SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2852 (Misses Knit Tunics or Tops)

17 more reviews
Viewed 452 times 
Reviewed by:homejewel
photo

 
 
About homejewelstar
OR USA
Member since: 8/14/08
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/09 12:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
I like the gathering. It is very cute. Maybe a FBA would help with the wrinkles at the underarm? But I am just guessing.
5/4/09 2:42 PM
EleanorSews said...
Another case of seeing the top made up and worn by a real person makes the difference. Your top is really pretty and much nicer than the pattern envelope. This is something to think about for next fall.
5/4/09 4:30 PM
Christas said...
Really cute!
5/4/09 5:51 PM
DreinPA said...
Okay so I'm not too fast on the uptake. I sent graysquirrel a PM and then read your review.... I would suggest cutting the armhole lower. Whatever size it is that drops the hole lower in the pit, use that and adjust the sleeve accordingly. I have square shoulders and do that, and raise the shoulder one size by drawing a line from the neck to shoulder. So for instance I cut a 10 neck, connect the 10 neck to the 12 shoulder, and then cut the armpit of the 10. You should only need to cut the 12 of the sleeve between the notches at the cap. Make sense? I think if it was FBA it would pull across the boobs more. Anyone else? I think you chose a good sleeve length and hitting at or just above the hip was the right choice for the amount of fullness in the top. Welcome to PR!!
5/4/09 8:18 PM
Barbara V said...
Pretty top. How fun that you and your daughter both made the same top. I like that this pattern has several options.
5/4/09 9:38 PM
craftygamma said...
It looks to me like the knit you used did not have the proper amount of stretch. That would explain the underarm pull and the hip tightness. I do like the top and plan to probably use this pattern for my DD.
5/6/09 7:56 AM
pjhoff said...
Maybe I don't see the arm pull issue the same way as some other reviewers. i actually find that I need to shorten the arscye and sleeve cap, and sometimes add a little width to the sleeve to correct the issue. Of course, I've not made an entirely successful correction yet, but that seems to be headed in the right direction for me. I really like your fabric selection, and the shirt looks really good on you. Thinking of trying this pattern if I can get it on sale.
1/20/11 7:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2010-105

photo
by: yoshimi

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 119566-1001

photo
by: GayMcDonel...

Review