SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7842 (Men's Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 321 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki S.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikki S.star
GA USA
Member since: 10/20/07
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/09 7:27 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nikki S. said... (5/6/09 6:44 PM) Reply
MagPie Jen - you do! Although my co-Costume Mistress made that dress, not me, so she's going to review it.
Tiner W said... (5/6/09 5:11 PM) Reply
It looks great!
MagpieJen said... (5/6/09 3:44 PM) Reply
Wonderfully done (like all these costumes you've reviewed)! The cast looks great! Thank you for another really helpful review. Do I spy a Sense and Sensibility 1910s tea gown pattern in the photo with the gentlemen?
crisford said... (5/6/09 12:01 PM) Reply
Thanks! The coat looks great! I'll be using these costume-making tips. Very clever ideas!
minggiddylooloo said... (5/6/09 11:01 AM) Reply
It looks great on the gentleman wearing it!
Kellie R. said... (5/6/09 9:58 AM) Reply
I'm impressed that you jumped in and made an advanced tailored jacket on a time crunch. Great job!
Nikki S. said... (5/6/09 8:57 AM) Reply
Mary - they are in reality two very different coats. If you are looking for *literally* a civil war coat, I would look for a different one than McCall, although I admit I do not know if such a thing exists. The McCall coat was MUCH harder in comparison to this one, which is supposed to be street clothes rather than a costume!
kerrynw said... (5/6/09 5:27 AM) Reply
Fantastic, great result!
Mary Reed said... (5/5/09 10:11 PM) Reply
So, you would recommend this over the McCall's pattern for Civil War era men's coat? We do reenactments and my husband wants a frock coat. I bought the McCall's, but after your review, I 'm not certain I will use it. Thanks for the two reviews. They come just in time to help me make a decision!
Restart06 said... (5/5/09 9:15 PM) Reply
A nice costume coat, thanks for sharing!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Pattern Details
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Pattern Details
Colette Patterns 3004

photo
by: RainyDayPe...

Review