Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2852 (Misses Knit Tunics or Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 450 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:homejewel
photo
About homejewelstar
OR USA
Member since: 8/14/08
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/09 12:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
I like the gathering. It is very cute. Maybe a FBA would help with the wrinkles at the underarm? But I am just guessing.
5/4/09 2:42 PM
EleanorSews said...
Another case of seeing the top made up and worn by a real person makes the difference. Your top is really pretty and much nicer than the pattern envelope. This is something to think about for next fall.
5/4/09 4:30 PM
Christas said...
Really cute!
5/4/09 5:51 PM
DreinPA said...
Okay so I'm not too fast on the uptake. I sent graysquirrel a PM and then read your review.... I would suggest cutting the armhole lower. Whatever size it is that drops the hole lower in the pit, use that and adjust the sleeve accordingly. I have square shoulders and do that, and raise the shoulder one size by drawing a line from the neck to shoulder. So for instance I cut a 10 neck, connect the 10 neck to the 12 shoulder, and then cut the armpit of the 10. You should only need to cut the 12 of the sleeve between the notches at the cap. Make sense? I think if it was FBA it would pull across the boobs more. Anyone else? I think you chose a good sleeve length and hitting at or just above the hip was the right choice for the amount of fullness in the top. Welcome to PR!!
5/4/09 8:18 PM
Barbara V said...
Pretty top. How fun that you and your daughter both made the same top. I like that this pattern has several options.
5/4/09 9:38 PM
craftygamma said...
It looks to me like the knit you used did not have the proper amount of stretch. That would explain the underarm pull and the hip tightness. I do like the top and plan to probably use this pattern for my DD.
5/6/09 7:56 AM
pjhoff said...
Maybe I don't see the arm pull issue the same way as some other reviewers. i actually find that I need to shorten the arscye and sleeve cap, and sometimes add a little width to the sleeve to correct the issue. Of course, I've not made an entirely successful correction yet, but that seems to be headed in the right direction for me. I really like your fabric selection, and the shirt looks really good on you. Thinking of trying this pattern if I can get it on sale.
1/20/11 7:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-130
photo
Review by MissCelie on 12/28/12
Read Review

Butterick 5768 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5768 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4440 Dress
photo
Review by TanyaMT on 7/8/04
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us