Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7842 (Men's Jacket) - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 312 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki S.
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikki S.star
GA USA
Member since: 10/20/07
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/09 7:27 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Restart06 said...
A nice costume coat, thanks for sharing!
5/5/09 9:15 PM
Mary Reed said...
So, you would recommend this over the McCall's pattern for Civil War era men's coat? We do reenactments and my husband wants a frock coat. I bought the McCall's, but after your review, I 'm not certain I will use it. Thanks for the two reviews. They come just in time to help me make a decision!
5/5/09 10:11 PM
kerrynw said...
Fantastic, great result!
5/6/09 5:27 AM
Nikki S. said...
Mary - they are in reality two very different coats. If you are looking for *literally* a civil war coat, I would look for a different one than McCall, although I admit I do not know if such a thing exists. The McCall coat was MUCH harder in comparison to this one, which is supposed to be street clothes rather than a costume!
5/6/09 8:57 AM
Kellie R. said...
I'm impressed that you jumped in and made an advanced tailored jacket on a time crunch. Great job!
5/6/09 9:58 AM
minggiddylooloo said...
It looks great on the gentleman wearing it!
5/6/09 11:01 AM
crisford said...
Thanks! The coat looks great! I'll be using these costume-making tips. Very clever ideas!
5/6/09 12:01 PM
MagpieJen said...
Wonderfully done (like all these costumes you've reviewed)! The cast looks great! Thank you for another really helpful review. Do I spy a Sense and Sensibility 1910s tea gown pattern in the photo with the gentlemen?
5/6/09 3:44 PM
Tiner W said...
It looks great!
5/6/09 5:11 PM
Nikki S. said...
MagPie Jen - you do! Although my co-Costume Mistress made that dress, not me, so she's going to review it.
5/6/09 6:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Sense & Sensibility Girls\' Regency Dress
photo
Review by Klinkerpop... on 10/27/09
Read Review

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3688
photo
Review by Futuralon on 1/19/14
Read Review

New Look 6295 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6295 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8936 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8936 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us