 PM
sewinglinda said...
this looks fabulous, I was so impressed I went to get out the magazine to look at the pattern, it looks so simple on paper and so "designer" on you. well done.
5/3/09 9:44 PM
Margie T said...
Wow! What a great looking jacket. Congratulations!
5/4/09 1:22 AM
kerrynw said...
Wow! I agree you can find some lovely home decor fabrics that look fantastic when made into garments. Your jacket certainly does!
5/4/09 2:57 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Wow! Really nice jacket. Really nice use of the fabric, great job.
5/4/09 10:45 AM
Kellie R. said...
I LOVE this jacket!!!!! I could think of a gazillion places to wear it: lunch w/ girlfriends, dinner w/ DH or friends, shopping, work on chilly days. It's so stunning. Great job!
5/5/09 8:48 AM
Leslie in NZ said...
I think your jacket is glorious. How ever you wear it, wear it with pride!!
5/5/09 9:15 PM
nadialou said...
It's beautiful, looks like the Renaissance Faire to me. Very striking.
5/14/09 9:17 PM
Liana said...
Beautiful! I will have to look up this pattern.
5/14/09 10:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 97642-1000

photo
by: lynne1nor

Review
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now