SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4745 (Civil War Costume)

13 more reviews
Viewed 295 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki S.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikki S.star
GA USA
Member since: 10/20/07
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/09 8:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewsuzanna said...
Thank you for your review! Also, your photos are super helpful. I am making the small size for my 12 year-old son. It fits him well, which makes sense since this pattern runs small. What is up with the sleeves on this pattern??! Yours turned out marvelously. Did you alter them? If so, how? What I'm dealing with now is a ridiculously puffed sleeve. Not at all the look my sixth grader is going for!! Tempted to give up on this.
3/24/14 2:39 PM
vkl said...
This pattern runs smaller than you expect - hence the 'sizing is completely off.' Thanks for this. I have spent 3 days in hell doing this coat and I really wish I had another pattern to work from!
11/27/13 7:58 PM
Manalto said...
Thanks for your honest review. I like some aspects of this coat, and was considering getting the pattern, but now I will continue looking, since I know my patience level, and consider myself warned. What does "the sizing is more or less completely off" mean?
1/18/10 5:27 AM
Tiner W said...
All of your costumes look just amazing! Thanks for the warning on this one.
5/6/09 5:09 PM
MagpieJen said...
This pattern gets around! It looks like it should be so useful for many types of costumes, so it's great to know about the challenges it poses. I used it several years ago myself, but modified it so much I couldn't really use the directions - which sounds like a good thing, in retrospect :-)
5/6/09 3:40 PM
Kellie R. said...
Thank you for the heads up about this pattern... nevertheless, the jackets still turned out great!
5/6/09 9:56 AM
kerrynw said...
Another fantastic result!
5/6/09 5:28 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Dear Rhett You simply must see these new French Recruits! The War will certainly be over in our favour soon! The gentlemen are so gallant, certainly they will prevail on the battlefield. Yours till we meet again, Scarlett....
5/5/09 10:15 PM
Restart06 said...
thanks for sharing, what nice results!
5/5/09 9:13 PM
Nikki S. said...
Thanks! We love the result; the process was just a little nuts.
5/5/09 9:04 PM
Race said...
Wow. Thanks for making me feel better. I made a version of this jacket last year. It was my first jacket and I found it pretty difficult. But now that I know how I plan to make it again. You did a great job even if it was frustrating!
5/5/09 8:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

New Look 6569

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now